We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and friendly B&B”
Review of River Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
River Cottage
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed for two nights as a couple. The bedroom and bathroom were both clean and well furnished, the latter including all the extra items easily forgotten on a trip away. Breakfast was excellent.

The hosts were very friendly and accommodating indeed, nothing seemed too much trouble. A very enjoyable stay indeed.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank EPJ_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 218 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2012

This was our third visit to River Cottage and one of the best short breaks my husband and I have had! Gilly and John are so welcoming and it was lovely to be back in the stunning surroundings, with the river at the bottom of the pretty garden and the immaculate bedroom (with Laura Ashley furnishings) and a great big shower! The breakfasts are fantastic, made with locally sourced produce and cooked to perfection... and the homemade jam is just excellent (particularly the Raspberry Jam - I could have devoured the whole pot in one sitting!!) We had three great days; cycling the Monsal Trail, visiting Bakewell and Chatsworth. The White Lion pub at Great Longstone (just a five minute drive away) is excellent and well worth a visit. The Hassop Station Cafe was also a great find whilst cycling the Monsal Trail! We really cannot recommend River Cottage highly enough, it's a fantastic boutique bed and breakfast with excellent hosts who go out of their way to ensure you have a great holiday. We look forward to returning next year!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Mrs_Poppy_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

My husband and I spent a wonderful three nights at River Cottage. We have stayed in many bed and breakfasts over our 30 years of marriage, but I have to say, this was the cleanest b&b we've ever stayed in. John and Gilly are absolutely the most welcoming hosts! Breakfast each morning was fabu! We were within walking distance of a couple of pubs as well, so if you have a few too many pints, no worries. If we ever go back to England, we will definitely stay at River Cottage again!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TEF805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We have recently spent a 3 day break at this lovely B & B . it is set on the edge of a very pretty village with 2 pubs within a few minutes walk.The room was very comfortable and tastefully furnished with a very spacious and modern bathroom with excellent shower. The breakfasts were delicious and freshly prepared with local ingredients and home baked bread. John & Gilly are friendly hosts and set a very high standard both for their accomodation and their level of customer service. The cottage is located in a lovely area and is a great location either for sight seeing or walking which ever option you prefer. Chatsworth House is only a short drive away so lots to do and see. An ideal spot for an adult getaway from every day life.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank the_flints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

John & Gilly perfectly balanced the art of being welcoming but not intrusive. The River Cottage is a perfectly formed idyllic B&B. Breakfast was quite simply perfect, without room for improvement. It should be noted that the A6 runs very close to the cottage but hand on heart, it made not a jot of difference to our stay. Well placed near the wonderful Bakewell town, easy reach of cycle trails (The Monsal Head) and walks abound. Cheap bike hire nearby made it so easy it's not worth bring your own unless you live nearby. Shall be returning in the winter months for sure. If wi-fi connctivity is crucial be aware that its hard to maintain a line in your bedroom) Thank you both for opening your wonderful home to us and lending your valuable local knowledge! Marco.

Room Tip: Luxury room overlooking the gardens is beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcoBenincasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This accommodation was perfect - excellent room and very friendly hosts. Nothing was too much trouble. We were even given bread to feed the trout in the river at the bottom of their garden, where there was a pretty seating area. The village and surrounding area are very nice, and there are some lovely walks from the cottage along the river. Would highly recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynncSwanland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We have just spent three wonderful days at Gill & John's beautiful River Cottage. The house itself was in a lovely setting beside the river where Gill brought us a glass of wine and nibbles, just after our arrival, and also a slice of bread, home baked, to feed the trout with which created a fascinating scene as they leapt out of the water to catch the pieces of bread we threw for them. Our bedroom was delightfully furnished and accessorised, very tastefully, all down to Gill with an en suite which was so spotless and perfect it looked as if it had never been used before, with a lovely large shower and supplied with all the toiletries you would ever need on your stay. A communal fridge with fresh milk, and somewhere to keep wine chilled, was always available as were leaflets brochures, books, recommendations for places to eat, walk run & visit which Gill & John were always available to talk to us about. Breakfast was a feast, which Gill cooked to perfection, with home made bread and jams, and the food mostly locally sourced. Their hospitality was unsurpassed and we can only highly recommend that you visit them and enjoy your stay while visiting all the local tourist attractions and walks such as Chatsworth etc.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fenisia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashford-in-the-Water
1.7 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
422 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
9.3 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
730 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riverside House Hotel
Riverside House Hotel
#2 of 4 in Ashford-in-the-Water
238 reviews
3.3 mi away
Holly Cottage B&B
Holly Cottage B&B
#2 of 2 in Pilsley
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Cottage

Address: River Cottage Buxton Road, Ashford-in-the-Water, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1QP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell > Ashford-in-the-Water
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ashford-in-the-Water
Price Range: $111 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — River Cottage 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We now offer this awarding wining property as an exclusive use self catering cottage in Ashford-in-the-Water, arguably the prettiest village in the Peak District National Park. Perfect for large groups accommodating up to 20 guests. Beautiful riverside location, a stroll away and stunning walks from the front door. 10 minutes from Chatsworth House, 5 minutes from Haddon Hall and at the start of the Monsal Trail. Spend lazy afternoons sitting by the river feeding the trout, or come and walk the trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your River Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Cottage Hotel Ashford-In-The-Water
River Cottage Peak District National Park/Ashford-In-The-Water, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing