We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Avenue Hotel Copenhagen
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Frederiksberg
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very pleasant place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

We have had a very nice stay here. Each day when I come home from work activities, I feel very happy to be "home." I am surprised that others have commented on bad service, as I have found the staff to be nothing but helpful and friendly. Copenhagen is an expensive city, and this place is no exception. There are a few small quirky things that were surprising, given the price (no drawers in the room, no clock, dirty carpeting, etc.). But the A-plus room is spacious and quiet, and includes both a sitting area and an office nook, with lots of windows.. The common spaces are very pleasant. The internet connection is excellent. The breakfast is more than adequate. The bed is comfortable. The neighborhood is convenient. The building itself is old and quaint. All in all, I would gladly stay here again.

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra for a room on the quiet back side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CalAdventureGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,065 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    460
    133
    37
    19
See reviews for
222
453
67
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

This hotel is a quite small and cosy and very suitable for a weekend trip. Located near Forum metro station. The rooms are nicely decorated but the bathroom could be updated! The building is quite old and therefore the isolation is not very good. So if your not an early bird you might be irritated from the hall coming voices.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marika H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Our experience of the Avenue was so poor we ended up checking out before spending a full night there.

When we reserved the room, we were not told that there would be a big party taking place in the hotel connected to Fashion Week, with a DJ blasting out music directly below the room we were meant to be staying in, No. 106. From around 9 pm when we returned from dinner intending to have an early night, the room was literally shaking from the beats. When we enquired at reception as to whether there was another room for us away from the noise, we were told that there was no other room available, that the music was going to continue until around 1am and we were given ear plugs to try. We tried the ear plugs but it made no difference given the level of noise. It was clear that we would not be able to sleep until the party ended.

As we wanted to get an early night’s sleep because we were going to a party ourselves the next evening for which we wanted to be fully rested, we were pushed into taking the extreme step of phoning around alternative hotels desperately seeking a last-minute cancellation. Luckily, at 10.30 pm we found a room at another hotel, at around 1 ½ times the price of our room at the Avenue, so packed up our bags and walked across town just so we could get a decent night’s sleep. We ended up staying at the SAS Radisson Blu Royal, which was excellent.

When we explained why we were leaving to your receptionist, his first response was to suggest that we would have to pay for our hotel room. This was an outrageous response given the circumstances. A profuse apology was what any decent client-focused business would have offered. Only reluctantly, after we made it very clear that it would be totally unacceptable to charge for a hotel room that failed to offer the most basic requirement of a peaceful place to sleep, did he agree not to charge us.

I should make it clear that I am not suggesting that it is inappropriate, of itself, for hotels to throw parties. Of course it isn’t. But those parties should not affect the well-being of the guests staying at the hotel who have no connection to the party, and are simply looking for a decent place to spend a restful night’s sleep.

Subsequently, I wrote a polite email suggesting that in future

(i) they don’t hire out hotel rooms immediately above the ground floor party zone,given the apparent lack of any proper sound insulation installed between the floors;
(ii) they warn guests in advance if they are going to be staying at the hotel on a night when their room is going to be directly affected by a party taking place;
(iii) they seriously consider improving their sound insulation; and
(iv) they train their staff to respond to situations such as the one we were faced with in a more sympathetic, client-focused manner.

Even after a chasing email, I never received a response.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Although the hotel is not located at the city centre, it is easily accessible through Metro. I like the washroom floor that is warmed to keep dry. Hopefully, in the future, they would provide tea making facilities in-room and a wider range of English TV channels (mainly continental European TVs now). Most importantly, it would be much better if they could install air-conditioners.

Hotel rooms are not air-conditioned and that means in the steamy hot summer, you have to bear the heat (and it happened to be a heatwave at that time). I asked the Front Desk what to do and they asked me to open windows at night. Unfortunately it didn't work and I woke up every night in sweats.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CS852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Water, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

My husband and five year old daughter stayed there during the hottest weekend in Copenhagen for 37 years. I never thought that not having AC would be a problem in Copenhagen but it did make for a couple of uncomfortable nights, luckily the hotel did provide us with a fan. The hotel staff was accommodating and friendly. The outdoor seating area was a great spot for dodging the sun, catching a breeze and enjoying a beverage of choice. Games and hula hoops provided for the kids...

There was only a shower in the bathroom, which was not a huge problem with a 5 year old but could see that as an issue for younger children. The rooms were not quite as large as I expected (we had a A+ room) but part of the reason was that the sofa bed was down during the entire visit. Hotel could use with a bit of an update but fairly trendy and good use of lobby space. Great location and the pizzeria next door is fantastic; delicious coffee and danish shops around the corner to the left as well if you want something other than standard continental breakfast. Tivoli was a long walk with children so would suggest a cab. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

The Avenue Hotel is far from the worst hotel I've every stayed in, but even further from the best.

While Danish hospitality is not known for its warmth, service at the Avenue ranged from aloof but polite enough, to cool, to downright rude.

We got off the plane in the morning, tired and wanting a shower, thankful we had arranged for an early check-in. When we arrived, that fact was dismissed with, we were told an early check-in wasn't possible, and we were invited to enjoy the buffet breakfast while we waited. (Which we didn't realize, they were charging us for.) Our room wasn't ready until 3pm.

On another day, we asked the concierge to kindly cancel a couple of the restaurant reservations they had made for us before we arrived. The young guy at the front desk rolled his eyes and said, to our face, "Well, that's a lot of work."

When we ordered our complimentary cocktail that night, after the bartender gave us our gin and tonics, he realized these were comped and informed us that we should not have received name brand liquor, but that he'd let it slide.

In general, every time we asked a question, like how to use the train to get to the Louisiana Museum, the response would be half-hearted and incomplete. (I won't go into the ordeal of trying to get to the museum based on their advice.)

The room itself was serviceable, but rough around the edges. The carpeting and couch were covered in stains. The bed was uncomfortable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nlightened
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

Me, my wife and my 8 month old recently stayed at this hotel.

Firstly, the positives.
The hotel's location is fantastic.It is very close to the metro and just a few stops away from the airport and the city centre. It is in a pleasant neighbourhood with lots of little cafes and restaurants around.
The staff are friendly, cheerful and polite. The service is excellent.
The hotel has a lovely lounge to relax and unwind after a long day.

BUT the hotel can improve on a few things:

Firstly, although I had specifically mentioned we were arriving with a baby, we were allocated a room which had no bath tub. When I mentioned this, we were initially told we could use a bath tub located two floors down (not an ideal scenario to take the little one up and down 2 floors for his bath!) When I insisted, I was immediately provided with a small bath tub (something that they could have done without my insistence)

Secondly, the fixtures in the room are quite dated and in need of replacing. For a boutique hotel, this doesn't vibe well

Thirdly, (as mentioned elsewhere by another reviewer), at least a selection of hot breakfast could be provided.

Lastly, the rooms get quite humid in the summer as there are no air conditioners.

Overall, a great hotel if you are single or just a couple with no babies in tow

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnandLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frederiksberg
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,715 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#14 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Outer Vesterbro
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Indre By (Inner City)
Ibsens Hotel
Ibsens Hotel
#21 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#7 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Hotel Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Hotel Copenhagen

Property: Avenue Hotel Copenhagen
Address: Aaboulevard 29, Frederiksberg, Copenhagen 1960, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Frederiksberg > Frederiksberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Frederiksberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Avenue Hotel Copenhagen 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avenue is an up-to-the-minute, welcoming boutique hotel situated in the heart of Copenhagen. Whether your stay is for business or pleasure, the modernity of the interior decoration and furnishings combined with the very special personal touch make you feel comfortable and at home. Enjoy the cozy lounge or charming patio or take a ride on one of the popular Avenue bikes. Our friendly team is always there to make your visit a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avenue Hotel Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Hotel Copenhagen Denmark

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing