We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (141)
Filter reviews
141 results
Traveler rating
107
25
6
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
107
25
6
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews farmers buffet dessert buffet nursery slopes ski school excellent hotel weekly ticket musical entertainment packed lunch soup small pool boiled eggs village location steam room minor problem great view from the balcony sized shower just returned from a week
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 141 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2017

We stayed here for a week in July. I would highly recommend this hotel.
Friendly, helpful and courteous. In a beautiful village. All meals were very good and sometimes excellent.
Free passes to cable cars and leisure centre pool, and a Farmers Museum (sounds boring but it was brilliant), together with free entrance to the craft fayre was areal bonus. A discount bus pass for a week is also available.
We are just 'normal' holiday makers and it was well worth the trip. We are not hikers but enjoyed some leisurely walks in the area and much enjoyed the wonderful views and cable car experiences. But you do not need to travel at all for wonderful views. the Oberau is exceptionally beautiful with views of the surrounding valleys and mountains on your doorstep. The evening are low key with entertainment on a couple of nights. The complete absence of excessive behaviour from fellow travellers on the flights or hotel added to our pleasant experience.
Do visit for a wonderful holiday and the very friendly advice and hospitality. All round excellent.
Joe and Jean July 2107.

Room tip: great views of the valley from rear rooms. Front rooms get afternoon sun.
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerNo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberau, Manager at Landhotel Tirolerhof, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2017

Thank you for your positive comment to your stay in July 2017. Familie Erharter + Team>

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2017

What a fabulous hotel - perfectly situated in this stunning village - great for walking in the summer and skiing in the winter,

Excellent rooms - spacious and quiet. Fabulous staff, led by the family, who were exceptionally helpful. Great facilities; the hotel felt much more 4* than 3* to me.

The food was a real highlight. Superb breakfasts with a great choice of meats, cheeses and breads in particular and the boiled eggs were always cooked to perfection.

Dinners were amazing and there was great variety of foods through the week. The Dessert buffet was an absolute highlight and the best quality dessert buffet I have had (including all the top Vegas buffets, the Grove in Hertfordshire, and Etihad towers in Abu Dhabi etc.). The variety through the week was excellent. There was also some great local entertainment as well.

Two tiny points to note - the towels are quite thin, and there were lots of flies.

Overall, though, the Tirolerhof certainly made our holiday and I couldn't recommend it more highly.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5_9_2_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberau, Manager at Landhotel Tirolerhof, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2017

Thank you for your positive comment. It is nice to learn that you spent a good week at the Tirolerhof. Your feedback is our motivation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2017

We have just returned from a week’s holiday at this wonderful hotel. We had our two year old with us and my in-laws so we had various different requirements to cater for and the hotel did a brilliant job at looking after everyone.

I emailed the hotel in advance to enquire about solving a few requirements for our toddler regarding a room with a bath, heating his milk in the mornings and giving him his dinner at an earlier time than the rest of the family and they could not have been more accommodating. I was overwhelmed by the way they sorted out all these issues so kindly and competently.

This was indicative of the general level of service once we reached the hotel. Everyone we met was kind, friendly, helpful and efficient. There was an excellent level of customer care and service and we are already considering a return to the hotel in the future.

The food was another superb feature of our visit. The rest of my party had stayed in a great many Austrian hotels and commented that this was the best food they had ever experienced in one. This view was echoed by many of the other guests. There was a salad bar to start with, followed by interesting soup (not usually the case in Austria!), then a choice of three main courses followed by a delicious pudding. (My only tiny gripe with the dining room was the number of flies buzzing around.) Breakfast was also amazing and had a huge array to choose from so everyone was happy.

Our Inghams package also included a packed lunch every day. This consisted of 2 rolls with your filling of choice, fruit, chocolate biscuit and a bottle of water. This was so helpful and saved an awful lot of faff and fuss every day.

The hotel pool is tiny but suited our toddler perfectly. It is also evident from hotel pictures that the pool is not large so we knew what we were getting when we booked. We couldn’t get the lights or the bubbles to work on a couple of occasions but we could have asked for help at Reception and just didn’t have time. The sun terrace is perfect for the moments in between cloudy/rainy interludes and there was a little playground and play house which kept the toddler entertained really well. There is also another playground within view of the hotel and a 5 minute walk down a path past ducks and chickens so our little boy was very happy (and therefore so was the rest of the family!)

Oberau was in a good position in the valley as you could travel up or down on the Bummelbahn train/bus and do a variety of different outings. The outdoor pool is two stops down the line and has a waterslide, giant inflatable crocodile, toddler pool with slide, large playground and nice benches so made a great trip on a couple of days.

The Bummelbahn was another great feature of the visit as the toddler enjoyed travelling in it and it meant we didn’t need to hire a car. It mostly came once an hour, although it doesn’t seem to operate on Friday or Saturday so that was something to be aware of. There was also one day when it just didn’t turn up for no apparent reason. That was really annoying! However, it only cost 15 euros for a week’s ticket and we used it at least twice every day so it was a wonderful addition to the holiday.
Only one cable car was functioning in the valley but we knew that when we booked and it didn’t really affect our visit.

There were several nights of musical entertainment at the hotel and at other places in the village. My family were very impressed with the high level of performance at these and they added another level of variety to the visit. Our room was just above the performance area and the music continued past my bedtime but I had earplugs so it didn’t bother me but it might be worth being aware of if you are trying to get children to go to sleep.

We had an appartment with a mini kitchen and an extra bedroom. It was absolutely lovely. The only minor problem with it was that the main bedroom was open plan onto the rest of appartment and the curtains were very thin and didn't quite cover all the windows. If this would bother you then take an eyemask.

Overall, this has been a fantastic holiday and I would not hesitate to recommend this excellent hotel. Thank you to all the staff who made our visit so wonderful!

Room tip: First floor above the dining room- could hear the bands on evenings when they played. Room was lovely but had thin curtains.
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberau, Manager at Landhotel Tirolerhof, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2017

Thank you for your feedback. It is nice to learn that you spent a good week with your family at the Tirolerhof in Oberau-Wildschönau.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2017

We stayed here for 4 nights in February 2017 with our two sons (15 and 12) and had a fantastic time.

The hotel is perfectly positioned for beginners and young families, it really couldn’t be any closer to the nursery slopes. The excellent Happy Skischule and Margreiter ski hire shop are both right next door.

The hotel has a very relaxed, friendly family feel. The food is excellent and plentiful with varied themed evenings through the week. The staff are all very friendly and hospitable.

The hotel has a few toboggans which you are free to use, there is also a table tennis table down by the quite spacious boot room.

We didn’t get to use the pool as we are too tired after skiing!

Niederau and Auffach are a short, free bus ride away and provide a good variety of more challenging slopes.

Oberau itself is a small village but has a large Spar supermarket for all the essentials and a couple of nice cafes.

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Bruce K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberau, Manager at Landhotel Tirolerhof, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2017

Thank you for your comment. It is nice to learn that spent a fantastic holiday with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2017

With the ski lift and slopes right next to the Hotel it is a perfect place to enjoy your lunch which can be local or European food. The staff are always helpful and friendly. The short walk from the slopes after an exhausting morning is just what is required.

Room tip: A room viewing the ski slopes would be my choice
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnSwayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oberau, Manager at Landhotel Tirolerhof, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2017

Thank you for your positive comment. Always welcome in our restaurant - Martin Erharter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews