We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellant”
Review of River Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ashford-in-the-Water
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
River Cottage
Certificate of Excellence
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellant”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Had one night here on our way back from the New Forest. I can't find words to describe this tranquil oasis. This is one place we will certainly be visiting again. The hosts Gilly and John were exceptionally welcoming and friendly. Nothing is too much trouble and they have thought of everything to make your stay extremely comfortable. Breakfast was amazing, home made bread and jams along with locally sourced bacon, sausage and black pudding. The walk to the village is lovely. We ate in The Bulls Head, the food was very good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    14
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
177
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed at river cottage for 2 nights on 6th Aug .On arrival we was met by john and gilly , what excellent hosts . The bedroom was very comfortable and clean with a very modern en-suit .
The choice at breakfast was excellent and the full english is a must .The river which runs at the bottom of the garden makes it a nice relaxing area to sit in the evening and feed the trout . Overall an excellent stay and would highly recommend this B&B .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed at river cottage in July for 2 nights. Gilly was a excellent host and offered drinks when arrived after some major delays on the motorway and could see my Partner was Distressed! The room was very large and very clean with very big bathroom with walk in Rain Shower. We also had a fan in the room to help keep it cool in this hot weather we was having at the time. The B&B is just off the A6 but after 6:30 in the evening the road the rooms are all on is very Quiet! My Partner and i had very good night sleeps here in very Comfortable bed! The breakfast is excellent in the Cosy breakfast room with a very large choice of cook to order hot breakfast all with local Source Produce or a good choice of cereal etc. The B&B is great Location for exploring the local area and great choice of pubs in the area, Recommend the White Lion in Great Longstore who Managed to fit us in on a Saturday night Even though we had not booked a table. Great service and food! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and wish it was Longer and I will be staying there again!

Room Tip: The Superior Double Room is Worth every Penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjholton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driebergen, Utrecht, Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed at river cottage in July for 4 nights. John and Gilly were excellent hosts, very friendly and hospitable! The room was cosy and with triple glazing no problem from noise. Good beds, power shower. beds made every morning and towels replaced. The breakfasts excellent. The garden up to the river where you can feed trout. Walking distance to some wonderful village pubs. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
210 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed here recently with friends and found the place excellent and John & Gilly very welcoming. The rooms were beautiful and very clean, the breakfast was good and the setting nice. The only downside is the proximity of the A6 which can be heard from the garden. However you soon don't notice it and the bedrooms are not affected by the road. We would definitely recommend this as a good place to stay in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve_wendy181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We had another fantastic stay at River Cottage. The room was fantastic, the breakfast lovely and as for the noise from the road, we never heard a thing. The peak district and all it has to offer is at your finger tips which just makes this place even better. Thanks Gilly and John for your hospitality.

Room Tip: We love room 3 as the bathroom is across the hall but room 1 is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brenontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at River Cottage last year. I was seduced by the photos and the promise of great home cooking when I booked it. We got all that and more! The accommodation was an eclectic mix of French chic in the bedroom and modern minimalist in the stylish bathroom. Our hosts were genial and generous. The food was great but what sold me was the location. A fabulous view overlooking the stream, where you can feed the trout and ducks with bread supplied by John or Gilly. One of the ducks had built her nest next to the access door to the guests' accommodation and, apart from the occasional trip to get food, she sat on her eggs throughout our stay. River Cottage is a wonderful base from which to visit Bakewell, Chatsworth and all that the Peak District has to offer. We are looking forward to our next visit!

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikerob730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashford-in-the-Water
1.7 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
378 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
2.2 mi away
The Lathkil Hotel
The Lathkil Hotel
#1 of 1 in Over Haddon
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
677 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riverside House Hotel
Riverside House Hotel
#2 of 4 in Ashford-in-the-Water
211 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Devonshire Arms at Beeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Cottage

Property: River Cottage
Address: River Cottage Buxton Road, Ashford-in-the-Water, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1QP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell > Ashford-in-the-Water
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ashford-in-the-Water
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — River Cottage 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We now offer this awarding wining property as an exclusive use self catering cottage in Ashford-in-the-Water, arguably the prettiest village in the Peak District National Park. Perfect for large groups accommodating up to 20 guests. Beautiful riverside location, a stroll away and stunning walks from the front door. 10 minutes from Chatsworth House, 5 minutes from Haddon Hall and at the start of the Monsal Trail. Spend lazy afternoons sitting by the river feeding the trout, or come and walk the trails. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
River Cottage Hotel Ashford-In-The-Water
River Cottage Peak District National Park/Ashford-In-The-Water, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing