We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice new property” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nashera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Nashera Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Morogoro
Washington DC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice new property”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Spent two nights in this hotel for work and liked it a lot. As mentioned in all reviews, the rooms are big. The restaurant on the patio section is lovely. I had good wireless, though video skype didn't work - not the end of the world.

Colleagues and I were doing some workout in the garden and the hotel staff were going for a quick hike up the hill near the hotel. We joined them on the walk, and it was great. Took about 30 minutes.

I also went for a run on the same hill the next morning around 6 30 AM and it was great. It is packed with ladies who are taking their wares to the market and kids on their way to school. If interacting with locals aren't your thing but still want to hike/run on the hill, go either really early - i.e. 6 AM, or later -i.e. 8 30 - 9 00 AM.

The staff at the hotel are really, REALLY nice.

The only downside was the small roach problem. I saw a family of cockroaches in my bathroom several times (behind the vanity). The staff sprays the rooms regularly for pests, but I think these guys were coming from the water pipes. Not a big big deal, but it wasn't nice to find them in the sink in the middle of the night when I turned on the lights. The hotel is by a mountain, and I guess these pests come with the territory.

All in all, great place and very friendly staff. I will definitely go back when I am in morogoro next.

Room Tip: Mountain view is supposed to be pretty good, though my room didn't face the mountain but my room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OnurWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niani C, Owner at Nashera Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Thank you so much for reviewing us. It's these comments that help us improve. I am dismayed you had a pest issue and can assure you while pest come with the territory, they do not come with Nashera. We are taking this very seriously and during the rainy season (or periods of high rain) are increasing our fumigation against those peak pest periods. We look forward to your next stay and hope you will walk with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    36
    12
    4
    0
See reviews for
12
6
1
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
86 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Very spacious rooms. The front desk staff were extremely helpful. A short ride from the center of town, but within walking distance to mountain trails. They take credit cards, but you have to tell them two days before charging the card. It worked without incident. I will be heading back again this year.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niani C, Owner at Nashera Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for your review. We look forward to your next visit. Remember to bring your swimsuit next time, if it is after February 25th, which is our anticipated date to open our pool. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sao paolo
Level Contributor
67 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

This place looks like a mega-church from some Southern US state. It's absolutely massive and the rooms are humungous. The views of the mountain are great and the wireless works. The food could be a lot better and the atmosphere is definitely lacking.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rexlombardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Nice place, very clean, air-condition, good breakie, good meals, nice people and within walking distance from town. one problem was the poor speed of the internet in the rooms (and also the lobby). I would stay here again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank early30_irish_male
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niani C, Owner at Nashera Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for your review and feedback. We are working on improving our internet service speed. We have expanded its access to more rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Excellent rooms and facilities, free wifi Internet as well (high speed). Very courteous staff, all staff had a smile and where very positive. I have specially dietary requirement and was well catered for at breakfast and also assisted in handling my medications which required cold storage. A multi-cuisine restaurant would be high welcomed. Hope to see a functional swimming pool by the next time I come over to stay...this is definatly the only place I will reside when in Morogoro. Highly recommended !!!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Daks P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niani C, Owner at Nashera Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you so much for this lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

What a pleasant surprise to see this hotel in Morogoro. I have stayed in all the hotels in Morogoro from time to time and this is clearly the best. The rooms are fresh and clean. The staff were friendly and courteous. There were a few cosmetic issues in the room which I reported and I am sure they will be attended to. The grounds are lovely. The air conditioning works well. They are very attentive to keeping mosquitos out of the rooms. The bathroom was very nice. The linens were good. The room was spacious. If you are looking for the best hotel in Morogoro - this is it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veritas666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niani C, Owner at Nashera Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. Our staff takes joy in hearing that guests have enjoyed their stay and the friendliness of our staff. I have personally checked on the comments you shared. And thank you for telling us immediately. We look forward to your next stay. For the month or May, June and July, mention your review on TripAdvisor and get a free meal in the restaurant or via room service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in Feb 2012. From the outside the hotel looks very nice. The lobby/restaurant is also nice. Rooms on first glance are nice and very big.

Only later when you start taking a closer look do you see the problems. Very shoddy finish work everywhere. The roof had multiple leaks. Doors had the electronic locks ripped out and replaced with keys. Too bad they used off color putty to fill the old holes. Drapes were falling down, walls were uneven and paint was badly deteriorated. Tile finish work was awful.

Rooms are just too big for comfort. You feel like you are in a warehouse. Little furniture to fill the space. The rooms could be half as big and still be adequate.

Front desk clerk was nice and very helpful. Bag boys very eager and helpful.

Restaurant was another problem. First night they brought the menu and then told us half of it they didn't have. Second night it took a total of 3 hours to get a plate of fish and chips.Breakfast both days supposed to start at 7 but at 7:30 the cooks and help were barely getting started. Took until 7:45 for the egg chef to get ready.

All in all I wasn't very impressed. Especially for the price.

Unfortunately anything decent in Morogoro is hard to find. Next trip I'll stay at the Morogoro Inn instead.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erick967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NIani C, Owner at Nashera Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
We are so pleased you decided to stay with us. Since the opening we have made many improvements to our facility. It is our hope you will notice the remarkable difference on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morogoro hotels
3.4 mi away
Arc Hotel
Arc Hotel
#4 of 5 in Morogoro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
1.1 mi away
Morogoro Hotel
Morogoro Hotel
#3 of 5 in Morogoro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.0 mi away
New Acropol Hotel
New Acropol Hotel
#1 of 5 in Morogoro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Flomi Hotel
Flomi Hotel
#5 of 5 in Morogoro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#3 of 6 in Morogoro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.0 mi away
Udzungwa Falls Lodge
Udzungwa Falls Lodge
#3 of 16 in Morogoro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nashera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nashera Hotel

Property: Nashera Hotel
Address: Boma Road, Liti Area, Morogoro, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Morogoro Region > Morogoro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Morogoro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nashera Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For those who are traveling for business, leisure, adventure, or family our 4-star hotel features an outdoor pool, and is located just over 3km from the centre of Morogoro. It has panoramic views of the Uluguru Moutain and includes free Wi-Fi throughout the property.All of the rooms at Nashera Hotel are air-conditioned and offer a balcony and a satellite TV. Each has an en suite with a bath and a shower.Breakfast is served daily, which can also be taken in the room. The restaurant, Udzungwa, serves dishes ranging from American specialties to classic Swahili fare. A number of restaurants serving a range of local and international cuisine can also be found within 5 minutes’ drive of the property.Guests can relax in the garden with a drink from the bar, or the Nashera’s staff can arrange a tour in the local region. For those seeking adventure, the opportunity to go on a safari is only an hour away.Morogoro Airport is located 5km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jovago.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Nashera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing