We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"FANTASTIC HOTEL, BRILLIANT STAFF"”
Review of Hotel Sonne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Sonne
Ranked #17 of 32 Fugen B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 8, 2010

Myself and my sister took my mum, the reason for this stay was to see the passion play which is held every 10 years in Oberammagau, we booked as a package which included this trip, so we were not sure exactly what the hotel would be like as we only had a choice of a few included in the package. 'Well we were so lucky' the hotel is in a beautiful location, close to the station and shops in the town of Fuegen. The scenery is mountains all around. The staff in the hotel were fantastic, the restaurant is run brilliantly and the food was lovely every night. Can compliment the staff and the hotel enough, i would definately go back there. (Aprox 2 hours from Salzburg by coach).

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wjp1765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 33 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2010

It may have been "luck of the draw" that the room given originally, was very small as well as being positioned directly above the kitchens & bin store area. In fairness to the hotel staff, they did immediately dealt with our complaint and found us another room which was much better. Meals were disappointing with very poor choice and limited if you are a vegertarian. The set times for evening meals were not flexible, 7.00pm being too early if you went out sightseeing for the day. More annoyingly, the hotel would not provide jugs of iced water when requested unless it was bottled and payed for.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jersey747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2010

Rated as 3* but really only Tourist Class hotel. Staff were friendly and efficient, but hotel was let down by quality of evening meals. For the tour group, there was no choice of menu, meals were served at one set time on long tables and food was more appropriate to a works canteen - poorly presented, indifferent quality.
Although Hotel Sonne is in centre of Fugen, the village offers few attractions or amenities.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter1234_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2010

Excellent friendly Hotel close to Village Square, with meals and rooms of the best. Adjacent "Kosis" bar very relaxing in the early evening. All Hotel & Bar staff very efficient and obliging.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TioRuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2010

We transferred here from another B/B in the town. Once we had moved we felt that our holiday had begun!! Staff were amazing - couldn't do enough to help (especially when I turned up in tears at 07.00 begging them to find us a room!) No choice on the dinner menu but food was excellent. Snacks and drinks readily available at the bar attached to the Sonne. Very good value for money. If you want a good base in the area - this is the place to be.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shootingjiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Polly14682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Rückseite ist ruhiger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stubenhocker13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fugen hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kohlerhof
Hotel Kohlerhof
#4 of 11 in Fugen
444 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Malerhaus
Hotel Malerhaus
#9 of 11 in Fugen
20 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pension Christina
Pension Christina
#10 of 32 in Fugen
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sport- & Wellnesshotel Held
0.5 mi away
Gartenhotel Crystal 4 Sterne Superior
0.6 mi away
alpina zillertal - family . lifestyle . kinderhotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonne

Address: Dorf-Platz 2, Fugen 6263, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Fugen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Fugen
Price Range: $148 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sonne 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Cheap Tickets, seekda GmbH, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing