We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Obermayr
Nearby Hotels
$204
$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$454
$398
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$209
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Alte Post(Faistenau)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveler rating
18
29
6
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
18
29
6
2
2
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 57 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2010

We spent 5 night on this hotel and it was very good.
Very kind staff who speak english and they were very friendly.
The rooms are not so big, rather functional and clean.
The hotel is very close to Salsburg and it's a very good point to start a nice trips in Salzkammergut.
We will suggest this hotel to our friends in Hungary.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vargari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2009

Friendly staff and very functional and clean rooms. Location is around 15 min outside of Salzburg and surrounded by forrest, mountains and open fields. They had a pool although we did not use it because of the weather. Also it did not seem so child friendly. The restaurant served typical Austrian food, but not very glamorous. The family who owns the hotel and guests smoke in the restaurant area. At night time this can be a little too much but for breakfast it was okay. The coffee was terrible but on the other hand the beer was great :) Not sure I will go back to this hotel but it was not bad and suited us well.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pingvin123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2008

I stayed at this charming little hotel for six nights in late October of 2008. It is located in a beautiful little mountain valley just south of the village of Ebenau, located 17 km. E of Salzburg and 17 km. N of Hallein. The drive in both directions is very scenic, especially southwards towards Hallein, as you drive along the shore of a narrow mountain lake, similar in nature to a Scottish loch or Norwegian fjord.

The young couple, Max and Connie, who are the owners of the gasthof, are very friendly and helpful to visitors. There is a restaurant on-site which offers full meals in addition to a half-board plan. The breakfasts are simple but ample, with cold meats/cheese, bread/rolls, cereal, juice and coffee/tea. There are many trails for hiking in the area.

The only possible drawback is that having a car would be very helpful, although there is local bus service near the hotel. I believe the hotel offers a van service to the train station or airport.

I stayed in a nice single room with shower for €27 B&B, which is very affordable for the area around Salzburg. I highly recommend the Gasthof Obermayr!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank maestrolms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2008

This is a sweet little hotel near the lake district. Our room had been remodeled recently and was quite comfortable. The rooms are all non-smoking. The bathroom had a wonderful shower and all the furnishings were new. We had a nice little balcony which looked out over the woods and gave us a great view of a beautiful sunset and a couple of great thunder and lightning storms while we were there.

Getting to and from the hotel you really need to rent a car. There is a bus but it doesn't run on Sundays which we found out when we got to Salzburg, besides you'll want to explore the neighboring areas.

They have a nice breakfast and will make eggs and bacon for you in the morning along with the normal cold buffet breakfast. We ate dinner there 3 nights and the last night was the best. Max barbecued and they had a really great buffet with it. The staff are all very friendly and helpful.

Coni sat down with us our first morning and gave us maps and ideas of things to do. She recommended the lake district on the sunny days and she was absolutely right. We saved the city for a rainy day.

Our only minor complaint was the smoke that wafted up from outside. We like to keep our windows open at night and often guests would smoke on their balconies and in the restaurant.

Overall, we loved it there.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank pahportland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2008

Cornelia and Max and their staff were just wonderful to us.
The setting is idyllic, the place is cozy and welcoming, and very convenient to Salzburg. Ebaneau is a hidden jewel outside the city, and the Hotel Obermayr is in a beautiful rural setting perfect for a relaxing stay.
Cornelia gave us great recommendations for things to do in the area, and helped arrange things for us. Thier English was very good, and they provided lots of materials for area attractions too.
Breakfasts were served in the dining room and were very good. Nice extended hours so we could sleep in, and early enough so we could join the early Sound of Music tour in the city!
Dinner was also very good, and the dining room and patio were great places to relax after our dinner with a drink or two.
Our rooms were beautiful and the view was stunning. The balcony off the room looked right out at the foot of the mountain across the street.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VTEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews