We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B, close to Chatsworth and Haddon Hall”
Review of River Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
River Cottage
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2013

River Cottage is beautifully situated. Our room was elegant and the bathroom was super. Breakfast was fantastic. Our hosts were very friendly and helpful, giving us good advice on dining options and sights to see.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LJSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 218 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2013

Our first and certainly not our last visit. John and Gilly are perfect hosts making us so welcome on arrival.the room was very comfortable and with lovely views of the river and garden ,The breakfast really good with all local produce.
We will be recomending River cottage to our friends in Portugal as the perfect place to stay to explore Derbyshire and visit Chatsworth
Barrie & Denise Coombe

Room Tip: room 1 ensuite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QuatroChamines4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Thank you Gilly & John for another lovely time with you at your cottage.

Our room 1 was huge (especially the bathroom) and immaculate and had everything you could wish for to make our stay just perfect. Having the fridge close by for chilling our wine etc. is great!

Anyone visiting this wonderful cottage and its location will not be disappointed. We had beautiful walks at Tideswell and also Dovedale - this is a must! Please try and visit the Bull's Head Inn in the village - Plenty of food choice, excellent value and Debbie is the perfect host. The Italian in Bakewell (6 minutes drive away or get a taxi) is also worth a visit.

Thanks again all - we will be back and hopefully we will not have to leave it 3 more years.......

Rob & Sally
Stevenage
Hertfordshire

Room Tip: We have stayed in rooms 1 and 4. Room 1 is bigger with a huge bathroom. They are all nice for sure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Lovely B&B run by a lovely couple in a lovely area. John and Gilly make you most welcome, even before you get there you feel as if you know them well.

Our room was perfect, perhaps the only complaint is that the bathroom was on the small side but we managed.

The gardens are very pretty and we sat there a couple of times having a glass of wine watching the river.

As mentioned by previous reviewers, the breakfast was beautifully cooked and was thoroughly enjoyed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunandmoon10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

John and Gilly are great hosts, making their guests welcome in every way. Super, freshly cooked breakfast, comfortable rooms with all conveniences, beautiful setting - what more could you want.

Set in a pretty village with a few local shops and a great pub (The Bulls Head) that serves delicious evening meals all within walking distance.

John and Gilly are happy to suggest the best walks in the area, of which there are many and can be reached without a car. Nearby is Chatsworth House - definitely worth spending a day visiting House, Gardens and Shop.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hedvig55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

This delightful B&B is by far the best we have experienced - anywhere. Spotlessly clean, tastefully furnished bedroom with luxury en-suite facilities. John and Gilly made us very welcome and served us the most delicious breakfasts, together with their home produced jams and bread. Would most definitely return and highly recommend to others.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindsey s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We cannot return soon enough, every moment and every detail from when we arrive to our departure was perfect, John and gill's hospitality and attention to detail is for others to aspire to, John's local knowledge totally incredible and something to behold.

We will be highly recommending this place to this place to all our friends and family.

The home baked bread and preserves together with the carefully selected produce used for breakfast make for the perfect start to any day.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CCSth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashford-in-the-Water
1.7 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
423 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
9.3 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
732 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riverside House Hotel
Riverside House Hotel
#2 of 4 in Ashford-in-the-Water
238 reviews
3.3 mi away
Holly Cottage B&B
Holly Cottage B&B
#2 of 2 in Pilsley
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Cottage

Address: River Cottage Buxton Road, Ashford-in-the-Water, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1QP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell > Ashford-in-the-Water
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ashford-in-the-Water
Price Range: $111 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — River Cottage 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We now offer this awarding wining property as an exclusive use self catering cottage in Ashford-in-the-Water, arguably the prettiest village in the Peak District National Park. Perfect for large groups accommodating up to 20 guests. Beautiful riverside location, a stroll away and stunning walks from the front door. 10 minutes from Chatsworth House, 5 minutes from Haddon Hall and at the start of the Monsal Trail. Spend lazy afternoons sitting by the river feeding the trout, or come and walk the trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your River Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Cottage Hotel Ashford-In-The-Water
River Cottage Peak District National Park/Ashford-In-The-Water, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing