We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food at large sum”

Mielcke & Hurtigkarl
Ranked #4 of 178 Restaurants in Frederiksberg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $210 - $390
Cuisines: European, Scandinavian, International, Contemporary, Fusion, Danish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Frederiksberg
Description: Gastronomic Fairy Tales – Our philosophy is to share our stories and emotions – Just like in the fairy tales you will never know what to expect. In tune with the season and the raw materials available to us at the time, we will present a string of finely crafted surprises and organic impressions at your table.“Food is a way for me to communicate emotions and tell stories. To reach people and move them. It can be technical or powerful, but only works when vulnerability is present. Taking people on a gastronomic journey around the palate and playing with the senses to really move them. The elements of nature in a series of organic impressions and tales transformed onto your plate.” - Jakob Mielcke
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good food at large sum”
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

Went with the coworkers for Xmas party dinner. Although disappointed in the location they put us in, the dinner is undeniably good and innovative. Very patient and nice service as well. If I could afford it I'd love to go back.

Helpful?
Thank baijiahuang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    32
    8
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
belfast
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“tip top tucker”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

saurday night in copenhagen and off in a bus with the gang from dentate where we were spoiled by the excellent team at this restaurant

The room is beautiful, the food gorgeous - calamari, duck, game and venison cooked to perfection with some very tasty wines

keep up the good work

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lirqalo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“An excellent gastronomical experience”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We went to Mielcke & Hurtigkarl for my husband's birthday and had the tasting menu. The meal itself lasted about 3h30 - but everything went very quickly. I lost count of how many courses we had, but every single one tasted superb.

As we weren't drinking that night, the waitress very kindly offered us a "special juices" tasting menu. All the juices were produced by the restaurant with their own produce and we had a total of 6 different drinks. It was great and something we have never had in a restaurant before!

The service was superb. The staff were very attentive and friendly, always keeping an eye to make sure everything was going well.

We had a great time and this was certainly one of the best gastronomical experiences we've ever had.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pnagashima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great wines, some interesting dishes”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

The meal featured some dishes that got mixed reactions from our crew - namely a red deer tartare that I liked and the others didn't - but overall very high quality. The highlights were the Asian inspired appetizers (Vietnamese pancakes and Peking duck) as well as a delicious dover sole served with lemon salt. Biodynamic wine pairings were unmissable and probably even better than the meal itself. One of our group took the vegetarian option and sometimes we were a bit puzzled as to why she got a different dish (did the apple ice cream have some sneaky meat in it that we didn't know about?)

This kind of thing usually doesn't bother me but I did think the decor was a bit odd, especially with the design reputation that the Danes have. The ceiling featured a Swarovski crystal explosion and the walls had leaves on them that looked like they were stick ons from Bed Bath and Beyond. Still definitely worth a visit!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KLJ82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“an evening full of romance”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

It is the food, the sounds, the light, that turned our evening in a unforgettable experience.
Absolutely wonderful!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JasmineGautier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MielckeHurtigk, Manager at Mielcke & Hurtigkarl, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for the review! We really appreciate you taking the time and we're happy to hear that you enjoyed your evening. We hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mielcke & Hurtigkarl also viewed

Frederiksberg, Copenhagen
 
Frederiksberg, Copenhagen
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Mielcke & Hurtigkarl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing