We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“High class business hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Van Der Valk Hotel Almere

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Van Der Valk Hotel Almere
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Almere
Certificate of Excellence
Rijmenam, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“High class business hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Staying here professionally on a regular basis. Rooms and bath facilities are spacious, food is excellent although the menu doesn't get freshened up a lot. Nice pool and gym. A pity that from 50 or so tv channels not one is Belgian, so close to Belgium and with hundreds of Belgian civilians staying here on a yearly basis.

Room Tip: Ask for the water side
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank felipe_de_barcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    153
    26
    6
    9
See reviews for
56
125
10
160
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Since the time it opened, I stayed at this hotel a number of times during business trips. At the beginning I experienced a number of "hick ups" related to room service, restaurant service and front desk. This time around things were very different. It appears that everything got much better overtime. I have really enjoyed my stay here and I am glad I gave it a second chance. By the way, I saw organized groups using this hotel as a base for their visits to Amsterdam...just "food for thoughts".

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank UpInTheAir27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonsberg,Norway
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Stayed one night at the hotel on a business trip, Hotel was OK nothing else. Good size rooms with bath and separate shower. Good breakfast buffet, did not use the restaurant for dinner. Be careful when buying anything from the vending machines, check the date of the soda etc. i Bought a diet coke that was expired and it did not taste any good, i had to throw it away.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimmyg_no
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
224 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

It wasn't easy getting to the hotel at 10 pm on a monday from the central station in Almere. Trying to find a taxi but no success so it gave me a nice walk in a quite warm Almere. I was afraid the hotel should be closed and no restaurant (having no idea what to expect) but that was far no problem. 24 hour service and a restaurant closing at 11 pm, with bar still open. It is a huge hotel and I learned that most van der valk hotels are.
Van der Valk Almere has a huge restaurant, nice and big lobby, nice bar, a lot of rooms. Rooms are big! I liked it a lot and I have never slept that good, fantastic beds. Fridge and safe in the room, minibar in the korridor. Hotel breakfast is what you expect, good and have a very friendly opening time, from 6.30 to 10.30.
I wish I had more time at the hotel though, didn't have time to check the swimming pool or just be sitting in the lobby for a while.

Room Tip: I do think most rooms have the same big size, odd numbers are looking to a canal on the backside of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanslos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Very nice hotel , rooms large as was the bathroom. Because of the dreadful weather we had while staying we decided to eat in the resturant 3 nights and was very surprised at the good value for money and very nice food. The breakfasts were also excellent with plenty of choice. The only draw back with staying here was that it was a 10 Euro taxi ride from the town if Almere and 50 from Amsterdam but well worth a visit......parking was free as well.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabetha334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafenwohr, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

I’ve stayed at a number of hotels in Europe, which usually means little to no room space. However, that is not the case for Van Der Valk Hotel Almere. I am very picky when it comes to hotels but this hotel is awesome! The hotel is CLEAN, spacious, quiet, with a lake out back. The rooms are the exact size shown on the websites. The beds weren't bad, and the sheets were clean without stains.The bathroom were clean! The shower and bathtub is huge enough for two. Their is no door for the shower, so be careful coming out. I didn’t have an issue with the wifi. I didn’t have any problems with noisy neighbors. The cleaning staff did their jobs, nothing was taken from my room. The food was great. Don’t worry they do have a english menu with servers that speak english as well. Breakfast is the same layout that you’ll get at most of the hotels Europe. The bar doesn’t serve cocktails, but they had a nice selection of wine. I stayed here during New Years and the hotel decorations were beautiful. The staff was friendly, helpful, professional, and they speak English. Their is free parking, and spacious enough to fit my Nissan. The hotel is 20 minutes away from Amsterdam. Their is a shopping center maybe 10 minutes, probably less then that. I did see buses in the area, but I can’t tell you anything about it. I would stay at this hotel again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marshay70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detmold, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Quiet, clean, extraordinary. We stayed for one day in wellnes suite and were more than satisfied. The weather was cold so we couldn't realy use terrace, but the terrace was also nice and had a beautiful view.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Malischa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Almere
1.6 mi away
Apollo Hotel Almere City Centre
3.3 mi away
Bastion Hotel Almere
Bastion Hotel Almere
#3 of 4 in Almere
3.5 of 5 stars 114 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fletcher Hotel Nautisch Kwartier - Huizen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Harderwijk
24.8 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol
1.7 mi away
ANNO
ANNO
#4 of 4 in Almere
3.5 of 5 stars 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van Der Valk Hotel Almere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van Der Valk Hotel Almere

Property: Van Der Valk Hotel Almere
Address: Veluwezoom 45, 1327 AK Almere, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Flevoland Province > Almere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Almere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Van Der Valk Hotel Almere 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Almere is located in the center of the Netherlands, just off the highway A6. Therefore, Hotel Almere is easy accessible. Hotel Almere has 180 luxurious hotel rooms, varying from standard rooms and luxury rooms to some family rooms and special Suites. The hotel's facilities include an inside pool, a large equipped fitness area and a wellness centre. The 17 multifunctional meeting rooms are equipped with modern conference and congress facilities. There is also a nice a la carte restaurant in the hotel, a cosy hotel bar, enough free parking space and free wi-fi in the whole hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Van Der Valk Hotel Almere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing