We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect in every way!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Old Bakery Cottage

Old Bakery Cottage, Ashford-in-the-Water
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Old Bakery Cottage, Ashford-in-the-Water
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
89 reviews
Old Bakery Cottage, Ashford-in-the-Water
6 Seater Dinning - Adjacent to the main lounge
6 Seater Dinning - Adjacent to the main lounge
Fully Equipped Country Kitchen
Utility Room, with Washer and Dryer and Fridge Freezer
Luxury Bathroom, with large bath and rain shower
Luxury Bathroom, with large bath and rain shower
Luxury Bathroom, with large bath and rain shower
Master Double Bedroom
Second Double Bedroom
Second Double Bedroom
Light and bright upper landing
Sitting out area and summer room
Bifold doors out to the private courtyard garden
Ashford in the Water Bridge
Ashford in the Water Church
Ashford in the Water Bridge
Near by Bakewell
Near by Chatsworth House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Ashford-in-the-Water, Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 89 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Littlebev
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way!”
Reviewed October 30, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

This was the perfect little cottage for our getaway in Derbyshire! Exactly as it looked in the photos, clean, well appointed, extremely comfortable and cosy. We felt at home as soon as we entered the property. The bottle of fizz and chocolates was a very welcoming touch. Ashford in the water is very pretty and with an excellent restaurant at The Riverside Hotel and a great pub, The Bull’s Head, just two minutes walk from the cottage, we couldn’t have chosen a better place to stay! There are lots of walks in the surrounding area, Bakewell the nearest town, with Buxton only 25 minutes away, Chartwell and Haddon Hall within 10-15 minutes drive away, there was plenty for us to do.
I would certainly recommend Liam’s cottage to anyone who values cleanliness and comfort. It was charmingly well presented, with a pretty courtyard garden which would have been lovely to have had a coffee/tea in after a day’s walking but unfortunately we didn’t quite have the weather and we can’t blame Liam for that

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 11, 2017
Thank you so much for the kind review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Old Bakery. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Regards, LF
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy W
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
“Lovely comfortable cottage in great location”
Reviewed October 13, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Great traditional cottage, very modern with fabulous bathroom and good kitchen. Outdoor area an excellent feature, lovely for a sunny day. Located in a beautiful village with good amenities and very close to lots of fantastic countryside walks and attractions.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 13, 2017
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the review. We hope to
welcome you again soon. Regards, LF
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolpavl...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Wonderful homely cottage”
Reviewed October 5, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

This is a wonderful cottage in the most convenient location to travel around the Peak District and Derbyshire.
The cottage is immaculate, and has everything you need for a stay.
The kitchen is well thought out and there is also a washer and dryer for your use.
We were left a bottle of wine and some chocolates, which we appreciated.
The lounge and dining area is reall comfortable, felt like home.
Large television and books and games in the cupboard.
I loved the little courtyard which has a lovely little table and chairs to sit out on nice evenings. The beds were really good and the bathroom is fabulous .
Stairs a bit strep but it is a 200 year old cottage. Expected that.
Liam the owner was very helpful with anything we emailed him with. He was always prompt with his answers.
Two pubs and a cafe and shop in the village were the icing on the cake.
Loved it

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 7, 2017
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Old Bakery Cottage. Thank you for the kind review, we hope to welcome you again in the future. Kind Regards, LF
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma l
1 review
“Peak District walks”
Reviewed September 26, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

This cottage was more than you can ask for. It was tastefully decorated and Liam had put so much thought into what was provided. The location of Ashford in the water is superb for exploring all of the Peak District.
I would highly recommend to absolutely anyone.
We loved it and can't Thank Liam enough for owning such a lovely home.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 30, 2017
Thanks for the great review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and that you liked what we had done to the cottage. Hopefully we can welcome you again soon. Regards, LF
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 30, 2017
Thank you. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay. Looking forward to welcoming you again soon. Regards, LF
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
jackiebir...
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Well-appointed, comfortable cottage.”
Reviewed September 11, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Well-appointed and comfortable cottage. (My husband was particularly impressed with the oak doors!) We had everything we needed. The village was lovely and perfectly situated for exploring the Peak District.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 13, 2017
Thank you for the kind review. We are pleased you enjoyed our cottage and we're looking forward to welcoming you again soon. Regards, LF
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosalind...
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful cottage in a lovely little village.”
Reviewed September 3, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This beautiful cottage was in the setting of a very pretty village, only a short drive from Bakewell. It was a real home from home with everything required for a very comfortable stay. It is ideally placed for exploring the Peak District and was a lovely base to come back to after a long day of exploring, I would highly recommend this cottage to anyone. Thanks for having us Liam.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 4, 2017
It was our pleasure. We are so pleased you enjoyed our cottage. Thanks and we look forward to welcoming you again soon. Regards, LF
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing