We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B, Highly Recommended”
Review of River Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
River Cottage
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Lovely B&B run by a lovely couple in a lovely area. John and Gilly make you most welcome, even before you get there you feel as if you know them well.

Our room was perfect, perhaps the only complaint is that the bathroom was on the small side but we managed.

The gardens are very pretty and we sat there a couple of times having a glass of wine watching the river.

As mentioned by previous reviewers, the breakfast was beautifully cooked and was thoroughly enjoyed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunandmoon10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 218 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2013

John and Gilly are great hosts, making their guests welcome in every way. Super, freshly cooked breakfast, comfortable rooms with all conveniences, beautiful setting - what more could you want.

Set in a pretty village with a few local shops and a great pub (The Bulls Head) that serves delicious evening meals all within walking distance.

John and Gilly are happy to suggest the best walks in the area, of which there are many and can be reached without a car. Nearby is Chatsworth House - definitely worth spending a day visiting House, Gardens and Shop.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hedvig55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

This delightful B&B is by far the best we have experienced - anywhere. Spotlessly clean, tastefully furnished bedroom with luxury en-suite facilities. John and Gilly made us very welcome and served us the most delicious breakfasts, together with their home produced jams and bread. Would most definitely return and highly recommend to others.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindsey s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We cannot return soon enough, every moment and every detail from when we arrive to our departure was perfect, John and gill's hospitality and attention to detail is for others to aspire to, John's local knowledge totally incredible and something to behold.

We will be highly recommending this place to this place to all our friends and family.

The home baked bread and preserves together with the carefully selected produce used for breakfast make for the perfect start to any day.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CCSth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

To refer to River Cottage as "a lovely B&B" is akin to calling Chatsworth a pretty weekend house in the country. The reference simply does not do justice to the sublime setting and level of taste and sophistication of the decor within and the landscaping without. It's greatest amenity, however, is the genuine warmth of the welcome and the unstinting hospitality so graciously provided by proprietors John & Gillian. If--WHEN--we revisit Derbyshire, we will definitely return to River Cottage for our "base of operations," even if we have to structure our travel dates to accommodate our preferred accommodations!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SDedalus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Spent 3 days here and enjoyed it unreservedly. Would definitely return. The rooms are beautifully decorated with some lovely touches & the hosts are excellent company with lots of useful advice on places to eat and walks to take. Breakfast could keep you going all day. Superb location next to the river and so relaxing to sit there drinking tea and watching the trout. Really well placed for walking. Some good eateries nearby. Bliss.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VioletEngland48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

just back from a 2 night stay & we loved the place! Good sized comfy bedroom with a very large ensuite in a pretty cottage with a lovely riverside garden. The main road definitely does not detract from the picturesque location. Gilly & John are delightful hosts & their breakfasts are tasty & plentiful. We will return!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robotmanWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashford-in-the-Water
1.7 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
413 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
4.4 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riverside House Hotel
Riverside House Hotel
#2 of 4 in Ashford-in-the-Water
234 reviews
3.3 mi away
Holly Cottage B&B
Holly Cottage B&B
#2 of 2 in Pilsley
225 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Devonshire Arms at Beeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Cottage

Address: River Cottage Buxton Road, Ashford-in-the-Water, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1QP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell > Ashford-in-the-Water
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ashford-in-the-Water
Price Range: $107 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — River Cottage 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We now offer this awarding wining property as an exclusive use self catering cottage in Ashford-in-the-Water, arguably the prettiest village in the Peak District National Park. Perfect for large groups accommodating up to 20 guests. Beautiful riverside location, a stroll away and stunning walks from the front door. 10 minutes from Chatsworth House, 5 minutes from Haddon Hall and at the start of the Monsal Trail. Spend lazy afternoons sitting by the river feeding the trout, or come and walk the trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your River Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Cottage Hotel Ashford-In-The-Water
River Cottage Peak District National Park/Ashford-In-The-Water, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing