We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and nice harbor view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stromstad Spa & Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Stromstad
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Had a suite overlooking the harbor for a night and enjoyed the view. The hotel is nicely located with little traffic and excellent amenities. Restaurants are in the town center which is about 10 min drive (not an issue). Friendly staff and excellent service. Only drawback was that we were unlucky to have a partying crowd making lots of noices deep into the night (music stopped at 1:30am after lots of intervention/complaining). Management did compensate for the bad night sleep though......

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank BoefieDeBoef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,139)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

168 - 174 of 1,139 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Don't book this hotel if you are looking for some peace and quiet. Could not sleep for two nights because of the noise. Tons of children running and screaming through the hall ways during the night, using it as a playground. No control what so ever. Noise coming from the bar and neighbors. You can follow their conversation word by word. Heavy doors that makes too much sound when closing. Overpriced, small room, no climate control, bathroom ok. Hotel is pretending to be upscale, with these amount of children and the bad rooms, it feels like a hostel with design furniture. Would not recommend it!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OttoNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for business. The reception and bar areas are dark and could benefit from more light. Outdoors there is a magnificent area with great view of the harbour and Strömstad. Some of my collegues stayed in suites while I stayed in a normal room. The room was small and the beds narrow. Two single beds joined to form a double is not a benefit when they slide apart. The spa is nice with large windows towards the outside, but it also appeared a bit dark due to the hotel buildings outside. The service in the bar, also servicing the outdoor area, was very slow during daytime.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrBanister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I'we been several time here, both business and pleasure. The resort is situated just outside Strømstad, but has a very convenient cable ferry which takes you across the peninsula in no time. The place is fresh, chique and clean. Nice rooms with really good pillows and beds.

The SPA features a large saltwater pool, three jacuzzis, soft sauna, saune, sanatorium and Turkish Steambath.

Breakfast, lunch and dinner is good too.

Room Tip: Get the suite - Get late checkout on Sunday.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldclassinspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Spent four nights at this hotel for a congress. Was a bit apprehensive after reading some of the reviews here, but the hotel more than matched my expectations.

Parking garage is just at the back of the hotel and we stayed off season, so there was ample parking. However, I noticed many of the parking spaces were reserved during the summer months, might be worth checking this when you make your reservation.

Check in was quick and the hotel has two buildings, I was in the building attached to reception, so only an elevator ride to my room. Room wasn't huge, but ideal for one, immactulately clean and unfussy. Enough storage for all my things. Beds were indeed narrow as stated in previous reviews, but this didn't disturb me since I was sleeping alone. May have been an issue if travelling as a couple.

Bathroom had underfloor heating below the tiles which was lovely to walk on, and made sure the room dried quickly after a shower.

Our company had more or less taken over the whole hotel, every meeting room I was in was well appointed, and suitable for purpose. Between meetings there were comfy couches in the lobby with enough power points to plug in dying laptops and work from. When your eyes got tired from the screen, you could look out over the harbour and the boats. Despite the floor to ceiling windows, it seemed to be a little dark in the lobby, I think maybe it might be north-facing, but that the only minus point.

Catering at this hotel was perfect and I looked forward to each mealtime. The breakfast, lunch and dinner buffet selections were always delicous, with fresh seafood, Swedish specialities, salads, warm meals, etc. There was something new to try at each mealtime and I didn't get bored of the food there.

Spa and the pool looked great - a colleague mentioned the gym was great with top notch new equipment, sadly I didn't have the time to use it.

Summing up, this hotel was perfect for (my) purpose, and made four days of business pleasant and comfortable.

Room Tip: There are two buildings, one is closer to reception/restaurant/spa if this is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adieuwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

A lovely and modern decorated spa hotel. Lots of design furnitures right at the ocean creating a wow feeling. Free admission to the hotels spa area with hot tub, saunas, steam baths, jacuzzis (inside and outside), rainshowers ... Perfect for couples. Children under 16 have limitted admission (9-11am). Unfortunately the hotel doesn't offer any childcare or childrens playground making it difficult for parents.

Our standard room was very standard and small. It was also in another building to the hotel and all the facilities. It's not so comfortable running outside between the room and pool/spa/jacuzzi.

Wifi is free but the coverage in the room was very poor disconnecting me all the time.

Breakfast was good. They even had hot waffles and a huge selection of teas.
For such a great and expensive hotel, we missed fried eggs and pancakes.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TranFamilyNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We expected a romantic and relaxing weekend at this hotel, but our expectations were not met! The room was a long walk away from the reception, and the room looked like a cheap motel room, no luxurious or romantic feel at all! There was no wifi in the room, and the staff told us that they were upgrading it (ref. review from august 2012; the hotel was upgrading wifi....). We asked for another room with wifi, but that just pissed the lady at the reception off, and she told us no and that we had to use the wifi in the reception area. We ordered dinner in the restaurant, and the rude waiter forgot to give our order to the kitchen so we had to wait over 1 hour before we got the food! The spa and exercise areas were ok, but we did not like that we had to walk a very long distance from the room and through the reception in our bathrobes to use the spa. We paid 228 EUR per night which is totally overpriced!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Linemor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stromstad
0.5 mi away
Scandic Laholmen
Scandic Laholmen
#2 of 4 in Stromstad
305 reviews
19.1 mi away
TanumStrand
TanumStrand
#1 of 1 in Grebbestad
273 reviews
8.5 mi away
Rasta Nordby
Rasta Nordby
#4 of 4 in Stromstad
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Tanums Gestgifveri
Tanums Gestgifveri
#1 of 1 in Tanumshede
108 reviews
24.3 mi away
Stora Hotellet Bryggan
Stora Hotellet Bryggan
#1 of 1 in Fjallbacka
130 reviews
3.1 mi away
Dafto Resort
Dafto Resort
#1 of 13 in Stromstad
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stromstad Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stromstad Spa & Resort

Address: 229 Kebalvegen, Stromstad 452 40, Sweden (Formerly Quality Spa & Resort Strömstad)
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Stromstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Stromstad
Price Range: $165 - $378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stromstad Spa & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stromstad Spa & Resort is a modern spa resort situated in the midst of the stunning Bohuslan archipelago, on the west coast of Sweden. You are only a few minutes away from the norwegian/swedish border and a good hour´s drive from Oslo in Norway and Gothenburg in Sweden. Stromstad Spa is the place to be for guests who love golf, sailing, sea, bold architecture, swedish seafood, exotic nature and tranquilizing spa experiences. The spa itself covers 2000 square metres on two floors. It is the only Decleor Flagship Spa in northern Europe and offers most spa treatments and products. 116 of our 232 rooms are suites with balconies. Most of them overlook the sea and the canals at the idyllic Notholmen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nordic Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Stromstad Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Stromstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing