We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful evening, a must try for foodies” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mielcke & Hurtigkarl

Mielcke & Hurtigkarl
Ranked #4 of 175 Restaurants in Frederiksberg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $210 - $390
Cuisines: European, Scandinavian, International, Contemporary, Fusion, Danish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Frederiksberg
Description: Gastronomic Fairy Tales – Our philosophy is to share our stories and emotions – Just like in the fairy tales you will never know what to expect. In tune with the season and the raw materials available to us at the time, we will present a string of finely crafted surprises and organic impressions at your table.“Food is a way for me to communicate emotions and tell stories. To reach people and move them. It can be technical or powerful, but only works when vulnerability is present. Taking people on a gastronomic journey around the palate and playing with the senses to really move them. The elements of nature in a series of organic impressions and tales transformed onto your plate.” - Jakob Mielcke
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful evening, a must try for foodies”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

We had the five course tasting menu with wine pairing, which was plenty of food. I struggled to finish the wines as the pouring was quite generous, more than a standard glass for each course, plus complimentary champagne ( if you get the wine pairing). All the wines were well matched, the sommelier had interesting tasting notes for each wine.

The meal took a leisurely 3 1/2 hours but they space out the food so you don't get hungry or overstuffed. Each dish was well executed, with delicious sauces and original flavour pairings.

The setting is quite special, you start off with appetisers in the garden terrace and then move inside for the main. Service was very good. Overall, an unforgettable fine dining experience, highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank numberoneislandgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    28
    8
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience recommended to high end cuisine lovers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

This restaurant is quite remarquable. It is hunting for its first Michelin star and should not be far from it. We took the Full Experience menu and were not disappointed.The wine and the food complemented each other perfectly. The very friendly Sommelier explained each wine before each course, that only added to the experience as a whole. The setting is very nice. The only downside might be other guests who came dressed casually, and some a bit too casual. Two different tables had sneakers and short pants, walking bare feet for another; this would be not too welcomed in other countries in such a high end restaurant. Eating in such a fine place should be the full package so having guests dressed like at a Sunday brunch is slightly off putting.

I would nevertheless recommend this place to anybody who would want to enjoy a delicious meal and fine cuisine that not many places in Denmark can offer.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 101Erik101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
65 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

I had the 7-course tasting menu here, and was impressed. First a series of small starters on the garden terrace, and then into the restaurant for the 7 courses. This is one of the most creative restaurants I have encountered, and I loved the way in which different international styles and ingredients were blended. Especially the Asian influences, such as the "chicken of the woods" mushroom prepared in Chinese masterstock, were unusual and wonderful.
The wine pairings at M&H are amongst the very best I have tasted in Copenhagen, on par with Geranium. Jose Santos makes some fantastic wine choices, knows his wines very well, and likes to explain about them.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marco v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
72 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“If you want the best dinner, ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

Go here and take the 7 courses. You'll get an other 7 appetizers and in combination with the excellent wines you will have the best dinner ever. Take your time and enjoy!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mauritz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
153 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“100% in top-5 in CPH”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

After visiting most of the Michelin restaurants in CPH I really do NOT understand why those french guys didnt give this restaurant its star.

Besides Geranium and Kadeau I dont think you will find anything better in Denmark.

The food was beautiful and high-end in all aspects. There was no bad or middle dishes, they where all top top beautiful.

We went for the full menu - borh wine and food and we did not regret that.

Especially the dessert with vanilla ice and beetroots was fantastic and different.

With regards to the wine menu I loved that there was only one bio dynamic wine as I really never seem to understand that. I find it very borring and dissapointing everytime I get it.

You really must go to this place if you want to spend a bit more money for a special dinner with your loved once.



Helpful?
1 Thank JessJensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mielcke & Hurtigkarl also viewed

Frederiksberg, Copenhagen
 
Frederiksberg, Copenhagen
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Mielcke & Hurtigkarl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing