We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just not worth the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Alpenhof Flachau
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Flachau
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just not worth the money”
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Window dressing, but not performing.

Website has beautiful pictures, but these don't reflect the actual situation.
-Rooms were cheaply refurbished
-Breakfast very limited and of poor quality
-Afternoon snacks also of poor quality
-Staff underpaid.

in general, the management seems to be a fine example of 'penny wise, pound foolish'. No passion for quality.

This is all fine if it would be a cheap 2 or 3 star hotel. Fact is that they carry a 4 star plus rating, and they charge 5 star prices.
Therefore totally overpriced!!!
Stay away from this one.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarioPeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    21
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
31
25
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

We were two families (4 children age 9 to 13) and all our need were catered for. We got vegetarian dishes, special child dishes as well as great 5 course dinners served by friendly waiters. The pool and playroom was used by the children almost daily, while the adults could enjoy some relax time at the spa or bar!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah_in_Vienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

Call or email Eugen or Silvia (Fishbacher), - and you will experence the word "service", you will expereince a 5-star dinner, - and when you are finished biking in the mountains, - the SPA experience will give you that "extra WOW".......

Room Tip: I have been travelling al over the world, but I didn´t expect a 5-star Thailand-hotel service in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Peter_Balling_DK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2011

we stayed at alpenhof for 2 days after first locating via trip advisor. without knowledge of the area and some fairly high expectations we were pleased with our choice. prior to arriving questions emailed were answered expeditiously and pre bookings for spa treatment and horse drawn carriage ride taken with ease. on arrival checkin was easy and welcoming. partnership with ski shop across the road made ski hire easy and purchase of lift tickets on site meant we could get straight onto the slopes. bus stop at front of hotel took 2min to ski lift and then when we left the same bus stop took us to the nearest train station. staff were friendly and welcoming. the room was fabulous with internet access. i only wish there had been a couple more english tv channels as bbc & cnn become boring after awhile. we even had our bed made with a heart one day! my only concern was the food as i found it limiting to my taste, but i guess it was more traditional fare that i am not used to.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank warriorprincess22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2011

We had a fabulous time, the food was excellent, service fantastic - loved the spa, good location close to lifts and buses - all round an excellent stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KoHothanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2011

Noisy, poor costumer service, no bath in the bathroom (could be nice after ski...), whirlpool of the spa out of order, standard food...
Very disappointing.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boyste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Alpenhof, Owner at Hotel Alpenhof Flachau, responded to this review, February 9, 2011
Dear Sirs,

we are very unhappy that your stay with us at the Alpenhof was not that satisfaction it should be.
We always dry to prepare our clients an unforgetable stay and till now all we only got very good
reviews.
Your critism regarding the bathroom without bathtube is not wright, in case we do offer rooms with bathtube or shower - its the choice of our clients. Sorry for your unjoyous stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2011

This hotel is really superb. It has good clean modern rooms and bathrooms.
A wired internet connection is availiable FOC in the room.
The food is wonderfully presented like a work of art and the quality and variety would challenge any of the world class chefs.
I'd recommend this hotel to any one.
Ps. The Wellness/Fitness/Spa is also first class.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank encodeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flachau hotels
0.3 mi away
Funsport-, Bike- & Skihotelanlage Tauernhof
0.3 mi away
Montanara
Montanara
#2 of 30 in Flachau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Winterbauer
Hotel Winterbauer
#3 of 30 in Flachau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Biohotel Flachauerhof
Biohotel Flachauerhof
#5 of 30 in Flachau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Matteo
Hotel Matteo
#6 of 30 in Flachau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Tirolerhof
Hotel Tirolerhof
#7 of 30 in Flachau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpenhof Flachau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpenhof Flachau

Property: Hotel Alpenhof Flachau
Address: Flachauer Strasse 98, Flachau 5542, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Flachau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Flachau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alpenhof Flachau 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Ski amade and in the province of Salzburg our four-star design Hotel Alpenhof invites you to enjoy holidays for individualists.Take pleasure in the reduced design, the harmonic atmosphere and maximum freedom of a private residence in exclusive rooms and private studios and suites. Through the interplay of soft and warm colours, light-flooded rooms, stylish furniture and fine materials, every room has an unobtrusive and stylish effect. Awareness of what is essential should delight you here. Rooms are created all the more for individual living on holiday. Attractive holiday offers await you. Discover the beauty of the Salzburg mountains for yourself and at the same time enjoy the comfort of this design hotel in the heart of Flachau. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Alpenhof Flachau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing