We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and beautiful location, but anonymous”
Review of Stromstad Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stromstad Spa
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Stromstad
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Comfortable and beautiful location, but anonymous”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Strömstad spa was host to a company gathering, where we spent a weekend. The hotel is large, and small, but cozy downtown Strömstad is reached via foot and cable ferry in 15-20 minutes. The location itself is quite beautiful by the sea, and with many recreational options nearby.

The room was large, and had a separate bedroom, a kitchen (with some of the cupboards nailed shut(!)) as well as a sofa area. Storage space was ok, and everything felt fresh and comfortable. A minus is however the narrow 75cm beds – this shouldn't be necessary.

Breakfast and other meals were well-stocked and while not the most exciting, of rather good quality. The bar had live music during the nights – the performers not being your average dance band, which was really enjoyable.

The spa area provided several options, and all necessary items are provided by the reception. A minus is the almost total lack of outdoor facilities and the total abscence of a bar inside the area. In all, however, a relaxing and comfortable experience.

Conference facilities were good – many different rooms with good air-conditioning and technical equipment and ample break service.

In all I had a pleasant experience at Strömstad spa, and a relaxing weekend here could be recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tvmtvm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    283
    190
    99
    57
See reviews for
170
410
21
213
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

This hotel, is an over priced Hostel, with no service and quality.
Arrived this hotel Saturday morning with my family and cheeked in to an over priced room.
It was a Superior room, priced at NOK 2790,- that felt like a 3 star international hotel.
The rooms lacked of quality, with easy solutions, and bad finnish.
Even the beds felt like there were bought at 50% off at IKEA!!
We had to go o the reception 5 times to ask for the same thing they promised when we cheeked in. And at 11 PM they came, 7 hours later!!
Only one employe had control, and it looked like the rest were just were hired in help!
Even when we asked for some plates to the kids supper no one came, so we had to go to the restaurant and find it our by our self.
Further on the staff had no service attitude at all, no one asked to help with luggage, parking or anything else.
After unpacking we took a trip around the hotel, and it was over priced at all points, even to be in Scandinavia.
When the evening came, we had a glass of wine, and the bartenders were kind and and did a good job, but it stopped there.
We went up to our rom, 6th floor, and at 11 PM they started playing music at the bar, and even on the 6th floor we felt like we were at Woodstock, and the kids did not manage to sleep until 1 PM when it ended.
But then the fans on top of the room started with a wining noise and kept going to 11 am.
So the total sleep was more or less 4 hours.
How this can be called a Spa an Resort beats me.
I have had more or less 100- 150 nights a year at hotels the last 8 years, and this MUST be the most overprices and worst night EVER.
Next morning we went to the SPA and at 11 am nothing was on, not even the saunas.
So we packed up and left for a total price of NOK 3600,- for 1 night.
I will NEVER recommend this hotel or other from this operator to any of my friend or business associates. Compering this to european hotels, this is just a sad story.
Thank you, for helping me, never to choose you again

And to you that wants to visit, try to connect with guests, and base it all on your self, and not the hotel staff or what they named it.

Room Tip: Stay away from this hotel, it have nothing to do with the price point or name. The heater at the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ProvocateurR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willamette Valley, Oregon
Level Contributor
41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We had an overall okay one night stay here. It was fine, but not exceptional. The hotel is very modern in design and appears to be pretty new. The location at the marina is a few minutes from town and is in a lovely setting.

Our room and the bathroom were well-furnished with the basics, but both were small in comparison to the other places we stayed on our 9 day trip in Scandinavia. The wireless internet did not work in our room, so we had to be in the lobby to connect. I dined alone in the restaurant while my husband used the spa facilities. My dinner was just so-so and that is also how he rated the jacuzzi/spa experience too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ESNODs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Beautifully located, just on the waterfront with spectacular views, a crackling fireplace, and nothing helps when the service fails so miserably. You can enjoy the stay, just keep well away from front desk, and don't ask for advice on parking and just speak to the other guests and you'll be fine.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PennyLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Stayed three nights for a conference through work. Positively surprised by conference facilities. Food was mostly good. Rooms were clean and decent size, the standard Choice Hotels layout and style.

I got a twin room with backyard view - lots of rooms have balconies..

Only niggle is that the window did not open property (security feature) and since the sun had been up and heating the room the air was not great during the night.

Did not try the spa so can't comment on that.

Location is outside Strømstad (five minutes by car?)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fredped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haugesund, Norway
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This is a very good hotel to stay at. The food, room, cleaning was very good.
The hotel is just outside Strømstad, so the location is very good.
You can sit at the terasse and look at the harbour and the boats.
We can recomand this hotel, if you want a "relax hotel".

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank husgei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We had a stopover one night and found this place very nice and relaxing. The hotel is ultra modern with all facilities. The room was small, but nice. The bar-area outside was excellent at night time. Breakfast OK and the SPA-area we just glanced in at and it seems spotless as well. The location is great, by the sea, just a 10 min stroll to the city, including an unmanned little ferry I guess this place would have been a great place for a SPA weekend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ISj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stromstad
0.5 mi away
Scandic Laholmen
Scandic Laholmen
#1 of 4 in Stromstad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
19.1 mi away
TanumStrand
TanumStrand
#1 of 1 in Grebbestad
3.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rasta Nordby
Rasta Nordby
#3 of 4 in Stromstad
3.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Stora Hotellet Bryggan
Stora Hotellet Bryggan
#1 of 1 in Fjallbacka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
14.7 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#4 of 6 in Halden
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
16.4 mi away
Tanums Gestgifveri
Tanums Gestgifveri
#1 of 1 in Tanumshede
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stromstad Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stromstad Spa

Property: Stromstad Spa
Address: 229 Kebalvaegen, Stromstad 452 40, Sweden (Formerly Quality Spa & Resort Strömstad)
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Stromstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Stromstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stromstad Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nordic Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Stromstad Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Stromstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing