We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A brilliant safari experience”

Selous Game Reserve
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Morogoro
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A brilliant safari experience”
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Selous Game Reserve offers expect knowledge of the area and the animals that inhabit it. The actual area is roughly 52,000 square kilometers so it is never guaranteed you will see animals. However, the rangers know enough to take you to the best spots.

They also talk to the other rangers in case others have seen animals you haven't.

The only bad aspect is they tend to drive quite fast at points and you can get thrown about a bit in the Land Rovers. Expect a few bruises when you finish.

Helpful?
Thank Amy_Pitman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    16
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Woodmere, New York, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Exceptional Game Viewing”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

On a recent trip to Tanzania I visited the Selous Game Reserve. It was a wonderful experience. The 3 day safari was spent viewing animals so close you could almost touch them. Our guide Bacari was awesome. He was able to find so many things for us to see. Zebra, giraffe, elephants, buffalo and lions are so numerous. It is a reserve so there are no restrictions regarding off road travel. The birds are beautiful. We had a fantastic water safari on Lake Manze where we were up close and personal with hippos and crocks. It is a magical place.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Norma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
1 review
“Selou Game reserve”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Amazing place with such a range of wild life to see, even though I am close to the elephant corridor that are supposed to be moving to and from Tanzania to Mozambique near a small town of likuju, there are lots of buffalo in the area even leopards which surround are site where we work.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank HJR969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Undiscovered Africa”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

One of the great pleasures of the Selous is that it is enormous, being I beleive the largest Game Reserve in the world, so there are absolutely no restrictions on where one can go. As a result a visitor will see few other vehicles during a full day visit, and unlike the Serengeti if you happen to fine a Lion kill one can enjoy the spectacle without dozens of other vehicles suddenly appearing to join you.
There is plenty of game.
The Mtemere gate is about a five hour drive from Dar-es-Salaam or one can fly into the airstrip there, the option we chose.
The entry fee is $US 65 per 24 hours, which I think is a bit steep.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Guy2508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nixa, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“African Adventure”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Amazing experience from the base tent camp to the 2 day safari, it was the thrill of a lifetime! I would recommend this reserve to anyone ready to get close to the animals of Tanzania. Our guide were awesome. We saw lions, zebra, giraffe, elephant, water buffalo and every animal native to that area. We were NOT disappointed. It is hard to describe in words. If you have been considering a trip to Africa..... This is one place I would not miss!!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sharon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Selous Game Reserve also viewed

Morogoro, Morogoro Region
Morogoro, Morogoro Region
 
Mikumi National Park, Morogoro Region
 

Been to Selous Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing