We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Scenery - Great Food - Very Hospitable Staff”
Review of Piedra Piedra

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nuqui
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Piedra Piedra
Ranked #2 of 10 Nuqui B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 18, 2014

My wife, a friend and I went to Peidra Piedra for 4 nights and 4 days, and we thought the world of it.

First, it's very remote, and to get there you need to fly into Nuqui, which is not the most lovely town. From Nuqui, a Piedra Piedra employee will pick you up by boat and take you to the lodge, where fresh fish and freshly squeezed juices await you. The cook prepares all your meals, and I found the food delicious, and there was plenty of it. (be advised, however, you will eat a lot of fish. It's all fresh, and very good, but there is a lot of it). My friend is vegetarian, however, and the cook made decent vegetarian substitutes. Also, for every meal the cook prepares juices from fruit you've never seen or heard of, and the flavors are spectacular. My favorite was the boroghogh (sp?). You can order dark rum mojitos for a little extra, which are worth it.

You can take an excursion by boat to see whales in the Pacific. (we were there in August). They are stunning. We watched a mother whale teach her baby how to smack its tail into the water (which I was told they do to rid themselves of parasites). We were fairly close (less than 25 meters at times), and got great pictures.

We also took a long, guided hike through the jungle in search of frogs, and found some brilliant orange and yellow hoppers atop a ridge line. Coming back to the lodge, we walked along (and in) a shallow river with our guides and their fun dogs.

You can walk from Piedra Piedra to some of the other lodges (e.g. El Cantil), which rent kayaks and snorkel gear. (the snorkeling is not good, but fun to pass the time).

The pool carved out of the rocky outcropping at Piedra Piedra is a bit sandy as the water in it is replenished by a natural water source. I enjoyed the pool but my wife and our friend stayed out of it. If you don't like the sandy pool, however, you will still enjoy relaxing in the hammocks on the outcropping, which give you spectacular views of the pure Pacific waters. One sunny day, we were on the outcropping, gazing across the water, and saw in the distance a massive humpback whale leap entirely out of the water before crashing back in (a full breach they call it): it lasted no more than 2 seconds but the scene is permanently imprinted in my memory.

Drawback: it's hard to get there and hard to leave. Flights in Colombia are frequently delayed or cancelled. On our way out, our flight was delayed 5 hours, and we missed our connection in Quibdo, and spent the night there (the airline paid for it, but Quibdo is not a tourist destination). So if you go to this area of Colombia, give yourself two days to get back to whichever major city you plan to depart the country from.

Also, before going there, I was a bit apprehensive about safety, given that I believe this area used to be controlled by the FARC. We had no issues, however, and there is a noticeable Colombian military presence in Nuqui, which shows there used to be problems, but is nevertheless reassuring.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 31 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

If you're looking for somewhere that's off the beaten track, that's surrounded by nature and all it's flora and fauna, and somewhere to completely detach from the rat race, I can't recommend this place highly enough. If you come expecting spa facilities, you're in the wrong place. Everything is basic enough, but very comfortable and all you need. The food and hospitality were second to none, and there's plenty to keep you occupied for a matter of days if you're so inclined. Otherwise, it's not too difficult to while away the days in a hammock counting whales in the distance. Absolute bliss.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JBogJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Piedra Piedra for a week last November. We are used to quite extreme and rugged traveling, and we chose this place with a priority to see raw nature, birds especially, do some fishing and to avoid tourists. I must say we were sucessful on all counts, though I think we saw maybe 5 other tourists staying at a nearby lodge. We had the entire lodge to ourselves. Maybe because it was rainy season. It did rain, but mostly at night and in the morning. It is a very simple lodge. There are no luxuries like television and internet. The running water is cold. However, the sheets and bedcovers were pristine white and I believe the pillowcases were beautiful antique linen. The staff speaks almost no english, and my spanish is pretty awful, but somehow we made it work with no problems at all. The meals are deluxe four course extravaganzas, and for the most part the food was diverse and delicious, especially the homemade arepas and empanadas (made gluten free for me, WOW!) We went on a pretty hardcore jungle hike with a local guide and we arranged a fishing trip during which we caught three large yellow fin tuna (this was on the rainy day). The kitchen staff grilled them for us that night. The beach is pristine and great for long walks. We spent a good deal of time wandering upstream in the lagoon birding. It goes on and on forever. We went so deep that besides seeing toucans and other exciting birds, we ran into a young indiginous boy out fishing.We had a great time, and the owner helped us arrange the complicated travel to and from Bogota and a boat taxi awaited us at the Nuqui airport. I recommend highly a visit to this remote, naturally and culturally diverse spot, there are few places like it still left.

Room Tip: the Yubarta Suite was simply decorated, including a mosquito net tenting the bed, and it looks direc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank chimereine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank CarlosUnda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank inma p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: La cabaña Fragata que fue en la que nos quedamos es muy cómoda y tiene una terraza increíble.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eduardo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuqui
12.0 mi away
Hotel Nuquimar
Hotel Nuquimar
#1 of 2 in Nuqui
25 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mapara Crab
Hotel Mapara Crab
#1 of 2 in Bahia Solano
21 reviews
1.3 mi away
Posada Mar y Rio
Posada Mar y Rio
#1 of 10 in Nuqui
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Punta Brava
Punta Brava
#1 of 25 in Nuqui
79 reviews
6.8 mi away
Choiba Ecolodge
Choiba Ecolodge
#4 of 10 in Nuqui
14 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cabinas La Jovisena
Cabinas La Jovisena
#3 of 25 in Nuqui
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piedra Piedra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piedra Piedra

Address: Playa entre Morro Terco y Terquito Nuqui, Nuqui 276058, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Choco Department > Nuqui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Nuqui
Price Range: $40 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO THE COLOMBIAN PACIFIC UNIVERSE! Piedra Piedra is a total experience, a life lesson of balance between unspoliled nature and responsible eco-tourism. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Piedra Piedra Colombia/Nuqui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing