We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor customer service”
Review of Hotel Happy Star

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Happy Star
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Znojmo
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor customer service”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We have booked in for a massage in the wellness centre and specified several times that we want a massage for my husband and myself for the same time, so that we don't have to wait for one another. This was confirmed to us. When we turned up, the masseur was late and asked us who would like to be first. We have explained that we have booked 2 massages for the same time. We were then told by the masseur that there was a misunderstanding and that he has nothing to do with the mix up. We were really upset as we had organised childcare exactly for the time of the massage and couldn't prolong it. They had no courtesy to let us know of the change or to offer any form of compensation. It seemed to us as thought they knew perfectly well that this was to be 2 massages booked for the same time, but the other masseur had left early or had been double booked. Appalling!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    12
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
17
32
Solo
0
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Lodi, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

Hotel Happy Star was a great home base to explore Moravia. South of Znojmo and just across the border from Austria, it is modern, clean and comfortable. It is a welcome respite from big city touring with great views of surrounding vineyards, and local wineries around for sampling - be sure to have a designated driver, though, since Czech law has a zero tolerance policy for drink driving - the max permissible blood alcohol content is 0.0%! Or use this hotel as a base for cycle touring in the warmer months.

Staff are welcoming and friendly. Check-in/-out process efficient and straightforward. Good breakfast buffet. On site bar and restaurant look nice, but we ate out both nights in town. In room minibar is stocked, and prices very reasonable for beer and local wine.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin H, Manager at Hotel Happy Star, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you for your review and we look forward to you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Everything in this hotel is excellent for us. And everything we need is in this hotel. Smaller hotel in the country, a few km from Znojmo and 1 km from Austria borderline. Very friendly staff - from smiling receptionist thru waiters, masseurs, beauticians etc. to chambermaids. Really - in Czechia a little suprising... ;)

Our experience is repeated. Full recomendation for everybody.

Team ppsycho.eu
Psychotherapy clinic, Prague 4

Room Tip: Better are rooms with odd number - on the east side. They are more quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petr P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Our friends picked this venue for their wedding as well as for accommodation for their guests, many of whom had travelled from overseas. Our room was big enough and clean and our 8 month old baby had her own mattress placed on the floor next to our bed.
The restaurant was good, especially the outdoor area overlooking the beautiful greens. We had breakfast and dinner there and it was priced very well.
We had a walk around the hotel as well and loved the facilities it offered, although we didn't get to try any during our short stay there.
The wedding reception was held in a function room just across from reception and was quite close to our room, which was very convenient for our baby who needed changing and went to sleep in the evening. Plenty of food and drinks were had throughout the night and we truly had a beautiful time with the couple and all the other wedding guests.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JIG80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Both accomodation and kitchen are at very good level. Perfect swimming pool, fitness, bowling, wine cellar ... It is not so many places in Czech republic with such a good service and overall feeling as in Happy Star.
Recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 8614janb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 9, 2013

This hotel was a very pleasant surprise for us, we expected less from three star hotel in a rural location. This hotel looks like it has just been built, everything is very clean and tidy. The staff is also very friendly and helpful - all in all, everything works here.
Our room was very nice, with enough space. I especially appreciated the presence of a practical workplace for my laptop (=suitable chair and table and wifi with no extra charge), which is not that good everywhere and also bathroom was surprisingly spacious with large enough shower. The room also has LCD TV, air condition and outer blinds. We had a room with window to inner garden, which was nice to look at, although at night the frogs around the pond were quite noisy (solved by plastic windows + air condition).
Restaurant is very nice too, with outer terrace (breakfasting there was a delight). Prices are very reasonable and quality of food very good (we had czech classic - fried cheese, also some pork and trout on garlic, all very tasty), although the portions are IMHO too large. :-) As for the drinks, Znojmo is a land of wine and they offer lots of kinds here. My girlfriend tasted some and was very satisfied. Me, I am not much into wine, but rather beer, which in this case was Pilsner 12°, so everything OK here too. :-)
We had a wellness pack, so we had massage bathtub, infrasauna and massage included. I would recommend all (massage prices here seem to me very low compared to Prague, where I live), especially infrasauna was surprisingly good. I was in infrasauna just once before in Slovenia and it made bad impression on me, but this one was different, very intensive and smelled nicely. Besides this, I think every guest can freely go to pool area, which is also very good and includes hot round whirlpool. There is also sauna, but we weren't inside since we had infrasauna.
We stayed for two nights and haven't really left the hotel except for shopping in Freeport Hatě (duty free shops and outlet stores a couple of km from the hotel), so I can't talk much about the surroundings, but the hotel itself is very nice and I would recommend it to anyone without hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan_Smidak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed in this hotel with our 2 small kids in one of their appartments. The appartment was well-equipped (modern furniture, 2 flat screens, huge bathroom, electronic external curtains) Our kids loved the garden, huge bathtub in the room and the outdoor kids playground - especially the jumping trampoline.The staff were smiley and helpful. We could borrow small scooters for us and our kids for free - these are available at the lobby at all times.
The food was definitely above average with low-priced daily specials even at the weekends.
What hotel would serve you vanilla puddings with cream as an option at breakfast?
Hotel Happy Star is simply an excellent hotel which deserves at least 4 stars. Higly recommend it for vacations.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, go for the appartment room. It is a treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lukas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Znojmo
4.0 mi away
Hotel Savannah
Hotel Savannah
#2 of 7 in Znojmo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
4.7 mi away
Boutique Hotel Katerina
4.7 mi away
Hotel Lahofer
Hotel Lahofer
#3 of 7 in Znojmo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
PREMIUM hotel
PREMIUM hotel
#5 of 7 in Znojmo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Bermuda Znojmo
Hotel Bermuda Znojmo
#6 of 7 in Znojmo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
19.0 mi away
Therme Laa - Hotel & Spa
Therme Laa - Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Laa an der Thaya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Happy Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Happy Star

Property: Hotel Happy Star
Address: Znojemska 111, Znojmo 669 02, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Moravia > South Moravian Region > Znojmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Znojmo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Happy Star 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Happy Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing