We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“art collector/foodies blown away”

Mielcke & Hurtigkarl
Ranked #5 of 182 Restaurants in Frederiksberg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $210 - $390
Cuisines: Danish, Contemporary, International, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Frederiksberg
Description: Gastronomic Fairy Tales – Our philosophy is to share our stories and emotions – Just like in the fairy tales you will never know what to expect. In tune with the season and the raw materials available to us at the time, we will present a string of finely crafted surprises and organic impressions at your table.“Food is a way for me to communicate emotions and tell stories. To reach people and move them. It can be technical or powerful, but only works when vulnerability is present. Taking people on a gastronomic journey around the palate and playing with the senses to really move them. The elements of nature in a series of organic impressions and tales transformed onto your plate.” - Jakob Mielcke
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
706 reviews
583 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
“art collector/foodies blown away”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We were a group of 12 art collector/foodies traveling together as old friends. Tonight was our first night in Copenhagen and this restaurant took our breath away. We had a private room overlooking the kitchen and watching staff working was symphonic.

The joy staff had presenting these unique, gorgeous, delicious gifts to us was palpable. Our delight was a great reward. All I can say is WOW.

We spent 3 relaxed hours catching up with each other after an afternoon overview of Copenhagen. We will be here for 3 nights and can't be more delighted.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank doug100worth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    33
    8
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Top Class”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Mielcke & Hurtigkarl is an absolutely amazing place both regarding the magnificent cooking and the place itself. They serve beautiful, innovative, tasty food and have the best sommelier personally pairing your dinner with perfectly matched wines.
Don't miss this place while in Copenhagen. They do not have a Michelin star yet but it can only be a matter of time!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Eva A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The jury is out, but pleased”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Took a large risk booking this for our group. With so many top restaurants closed in summer, M & H was one of the very few open. It was an adventure getting there from the city (we foolishly took the subway to experience - well, the subway!) It's a schelp from the city, take a cab! Or stay at the Radisson Falconer and walk to M & H.
We had the tasting Contemporary Menu. The main chefs, M & H, were in Iceland, presumably foraging for exquisite ingredients. It's an original restaurant setting, nestled in a lovely garden. Decor is quirky with funky flourishes, and all the restrooms need an individual visit (I do mean all.)
A vain, gorgeous and very cocky peacock greeted us at the door. I nearly stepped on him in full spread. (I think he's on the payroll, he was very good at what he did.)
The food. We had the tasting Contemporary Menu opening with 9 finger food starters of varied originality and success. Some were pure delight and curious discoveries (the sea brock thorn (buckthorn?) with the pine vinegar was the kind of shocker you remember. One or two items needed a little tweaking for that wow factor. But an engaging, introductory conversation to the food philosophy here.
Wonderful waitress who presented each course with panache. Main courses were ox tartar (v good), a mackerel of extremely subtle textures and flavours, excellent chantarrels, a beguiling burnt leek and a deep fried root in mussel sauce - quite intriguing. Beef dish was unusually chewy with unexpected texture and flavour and served in a puddle of beetroot & veal tongue sauce (I think, the wine was kicking in). It created a rather cave-man experience - bloody raw beef oozing more blood as you cut into it - jolly good! All the sauces were original and provocative.
A medley of young chefs emerged from the kitchen to serve our party. It was rather festive and good fun. Solid wine list, and since it's Copenhagen, pricey. The sommelier slightly resembles Jean Paul Belmondo on a work day - he will guide you through the price forest. Trust him. Be shameless about your price limit and trust him.
I'm glad we dined here. Some of the Oriental flourishes didn't quite hit the mark, but we like surprises and the unexpected borderline weirdness chefs venture into. M & H is not an unknown planet, but the creativity in the kitchen deserves exploration and greater familiarity. Well done.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank selective007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Too posh for it's own good.”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Having been there twice, I am now convinced that this place is not worth the prices.

First time we ended up joking with the neighboring table that the kitchen was having an off day.

2nd time was ok, but absolutely no more. The sommelier advised us to add salt to the food because "the kitchen doesn't believe the food should have any taste", and this was healthy advise.

What we got was very picturesque dishes that didn't really have any interesting taste. It wasn't bad in any way, but there are many restaurants in Copenhagen that provide far greater experiences at the same price range.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank UnityNich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“An evening to remember”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We visited this fine restaurant one july summer evening and had the restaurant almost for ourselves, there was only 2 other couples that evening.

The room is beautiful and fits good with the placement of the restaurant in the frederiksberg garden.

Garden is definately the concept of the place, herbs, flowers, vegetables, so many of these fetched directly from the surrounding gardens.

We had one of the most exciting menus in a long time, with focus on the best of breed vegetables, herbs, meat and fish of the season.

A starter of 8 small dishes with champagne, followed by all in all 13 more dishes afterwards ( including cheese ).

It was a journey through the imaginative kitchen where french meet nordic meet asian.

Expensive, but worth it

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shartvig_1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mielcke & Hurtigkarl also viewed

Frederiksberg, Copenhagen
 
Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 
Frederiksberg, Copenhagen
Frederiksberg, Copenhagen
 

Been to Mielcke & Hurtigkarl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing