We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality and value hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Avenue Hotel Copenhagen
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Frederiksberg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a long weekend. It is a nice hotel in a reasonable location to walk to the centre and was good value for money. The buffet breakfast was nice and all the staff were really friendly. Only small issue was there was no tea or coffee making facilities on the room but I would recommend it for a short stay in Copenhagen.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ras78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

665 - 671 of 1,120 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2013

My first trip to Copenhagen and we decided this hotel for the good comments. We loved breakfast as it was a fantastic international combination of varieties of breads, boiled eggs, cheeses, teas, jams, and so on! Nice impacting lobby with elegant furnitures. I was disappointed by the room. Small, with soiled carpets, really small and poor chippy bathroom! No airco. Good position if you like walking as me! 15m from the City center!

Room Tip: Ask for a rear position bedroom, parking lot view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellAround8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Nice hotel in the middle of Copenahagen. The check-in was trouble free but the portier forgot to inform about the free wifi. The room would definitely need air conditioning during summer but was fairly large and roomy. The entertaiment system (tv) was quite disapoining but we were not there to watch tv.

Freandly and pleasant staff!!!

Breakfast was good but the layout was disorganized. Guests were running allower the room to find the food they wanted. Quite good choices of food but they messed up the labeling of tea so English Breakfast and Earl Grey was interplaced.

They need to be quicker to refill the samovar with hor water!!!!!!

The have a small outside area where you can take your breakfast if you prefer to eat outside.

The minibar was very tiny but free of charge...

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kax2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We spent four nights at the Avenue and couldn't fault either it or its location. We didn't know what to expect given the reasonable room rate (by Danish standards - the rider which has to be added to all pricing comments in Copenhagen) and comments by some reviewers over the neighbourhood and the distance from the city. Firstly the hotel is a delight. All the public rooms combine a high level of comfort with designer decor and the staff were all very friendly, chatty and helpful. As well as an extremely welcoming lounge there is a fabulous outside seating area in which to chill out on the big sofas with a book or one of the many games available. Our room was clean, smartly decorated and comfortable with a fridge and the big bonus of having a large internet TV! We had a room at the back of the hotel, which overlooks the back yards of flats and appartments - uninspiring but with the plus of making it quiet enough to leave our window open in June. We're not sure how noisy it would be at the front, overlooking what is a busy road. As others have commented, breakfast is a speciality - a fabulous choice with the mainly healthy options backed up by more fattening treats such as fresh pancakes! As you can go up as often as you like the only danger is over-indulging, especially as they keep replenishing it. As for the location, we had no problems walking into the city - we only used the Metro to get to the airport and back. Forum Metro station, which is on the direct M2 line, 20 minutes or so from the airport, is just round the corner. The road the hotel stands on is a direct route to the Town Hall square, so no problems about losing your way and as it's a well-used main thoroughfare there are no worries about walking it at night. It took us 10-15 minutes to reach the city centre. Aboulevard is a border between the Frederiskberg area and Norrebro, which some seemed to suggest is unsavoury. It isn't. Though it does have an edgy reputation we loved it: it's multi-cultural with lots of moderately priced, lively cafes, street art (stunning grafitti everywhere) and a really friendly, Bohemian feel as you wander around. It's an experience in itself and made us feel we were getting a taste of the real Copenhagen rather than the tourist version you'll get in the city centre. The only possible knit-pick we could find regarding the Avenue, and it is a tiny one, is that they don't specifically do evening meals (though even there they do have arrangements to order food in from the nearby Pizzeria, at a sizeable mark up).

Room Tip: A back room would probably be best for a quiet night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank norfolknobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Have just spent 3 nights here and spent a while choosing a hotel but couldn't have been more pleased. I couldn't fault the hotel. The lobby area was beautifully designed and modern (just like in the pictures on the website which is often not the case). We stayed in a superior room and it was spacious and well-decorated with a free minibar and everything you'd expect in a good hotel room. I am not sure I have ever come across such helpful, professional staff who were quick to help with anything and seemed to be able to second guess what you were about to ask for.

The breakfast was wonderful with a selection of danish breads, meats, cheeses and cereals etc. and didn't finish too early.

It is true that the hotel is slightly out of town (I am a good walker and I didn't fancy the walk back after walking in and around town all day) but it is right next to the metro or you could hire a bike - it was cheap for 3 days. Tivoli gardens are only a short walk and the Norrebro area is a 5 minute walk where there are lots of vibrant bars and good restaurants. I think that the slight distance from town is only a minor set back - and is balanced by the price.

Overall, I couldn't recommend the place more.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard as quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lise_ks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Good ambience but a bit of a walk away from main attractions. Room we had needs updating /decorating.

Breakfast however was excellent and really sets you up for the day in a very healthy way which you need when you are about to face scandinavian prices everywhere else.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Garrysays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Having stayed in quite a few hôtels in Copenhagen I can say that this place is good value for money and that my single room was reasonably spacious, with a modern "designer" feel. I did have a room at the back though, which was probably a good choice given the busy road out front!The staff were all professional, helpful and friendly. Breakfast was typically Scandinavian with a pretty good choice, especially of breads. The Avenue is just outside of the centre but only 5 minutes walk from Forum metro stop and there are a few restaurants in the vicinity.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank derekfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frederiksberg
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,622 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Ibsens Hotel
Ibsens Hotel
#16 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,117 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#12 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#25 of 118 in Copenhagen
4,116 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,076 reviews
Outer Vesterbro
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Hotel Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Hotel Copenhagen

Address: Aaboulevard 29, Frederiksberg, Copenhagen 1960, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Frederiksberg > Frederiksberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Frederiksberg
Price Range: $114 - $428 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Avenue Hotel Copenhagen 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avenue is an up-to-the-minute, welcoming boutique hotel situated in the heart of Copenhagen. Whether your stay is for business or pleasure, the modernity of the interior decoration and furnishings combined with the very special personal touch make you feel comfortable and at home. Enjoy the cozy lounge or charming patio or take a ride on one of the popular Avenue bikes. Our friendly team is always there to make your visit a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avenue Hotel Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Hotel Copenhagen Denmark

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing