We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay and good value”
Review of Arc Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arc Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Morogoro
Scotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place to stay and good value”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed in a lot of places in Tanzania but this was one of our favourites. It was great value for money compared to some other places. The view from the rooms is lovely. The rooms themselves were clean and comfortable. The staff were very helpful. It's on the outskirts of town and so was nice and quiet. The food was good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oliveoil3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svend K, Partner at Arc Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for your review - it was greatly appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    38
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
12
13
2
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rwanda
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Welcoming hotel slightly out of town, amidst green surroundings, quiet and relaxing. The rooms are not large, but simple and clean. Very efficient mosquito net on the bed. Restaurant and bar with a wide choice, especially of Indian (even Afghan!) food of good quality.

I read reviews with concern about the staff service. Things must have improved by now, because I found the staff not just courteous and efficient, but also skilled, for example in bar and table service, far more than in your average provincial hotel in Tanzania.

I would stay there again if they would offer competitive company rates, as there are cheaper options of acceptable quality in Morogoro.

Room Tip: I had a room just above the bar and was worried that I would be kept awake by the TV screen showing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerXY_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svend K, Partner at Arc Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for these positive comments. They are indeed an encouragement for our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Arc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

clean, basic rooms. i'd stay again for sure. the receptionist does not understand what you are saying properly at all which is really frustrating. the breakfast is all right. the view from the rooms is great - you can see the mountain. its also very peaceful.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aleefia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svend K, Partner at Arc Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for these positive comments. They are a good encouragement for our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Arc In the meantime we will work on resolving the language problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

It is a great hotel in a good location by Tanzanian standard. It is well run and I would stay there again for business purposes. The owner is very welcoming and did greet me when I arrived when I stayed last year. I have stayed there twice now and both occasions was the same standard.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spinksy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trym2010, Owner at Arc Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for these comments. Our aim is to provide quality hospitality services and the comments provided by ‘Spinksy’ are indeed an encouragement for our staff to maintain and where possible to improve that quality for our guests. Dear ‘Spinksy’, we look forward to welcoming you back during 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
86 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

I've been here a few times. The rooms are quaint and comfortable. The food is fantastic with a mix of local foods, Indian food, great pizzas, and the usual hotel menu. They have a nice outdoor patio for dining with a nice mix of music. They show soccer games outside on a large 'screen' as well. The front desk staff are always very friendly and helpful. The hotel is on the edge of town which keeps it quiet at night.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trym2010, Owner at Arc Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thanks William S; we surely appreciate your brief and courteous report on your stay last summer.
Our new year’s resolutions aim to keep the service at top level and to continue expanding our services and hopefully build new facilities for our guests during 2013. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
68 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Once again I found myself at the homely Arc Hotel; been some good things happening since my last visit; waiters all spruced up, breakfast has improved with muesli, butter and cheese now on the breakfast table ... so I imagined more waiters meant better service. Sadly, this was not the case. My first encounter with a clueless waiter was excused, but when three waiters on a separate occasion admitted that they had no idea what the ingredients of a meal on the menu was, and called in the chef to explain, I got irritated! The management should take note as it is inexcusable for a hotel that attracts a fairly 'travelled' clientele that expects better serivice than just a 'samahani' meaning excuse me for I do not know. Knowledge is a basic and training is vital. If these waiters are incapable then I suggest adding the ingredients and cooking method for the dishes on the menu. For instance 'roast' in Tanzania means 'stewed'. I want to return to Arc Hotel but not to another 'samahani'.

Room Tip: Rooms with mountain view never fail to please
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abiria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trym2010, Owner at Arc Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
It was a somewhat unpleasant surprise to read this review. Our management is taking it most seriously.
Three of our waiters have no clue as to what they serve our guests. We had to enquire. The situation reminds me of a restaurant visit to one of the elegant restaurants on the Belgian coast a few years ago. I asked the waiter who had served the meal a question about the meal, which he could not answer. He then calls his immediate superior who also could not answer my question. The immediate superior (dressed in dinner jacket with black tie) calls his boss, who comes to my table (his uniform being white tie and tails). I certainly understood that my concern was being properly addressed. So maybe this is the way forward for our relatively more modest place in Morogoro: ensure that our waiters go to their immediate superior when one of our guests has questions that he or she may not be able to answer. But of course, we must ensure that all our waiters are properly informed about the various delicacies on our menu.
In any case, it is a pleasure hearing from our guests both when we receive good reviews (I especially appreciate the reference to our improved breakfast buffet) but also when we receive critical comments, because this is input which we must use to improve our services to our guests. The constructive proposal to explain ‘stewed’ and ‘roasted’ on the menu will certainly be taken into account by our management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Enjoyable one night stay out of the noise of Morogoro. Bedrooms excellent and host Swen pleasant company. Wasn't that enamoured of the menu wth the emphasis on chicken in all its forms but enjoyed the meal and the wine nontheless. Company helped and service good. Recommended and will stay here again next time through. Pool would be a great addition after the long trip from out west.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buccaneer-001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trym2010, Owner at Arc Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
We did not know that the buccaneer was staying with us; had we known we surely would have made a special effort to offer a special meal with emphasis on anything but chicken. Our most recent addition to the menu is lasagna, prepared the way the Italians do it (we hope!?). We therefore also hope that ‘next time’ our buccaneer comes will be soon in order that our chef’s efforts to make our menu more attractive can be evaluated. And we will be glad to offer a good bottle of red wine on the house when he comes.
Regarding the wish for a swimming pool: am in full agreement that such an addition would be great; and we are working on it!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morogoro hotels
3.4 mi away
Nashera Hotel
Nashera Hotel
#2 of 6 in Morogoro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
2.4 mi away
Morogoro Hotel
Morogoro Hotel
#3 of 6 in Morogoro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.0 mi away
New Acropol Hotel
New Acropol Hotel
#1 of 6 in Morogoro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Flomi Hotel
Flomi Hotel
#5 of 6 in Morogoro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#3 of 7 in Morogoro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kingsway Hotel
Kingsway Hotel
#4 of 16 in Morogoro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arc Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arc Hotel

Property: Arc Hotel
Address: P.O.Box 3112 | Old Dar es Salaam Road, Morogoro, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Morogoro Region > Morogoro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Morogoro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arc Hotel opened in August 2009. It is a modern international level hotel. It is located at the outskirts of the city of Morogoro, approximately 2 km from the city centre, close to the main road to Dar es Salaam, Dodoma or Zambia. Arc Hotel offers comfortable double or single rooms/suites to meet the needs of both professionals and vacationers. All rooms on the upper floor have access to a private balcony looking out on the Eastern Arc (Uluguru) Mountains. The Arc Hotel 'Mikumi' restaurant offers a wide variety of dishes and indoor as well as open air services for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The menu includes local, as well as Indian, Chinese and international specialties. The open air service area also comprises the bar. Families with children are always welcome. An outdoor playground is available. Our staff will be happy to connect you with local tour operators for transport to the local attractions. The hotel is conveniently located close to Mikumi National Park, Udzungwa Mountains National Park, Uluguru Mountains and Selous Game Reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Arc Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing