We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”
Review of GR City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
GR City Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Mbeya B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Spent 3 nights from 22-25 clean decent place with good service well maintained rooms,hot water avaliable all time foof at the resturant has improved since my last stay two years ago.good thing they have moved bar at the back of their newly built block so there is less people at the main resturant which used to be packed watching soccer matches thus making lots of noise and occupying lots of resturant space they also have good choice of tv channels both local and foreign and secured parrking .staff are polite and helpful.Overall recommend this hotel even with family for stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seifi-munira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    3
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
3
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bury St Edmunds
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I was looking for a hotel for one night before catching the Tazara train to Zambia. This hotel is located in the Soweto district, it is about a 15,000 shilling taxi ride from the train station and city center, about £12, depending on your negotiation skills!

I thoroughly enjoyed the hotel, I stayed in one of their cheapest rooms and it was fine, double bed, hot shower, satellite TV, they have internet but you have to plug in via a cable which i din't have. What really made it were the staff, from the moment I arrived every member of staff were smiling and friendly, even a linen porter wandering the corridors stopped and chatted with me. The restaurant was lovely, nice selection of food and what I chose was great. The hotel had 24hr security so it felt safe and secure. Overall a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mattiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

If you are in Mbeya this is definitely a good choice. Hotel is clean, with hot water shower, tv and ceiling fan (it is never to hot in Mbeya so the ceiling fan is more than enough to keep you cool). Food in the restaurant is not a culinary master piece but good enough to eat although it takes forever to get it ready. Service is good and if you need any laundry service, it's done perfectly.
Price for a BB is 35000 TSH (about 17 eur). All in all good choice for African traveler or a business person on the road.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BelgradeHedonist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2011

The hotel is relatively new, and hard to find. It's very easy to drive past it. The rates are negotiable. We paid 40,000TSH (about $35) for the room. The hotel is modern, and clean. The rooms have TVs, hot showers, tiled floor and internet (though the connection is very, very slow).

There is parking as well as a guard on duty. The restaurant downstairs was nice, with a good selection to choose from.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MsafiriTZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mbeya hotels
0.0 mi away
Utengule Coffee Lodge
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
G. Town Hotel
#4 of 13 in Mbeya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
0.0 mi away
Usungilo City Hotel
Usungilo City Hotel
#3 of 13 in Mbeya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mbeya Forest Hill Motel
0.0 mi away
Peace of Mind Rest House
0.0 mi away
Mbeya Hotel
Mbeya Hotel
#1 of 13 in Mbeya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GR City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GR City Hotel

Property: GR City Hotel
Address: P.O Box 3639, Soweto Area, Mbeya, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Mbeya Region > Mbeya
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Mbeya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Jovago.com so you can book your GR City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing