We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and very helpful owner”
Review of New Acropol Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Morogoro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
New Acropol Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Morogoro
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Travelling by car from Europe down to Southafrica the food in the new Acropol Hotel was so good that we stayed for a week (in the suite at the frontportch)! From a friend of the lovely lady that runs the place I heared right before we left that she is a chef and studied in France - that's why!
The ambience is extraordinary and the precious things all around well worth a sight. So if you are in Morogoro check this place out and enjoy the marvellous food and yes the homemade cakes are delicious as well as the fresh brewed coffee! Oh, and if your dog is well behaving then he is welcome too :-)!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank N K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 62 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2012

I didn't stay here, but came often for a relaxing visit, sipping a cappuccino in the garden.
The carrot cake is better than my sister's...may be the best I have ever had.
good bar, excellent service, no complaints
...You could spend an hour or so just looking at all the junk.
and you may run into some real characters here

Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
2  Thank c f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed here recently for 4 nights on a mixed work-holiday trip. We'd read the mixed reviews on here and weren't sure whether to go for it, but in the end the decision was made for us when we were booked in by a colleague.

Not sure what to expect, we were pleasantly surprised by what we found. The room isn't amazing, but it does the job with a double bed, mosquito net, fan and TV. It was noisy at night but nothing we couldn't put up with.

The hotel itself is 'shabby chic' in the true sense of the word. A thick layer of dust covers many of the nick-nacks that line the walls, but not to the extent where you feel dirty. The mis-matched chairs everywhere make great places to sit quietly and read, especially in the real sun-trap of a courtyard. The real downside is the busy road out to the front which really takes the shine off sitting in an otherwise lovely front garden.

The food was great, though expect HUGE portions. There's a good range for both vegetarians and meat-lovers alike and we can vouch for the cocktails too.

Yes, this place may be a little rough around the edges but in the end we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room called 'Mr Ton' (some rooms are named after former long-term residents...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank EllieandAlexis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Unique or idiosyncratic - this hotel has not changed in 40 years according to a fellow guest. The food is excellent, the ambience wonderful, the room just reasonable - the shower curtain was falling off the walls. The proprietor is larger than life and welcoming!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WestLakesMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Stayed in Acropol hotel in Aug 2011. Travelling on business - needed internet to do my work and it would not work. The owner gave me the password to the wi-fi and vague instructions on getting her network. It would not work. I was able to see the network, but could not connnect. I tried every possible way and trouble shot everything, would not work. Asked the owner to re-boot the network, Owner was no help, as she had not set up the network herself and didn't seem very tech savy. I incurred a huge phone bill so that I could contact home. Glad other reviewers were able to use the wi-fi. Be WARNED, it might not work.

My first time to Africa, I didn't expect much. Room was big and had musty smelling a/c unit. Everything looked like it could use some updating...see photos. Also room looked like it could use a thorough cleaning...everything seemed dusty. Hard time sleeping due to dog barking. Always had hot water when needed for shower. Food was decent/edible, waitstaff was good. Although I did not partake, the bar seemed well stocked and would probably be a good place for low-key socializing. The lounge & dining rooms were dark (poorly lit) and stuffed with symbols of Africa. Think old British out post.

If I had to go to Morogoro again, I would not stay here and instead try a different hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daffodil1726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Want a nice surprise as you travel through Tanzania? If you find yourself in Morogoro don’t miss the New Acropol Hotel and restaurant. This is a small hotel unlike any other in Tanzania. It is owned and operated by Michelle Bragg, a friendly Canadian woman who has lived for over two decades in Morogoro. The decor matches her personality – colorful, quirky, informal and fascinating. You can see what I mean by looking at their website - www.newacropolhotel.com. They have many satisfied returning guests and can fill up quickly, so book ahead.

The eight hotel rooms are large and well furnished, with air conditioning, fridge, desk, sofa and lots of small amenities. Wireless internet is included in the room price. The rooms are uniquely decorated; each with a very homey feel so you can relax from your travels. The cooked-to-order breakfast is included with the room price and is served at any time of the day, so sleep in – they will make your food to order when you are ready.

The restaurant is fun, with mostly North-American style cuisine, and the menu offers many items available nowhere else in town, like bruschetta and ratatouille. The portions are generous, but take-away is no problem. Important note from a long-time Morogoro resident – this is the only restaurant in Morogoro where I feel safe eating raw vegetables and asking for ice in my drinks. I know they sterilize the veggies and use filtered or bottled water for their ice.

They have cocktails and specialty coffees, as well as daily food specials. You have the choice of eating in the garden, on the veranda, in the bar, or in the dining room. You can even have drinks in one area and shift to another when your food is ready. It’s a neat experience. One thing you need to know – you will often see lovely little dogs or a cat around, but if you are allergic please let the staff know so they can arrange for them to be elsewhere.

My food favorites:
When calamari is available (they only buy the best), it is cooked to perfection.
The beef mishkaki (grilled meat on a stick) is the best in the world, in my humble opinion.
Their french fries (aka chips) are great. They leave the skin on and cook them in two stages.

Whether stopping in for lunch as you pass through or staying for a while, you will be glad you came.

Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
3  Thank bbKenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

OK, having read the other reviews here, we thought we'd give it a go--thinking it would be charming in a quirky way.
It definitely has some potentially appealing quirks and character (the other review mentioning "faded glory" was apt), but overall the place is pretty sad. Issues:
* The owner/operator was difficult and unpleasant to deal with on the phone, was not very welcoming in person when we arrived, and didn't respond to multiple e-mails (though she did respond to the couple requests/questions we had).
* The place could stand a thorough cleaning, and there's a lot of junk around which could be thrown out. The towels, sofa, and closet in the bedroom are gross, and her dog peed on the floor in the bar while we were there.
* As regards eating, at least when we stayed there, the dining room was oppressively dark and empty, and not appealing. We decided to eat at the bar, which was a little better. The food itself was borderline inedible, unfortunately, though the Lonely Planet guide we had misleadingly called it "Nouvelle Cuisine." Arranging a glass of wine for us proved impossible (the beer we had instead was fine), though we overheard one of the owner/operator's friends asking the bartender to get a bottle out of a secret personal stash. And in a town with abundant access to beautiful fresh fruit they don't provide fresh fruit juice for breakfast.
On the positive side, the A/C and WiFi worked fine, the price is definitely low (Tsh65K/night), and the place is a short walk to the town centre (which we were told by a couple sources is safe in the daytime though not at night).
Be warned: Morogoro is a bit grim, and doesn't have a great deal to offer visitors. The mountains around are beautiful, though, and we had a good time and some nice interactions while buying some textiles in the market.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Malcolm75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morogoro hotels
0 mi away
Morogoro Hotel
Morogoro Hotel
#3 of 7 in Morogoro
85 reviews
0 mi away
Nashera Hotel
Nashera Hotel
#2 of 7 in Morogoro
74 reviews
0 mi away
Antique Legacy Hotel
Antique Legacy Hotel
#5 of 7 in Morogoro
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Flomi Hotel
Flomi Hotel
#6 of 7 in Morogoro
13 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#3 of 10 in Morogoro
40 reviews
0 mi away
Mama Pierina Restaurant and Annex
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Acropol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Acropol Hotel

Address: Plot 178 Old Dar Road | P.O. Box 78, Morogoro, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Morogoro Region > Morogoro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Morogoro
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This building is one of the oldest in Morogoro and is filled with antiques and original furniture from the 1940s and 50s. It is on the Old Dar road, once the main road through Tanzania from the border to Dar es salaam. It has a fascinating pub with maps and curios from all over Zanzibar and mainland Tanzania. The food served features vegetables and other produce from various Morogoro organic cooperatives. North American style cuisine using beef filet and pork tenderloin. Specialty coffees and a fully stocked bar with cocktails. Free internet is available throughout the property and rooms. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing