We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“good value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avenue Hotel Copenhagen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Avenue Hotel Copenhagen to your Saves list
Avenue Hotel Copenhagen
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Aboulevard 29, Frederiksberg, Copenhagen 1960, Denmark (Frederiksberg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Frederiksberg
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“good value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We have been in early December and we have really enjoied this hotel.Walking distance to everywhere, very good atmosphere, personnel very kind and helpful. Yes, we'll come back definetly! The bathrom is a bit small, but no problem at all.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    408
    118
    26
    16
See reviews for
186
406
62
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I was staying at this hotel for 3 weeks - first two weeks in a single room and the last week in a double room. Rooms are spacious and has a couch, desk, smart tv, good free wifi and ensuite bathroom. The single room had a shower only and the double room had tub and shower in the bathroom. There is a nice lounge (a bar in the night) area to relax and meet new people. Hotel staff is friendly and helpful.

I loved the free breakfast with freshly home-made breads, spreads, yoghurt and fruits etc.

The hotel is situated close to the heart of the Copenhagen city (10-15 min walking distance) and University of Copenhagen (30-40 min walking). Bicycles are available for rent, but a big too expensive.

I really loved my stay at Avenue Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank supun22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My friend and I had booked a weekend escape to Copenhagen and this hotel proved the perfect base for a couple of days exploration and relaxation.

The hotel is beautifully decorated (I was a big fan of the comfy sofas, fireplace and Missoni blankets) and our twin room was a great place to lay our heads. (The only negatives I could cite were an overheated room and slightly stinky bathroom drains – It’s testament to the staff and décor that neither these really detracted from an overall fantastic stay.)

The reception staff were brilliant – friendly, efficient and so helpful. We arrived late on Friday night and we were quickly told what food could be ordered in and presented with a complimentary cocktail (we booked through Mr & Mrs Smith). In the morning, having worked our way through the generous buffet, we set off to explore Copenhagen and all the sights.

The hotel is a little further out than expected (20 mins walking) but as we were happy walking this really wasn’t an issue and at night we hopped in a taxi.

Would I go back? Yes, definitely.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

A lovely old building, beautifully decorated. Comfortable if soft beds. Staff very friendly and helpful. More than adequate breakfast included, as is wifi and even a small minibar. Downsides: room cold, bathroom cold, non-thermostatic shower, no tea/coffeemaking facilities, no full-length mirror in room, you have to leave and then retrieve your room key from reception (may be a wait), strange clicking from a panel in my bathroom kept waking me up, lift/elevator very small and its manual door may get left open and so it won't come when called. I used both duvets on my bed and was still cold for ages -- taking a shower is the only way to get warm. But apparently cold rooms are not unusual in Copenhagen?

Room Tip: See if you can get one with a hot radiator rather than a lukewarm one
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Almost everything about the hotel was really good for the British visitor. All the staff were really helpful and insisted on sorting out breakfast in a bag on the Monday morning as we were leaving really early for our flight home.

The room itself was stylish, although the bathroom was a bit on the small side and the decor was approaching the tired side. The lounge was very comfortable with some big sofas - ideal to relax in after tramping the streets for a day. Breakfast was everything one needs - a wide variety of choice - I particularly liked the cheese cutter.

Although a bit out of the City Centre, there were 2 buses and a metro station close by and trips in and out were just £1.50 each with the 10 trip pass.

Room Tip: The road at the front is pretty busy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Howell D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The bar and public areas are smart and stylish. The buffet breakfast was great (good selection of bread, cheese, hams, pastries, fruit etc). The free wifi worked well.

But overall, I was disappointed with this hotel. The bedroom and bathroom were tired and outdated. The bathroom was tiny and the tiles were worn and chipped in places. The bedroom furnishings were rather drab. The mini bar was empty. For the price, I would have like some more luxury.

The bedroom overlooked the main road and it was noisy at night, despite the double-glazing although to some extent I was expecting this and that is not my main concern.

Room Tip: The roads overlooking the main road can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KEM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire, UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This is a nce hotel just to the west of central Copenhagen. Very friendly and helpful staff. The location is about a 15/20 minute walk into the centre but there is a metro station just a few minutes from the hotel which takes you into the centre, so we were perfectly happy with the location.

We were in the back of the hotel in room 418 - a very pleasant room with separate bedroom and lounge/study area. The very comfortable lounge bar is, as many have commented, an excellent place to chill out.

There are a number of good to excellent restaurants in the hotel area. We tried Scarpetta, Radio and Frederiks Have during our stay.

We would have no hesitation in staying here again on our next visit to Copenhagen.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BucksTraveller2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frederiksberg
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#5 of 117 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 stars 1,049 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#4 of 117 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 stars 1,663 reviews
Outer Vesterbro
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#22 of 117 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 stars 3,212 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Hotel Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Hotel Copenhagen

Property: Avenue Hotel Copenhagen
Address: Aboulevard 29, Frederiksberg, Copenhagen 1960, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Frederiksberg > Frederiksberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Frederiksberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Avenue Hotel Copenhagen 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avenue is an up-to-the-minute, welcoming boutique hotel situated in the heart of Copenhagen. Whether your stay is for business or pleasure, the modernity of the interior decoration and furnishings combined with the very special personal touch make you feel comfortable and at home. Enjoy the cozy lounge or charming patio or take a ride on one of the popular Avenue bikes. Our friendly team is always there to make your visit a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Avenue Hotel Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Hotel Copenhagen Denmark

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing