We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Poor service and food” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tang Dynastie

Tang Dynastie
Ranked #18 of 117 Restaurants in Almere
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
“Poor service and food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

The first impression of this restaurant is good, nice building to see and the ambiance is very modern. From the start the staff were very pushy to take our order. No time to sit down and look at the menu. The staff were very chaotic in taking our order. The starters where ok of quality but the mains where very poor. No flavour and cold. We had made a complaint about the quality but the staff ignored us. We don't recommend this restaurant unless you have a very low standerd of quality of food and service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JvG410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    57
    25
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Almere
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Familiar concept, great execution”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

In recent years, the Netherlands has seen more and more restaurants with the "X dishes in Y courses" concept. In general, one gets to select five small dishes per course, for a total of five courses in total. "Tang Dynastie" is one of the better restaurants that we know to use this concept.

Decoration is modern, airy and open. Staff are quick and friendly. The seating is comfortable and the restaurant has a playroom for kids.

The food is excellent. Next to an Asian 'a la carte' menu, they offer the aforementioned 'all you can eat' formula. They have a wide variety of sushi: makizushi, nigirizushi with roughly fifteen sorts of fish and hand rolls. They also have a wide variety of Chinese and Japanese dishes. They gyoza and the duck 'pancakes' are to die for! :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ommen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Something for everyone as the building has a variety of venues to suit every taste. Set menu, a la carte and even Japanese, great.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank peter v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almere
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Enjoyed vegetarian food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Nice modern ambiance. skilled young staff, mainly students to serve customers, they behaved quite politely.
We sat at tables to order per round 5 kind of choices food per person.
Was enjoyable, taste was varying and quality was average good/ok.

Can recommend everybody in the city Almere to have a diner over there.
Price was good comparing to quality and service.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SoedAlmere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almere, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Chinese food, don't eat Sushi”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

We used to eat at the Tang Dynasty regularly because it's around the corner from our house. The Chinese food is really okay, but three times after eating Sushi here I had a bad night, so I wouldn't recommend that. That's why I gave it 3 stars only.
The service is great and there is a pretty cool play room for kids.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sonja K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tang Dynastie also viewed

Almere, Flevoland Province
Almere, Flevoland Province
 
Almere, Flevoland Province
Almere, Flevoland Province
 
Almere, Flevoland Province
Almere, Flevoland Province
 

Been to Tang Dynastie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing