We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“One of the better Van der Valk hotels” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Van Der Valk Hotel Almere

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Van Der Valk Hotel Almere
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Almere
Certificate of Excellence
Antwerpen, Belgium
Level Contributor
210 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“One of the better Van der Valk hotels”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

We stayed here during a weekend spent in Amsterdam. Prices for hotels in Amsterdam being exorbitant we decided to stay outside the city. The hotel is a mere 20 minutes drive from Amsterdam, very conveniently located just off the highway, yet very quiet. A huge parking lot in front of the hotel, a roomy and airy reception area, nice bar and restaurant. Our room (standard room) was the biggest we have ever had in a hotel, with a luxury bathroom ensuite (big bathtub for two, big walk-in shower), free coffee/tea, free WiFi, A/C, flatscreen TV with a lot of channels, extra pillows, ... One small remark: the room couldn't be darkened enough for our taste.
The hotel also has a swimming pool, sauna and steam cabin.
Buffet breakfast, extensive but pretty standard with more than enough choice for everyone.
Price/quality can't be beat!
If you want this class of hotel in Amsterdam city centre, you pay at least 3x as much ... if not more.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amboseli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    172
    27
    7
    9
See reviews for
64
138
11
180
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

For a short business trip and for conveniance of the location I stayed 2 nights at this hotel outside of Amsterdam and have to say it was an excellent choice. Often Hotel rooms of big chains give me Claustrophobia but already upon entering it felt great (my room had a view to a little canal)and spacious and it has an amazing bathroom with an oversize bathtub. The Mattress was very much to my liking (with Mattresses it is such an individual thing). Because I took Taxi's to everywhere I had to go the location seemed fine.
I did enjoy the Pool and the Steam room/Sauna very much and everything was always clean.
I had some great food the first day, but the second day they first brought me the wrong dish and then the dish I had ordered was very average, but it is great that one can get a full menu in the Bar, when traveling alone....Definitely would stay again in this Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingrid M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort William, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights as we were visiting friends in Hardervijk.We found the hotel to be very modern but tastefully decorated,extremely clean and comfortable.Our room was spacious,clean with a great bathroom.Great nights sleep in a comfortable bed,no noise at all.free wifi everywhere which was a bonus.We ate and drank in the bar,staff friendly and helpful and the food was first class.Cannot fault this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank honestjohn_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

We had a party in Almere and decided to stay the night in the hotel. The rooms are spacious, good beds and large bathrooms. The hotel has a swimming pool with sauna, which is a nice thing to have in the morning. The breakfast buffet is extenisve and good. It's a 10 minute walk to the nearest bus stops. Luckily the busses to the city centre goed frequent. Definitely rethinking to do it again someday.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ptkho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

I was recommended by a work colleague to stay at a Van Der Valk hotel when in Netherlands. Personally on business trips im a Hilton/Marriot kind of person as I know what level of service im going to get.

I never really looked into the VdV range of hotels on previous trips. However, this time I was too far from a Hilton, and though i'd take up the recommendation. Wow! what a hotel. Service was second to none!

The room provided out of this world. I have a full Suite to my self, inc my one personal Sauna room, Steam Room, Roll top Whirlwind Jacuzzi Bath and to top it off a huge walk in Rain Shower!

The room was immaculate, all the furnishings were kept well clean, and everything about the room was perfect. Id go as far as saying this is one of the best hotel rooms i've stayed in for a long time by far. The room I had was the Wellness suite. The price was very good for what you got. The front desk always ready to help and speak great English. Car Parking is free both above ground or in the underground parking.

There isnt much this hotel doesnt offer... a perfect stay!

Room Tip: Wellness Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harikara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

I stay at this hotel 7 or 8 times a year and I've never had anything to complain about. The staff are friendly, the rooms are big, clean and tidy (the suites are superb). The restaurant food is good, served quickly and is consistently of a high standard. The gym is adequate (although some of the weights machines have been broken for months) but the pool is excellent. They offer free WiFi throughout the hotel, although it is patchy in certain areas and you will need to continuously log on to it as it boots you out after 20 minutes of inactivity.

I can't imagine anyone staying here for leisure purposes as it's in Almere... the location isn't great as there are few public transport links and it's several miles from Almere Centrum station.

Overall though, for a business hotel it is superb. If this was located in Amsterdam it would probably be twice the price for a room.

Room Tip: You won't be able to get the free WiFi from the terrace out the front of the hotel. The best WiF...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DomGuitar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oulu, Finland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Nice and tidy hotel with spacious rooms. Nice and peaceful rooms. Location close to highway, easy access yet without disturbing traffic noise.
Nice restaurant and excellent breakfast. A bit far away from shops and Almere city center, so a car or a cab is required for shopping.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KeHe2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Almere
1.6 mi away
Apollo Hotel Almere City Centre
3.3 mi away
Bastion Hotel Almere
Bastion Hotel Almere
#3 of 4 in Almere
3.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
24.8 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Fletcher Hotel Nautisch Kwartier - Huizen
23.6 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Houten-Utrecht
1.7 mi away
ANNO
ANNO
#4 of 4 in Almere
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van Der Valk Hotel Almere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van Der Valk Hotel Almere

Property: Van Der Valk Hotel Almere
Address: Veluwezoom 45, 1327 AK Almere, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Flevoland Province > Almere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Almere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Van Der Valk Hotel Almere 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Almere is located in the center of the Netherlands, just off the highway A6. Therefore, Hotel Almere is easy accessible. Hotel Almere has 180 luxurious hotel rooms, varying from standard rooms and luxury rooms to some family rooms and special Suites. The hotel's facilities include an inside pool, a large equipped fitness area and a wellness centre. The 17 multifunctional meeting rooms are equipped with modern conference and congress facilities. There is also a nice a la carte restaurant in the hotel, a cosy hotel bar, enough free parking space and free wi-fi in the whole hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Van Der Valk Hotel Almere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing