We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty reasonable, good location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Cabin Express

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Cabin Express
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Frederiksberg
Rijswijk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pretty reasonable, good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

We stayed there for 5 nights. We arrived at 12:00 but could check in immediately although check in time is 15:00, so that was nice. The hotel is very close to the Forum metro station (just a few stops from the airport and only two streets away from the hotel), and Vesterport train station is within walking distance (you should definitely take the metro instead of the train when you’re traveling with luggage). Tivoli is within walking distance as well. There’s a bus stop as well, so you can get about anywhere in Frederiksberg/Copenhagen with public transport. Due to water damage in the basement the lift wasn't working for a couple of days (we didn't mind), and the free wifi in the rooms wasn't working either. There was free wifi available in the lobby though. The rooms - or cabins - are absolutely bigger than cabins on a boat. Another review said that even the hotels in Japan aren’t that small, but I beg to differ, since I’ve stayed in Japan as well. Our room had 4 beds. Cleanliness could be a bit better though, as I found a little piece of chips lying on my bed when we arrived. When we moved one bed to make one twin bed, we saw that the floor underneath the bed was very very dusty. This was cleaned the next day though. And on the bright side – we had a twin bed. The sheets were clean, and we got fresh towels every day. The bathroom is tiny, but ok and clean (although the toilet does have some stains). There was a flatscreen tv in our room, but no international channels, although they do have some international channels in the lobby - but if you're not planning to watch a lot of tv during your trip you're gonna be fine. All the lights worked but one and our watercooker was clean. The window can be opened completely, although you have to wiggle the safety thing a bit first. We found this hotel to be pretty reasonable for what we've paid, and the location is pretty good. Cleanliness could be a bit better, but overall we had a good time there.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank architecttraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    55
    67
    18
    15
See reviews for
45
40
18
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
156 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2011

This should actually be two reviews, normal and force majeur handling, as we stayed at this hotel during the Copenhagen flood.

The hotel is nicely located, there is good parking on the street and in the yard (for a fee). Night parking on the street seemed free and very possible, we wanted to leave the car for day, so ended up in the yard. Some gps-navigators insist the hotel is in Copenhagen, not Fredriksberg, so take this in account when travelling.

The free Wifi worked well, and was of the no hassle type (network name and password). The included breakfast was served in the basement and was very basic, but ok.

The rooms are very small, just like Cabins on a cruise ship (especially the ones between Sweden and Finland) Four beds on two levels, very small bathroom, no aircon, very little space for luggage. But clean and the beds were ok. Take the size in account when planning.

Now for the second part:
On our second evening in the hotel it rained 115 mm in 2 hours over Copenhagen. That resulted in water masses approximately half a meter deep on the Danavej (and Tivoli and many other places) There was a couple of centimeters water on parts of the entrance level floor, The basement was filled to the ceiling, and there was no electricity for several hours. The reception staff worked like crazy to get all new customers redirected to somewhere with electricity and the current ones relocated or reassured. They did a great job, and we slept well the next night, with new bed linen (forgot to close the window). In the morning there was no hot water or breakfast, but the checkout worked ok. The management was not too Pr-savvy about the way they cancelled the breakfasts, but that was no issue to us, we drove a couple of km out of town and had breakfast in a roadside monarch.

Room Tip: The standard rooms are tiny. They have some larger ones also, check when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mleivo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpellier, France
Level Contributor
220 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2011

It is situated near the metro station and 15 minutes walk to the Town Hall.
The room was very small, basic but clean and quiet. It is a good option if you come here just to sleep and don’t have to spend time in the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hikingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izmir, Turkey
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2010

We stay at cabin express for two nights. Positive sides were;
--Hotel is 5 minutes walking distance to the metro station-which we used to get to the airport and it takes 15 or 20 min.to arrive to airport-,
--There is close bus stops to go any place in the city,
--It was 15-20 min. walking distance to Tivoli and the city center.
Negative sides were;
--the man at the front-desk was rude.
--the room was very small but it was ok to sleep.(if you have big luggages it can be a problem)
--the bathroom was composed of a sink, a toilet and a shower all enclosed in a little room (1 square meter).. To take a shower you have to pull the curtain around yourself but the water spread over the toilet, and other stuff.

I will not stay there if i go once again, but it was the cheapest hotel around there..

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monochrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2010

After an extensive search for a reasonably priced hotel in Copenhagen, we asked a local and they directed us here.Frederiksberg is a safe,quiet and neat neighborhood with about a 4 block walk to city center.The rooms are like a dorm room, but for the 2 of us it wasn't a problem.Included a great breakfast and parking for 2 nites including parking =1200DKK($200).Internet free in the lobby.We walked to center and took the hop on hop off bus tours.It was the way to see Copenhagen.The Restruant with Bar next door "Bastholm Vinstue" was excellent!
For the price and proximity to the centre, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WeWillGoAnytime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cracow, PL
Level Contributor
72 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2008

The hotel and the stuff is nice, but rooms are VERY SMALL. We've stayed in Quad (beds are on 3 levels, last one very high...) with a tiny bathroom, but it was perfectly CLEAN (bed clothes, towels etc.). I wouldn't recomend it, if You have big luggage - there's no place for more than 2 inside the room - or if You are not friendly enaugh with people stayed there with You :) Window opens just a little, so it might be hot during the summer days. There is a tiny kettle and mugs + tea&coffe in each room, which is nice. Reception desk is closed after 23pm, so You must remember to have Your key with You all the time. The hotel is about 10 minuts walk to Tivoli.

  • Liked — cleanless
  • Disliked — small rooms
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Katazryna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frederiksberg
Frederiksberg
Hotel CABINN Scandinavia
Hotel CABINN Scandinavia
#3 of 6 in Frederiksberg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Cabinn City Hotel
Cabinn City Hotel
#48 of 114 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,601 reviews
Amager
CABINN Metro
CABINN Metro
#78 of 114 in Copenhagen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade
Inner Vesterbro
Hotel Nebo
Hotel Nebo
#51 of 114 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Wakeup Copenhagen, Borgergade
Wakeup Copenhagen, Borgergade
#30 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cabin Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cabin Express

Property: Hotel Cabin Express
Address: Danasvej 32, Frederiksberg, Copenhagen 1910, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Frederiksberg > Frederiksberg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Frederiksberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Cabin Express 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Cabin Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Cabinn Express
Cabinn Express Hotel
Hotel Cabin Express Copenhagen, Denmark

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing