We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay”
Review of River Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
River Cottage
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We had another fantastic stay at River Cottage. The room was fantastic, the breakfast lovely and as for the noise from the road, we never heard a thing. The peak district and all it has to offer is at your finger tips which just makes this place even better. Thanks Gilly and John for your hospitality.

Room Tip: We love room 3 as the bathroom is across the hall but room 1 is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brenontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 218 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed at River Cottage last year. I was seduced by the photos and the promise of great home cooking when I booked it. We got all that and more! The accommodation was an eclectic mix of French chic in the bedroom and modern minimalist in the stylish bathroom. Our hosts were genial and generous. The food was great but what sold me was the location. A fabulous view overlooking the stream, where you can feed the trout and ducks with bread supplied by John or Gilly. One of the ducks had built her nest next to the access door to the guests' accommodation and, apart from the occasional trip to get food, she sat on her eggs throughout our stay. River Cottage is a wonderful base from which to visit Bakewell, Chatsworth and all that the Peak District has to offer. We are looking forward to our next visit!

Stayed: August 2012
1  Thank Mikerob730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed here for two nights in May and we too had the best room. The welcome from John and Gilly in to their beautiful home was memorable and we felt at ease immediately. This boutique b&b most certainly deserves all of the positive reviews it receives. We could not have faulted it in any way - extremely clean, very tasteful decor throughout and a delightful garden, all encapsulated by caring, friendly, knowledgeable and professional hosts. Absolutely delicious breakfast cooked and served to perfection. River Cottage is perfectly situated on the edge of the village and so close to many beautiful walks and site seeing destinations. All in all we had a most wonderful stay and will be returning soon. For an evening meal, The Bull in the village is a must.

Room Tip: We booked the most expensive room and did not experience any traffic noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I stayed here on 4th&5th June in,I think, the best room. I can only endorse what everyone else who has stayed this year has said. I can confirm that noise from the nearby road does not seem to be a problem. The furnishings and level of comfort are top quality. John and Gilly are thoughtful and professional hosts-for instance there is an umbrella stand inside the door from which you can help yourself in case of need.Even though it was June the central heating was on if required. The traditional cooked breakfast was plentiful and tasty.
We ate at The Bull's Head-top quality pub food with an unexpectedly good wine list.
I hope to stay at River Cottage again

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChristoffSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

River Cottage is beautifully situated. Our room was elegant and the bathroom was super. Breakfast was fantastic. Our hosts were very friendly and helpful, giving us good advice on dining options and sights to see.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LJSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Our first and certainly not our last visit. John and Gilly are perfect hosts making us so welcome on arrival.the room was very comfortable and with lovely views of the river and garden ,The breakfast really good with all local produce.
We will be recomending River cottage to our friends in Portugal as the perfect place to stay to explore Derbyshire and visit Chatsworth
Barrie & Denise Coombe

Room Tip: room 1 ensuite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QuatroChamines4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Thank you Gilly & John for another lovely time with you at your cottage.

Our room 1 was huge (especially the bathroom) and immaculate and had everything you could wish for to make our stay just perfect. Having the fridge close by for chilling our wine etc. is great!

Anyone visiting this wonderful cottage and its location will not be disappointed. We had beautiful walks at Tideswell and also Dovedale - this is a must! Please try and visit the Bull's Head Inn in the village - Plenty of food choice, excellent value and Debbie is the perfect host. The Italian in Bakewell (6 minutes drive away or get a taxi) is also worth a visit.

Thanks again all - we will be back and hopefully we will not have to leave it 3 more years.......

Rob & Sally
Stevenage
Hertfordshire

Room Tip: We have stayed in rooms 1 and 4. Room 1 is bigger with a huge bathroom. They are all nice for sure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashford-in-the-Water
1.7 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
421 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
9.3 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
728 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riverside House Hotel
Riverside House Hotel
#2 of 4 in Ashford-in-the-Water
238 reviews
3.3 mi away
Holly Cottage B&B
Holly Cottage B&B
#2 of 2 in Pilsley
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Cottage

Address: River Cottage Buxton Road, Ashford-in-the-Water, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1QP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell > Ashford-in-the-Water
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ashford-in-the-Water
Price Range: $110 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — River Cottage 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We now offer this awarding wining property as an exclusive use self catering cottage in Ashford-in-the-Water, arguably the prettiest village in the Peak District National Park. Perfect for large groups accommodating up to 20 guests. Beautiful riverside location, a stroll away and stunning walks from the front door. 10 minutes from Chatsworth House, 5 minutes from Haddon Hall and at the start of the Monsal Trail. Spend lazy afternoons sitting by the river feeding the trout, or come and walk the trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your River Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Cottage Hotel Ashford-In-The-Water
River Cottage Peak District National Park/Ashford-In-The-Water, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing