We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peak District walks”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Old Bakery Cottage

Old Bakery Cottage, Ashford-in-the-Water
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Old Bakery Cottage, Ashford-in-the-Water
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
89 reviews
Old Bakery Cottage, Ashford-in-the-Water
6 Seater Dinning - Adjacent to the main lounge
6 Seater Dinning - Adjacent to the main lounge
Fully Equipped Country Kitchen
Utility Room, with Washer and Dryer and Fridge Freezer
Luxury Bathroom, with large bath and rain shower
Luxury Bathroom, with large bath and rain shower
Luxury Bathroom, with large bath and rain shower
Master Double Bedroom
Second Double Bedroom
Second Double Bedroom
Light and bright upper landing
Sitting out area and summer room
Bifold doors out to the private courtyard garden
Ashford in the Water Bridge
Ashford in the Water Church
Ashford in the Water Bridge
Near by Bakewell
Near by Chatsworth House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Ashford-in-the-Water, Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 89 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Emma l
1 review
“Peak District walks”
Reviewed September 26, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

This cottage was more than you can ask for. It was tastefully decorated and Liam had put so much thought into what was provided. The location of Ashford in the water is superb for exploring all of the Peak District.
I would highly recommend to absolutely anyone.
We loved it and can't Thank Liam enough for owning such a lovely home.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 30, 2017
Thanks for the great review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and that you liked what we had done to the cottage. Hopefully we can welcome you again soon. Regards, LF
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 30, 2017
Thank you. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay. Looking forward to welcoming you again soon. Regards, LF
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
jackiebir...
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Well-appointed, comfortable cottage.”
Reviewed September 11, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Well-appointed and comfortable cottage. (My husband was particularly impressed with the oak doors!) We had everything we needed. The village was lovely and perfectly situated for exploring the Peak District.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 13, 2017
Thank you for the kind review. We are pleased you enjoyed our cottage and we're looking forward to welcoming you again soon. Regards, LF
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosalind...
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful cottage in a lovely little village.”
Reviewed September 3, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This beautiful cottage was in the setting of a very pretty village, only a short drive from Bakewell. It was a real home from home with everything required for a very comfortable stay. It is ideally placed for exploring the Peak District and was a lovely base to come back to after a long day of exploring, I would highly recommend this cottage to anyone. Thanks for having us Liam.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 4, 2017
It was our pleasure. We are so pleased you enjoyed our cottage. Thanks and we look forward to welcoming you again soon. Regards, LF
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdeNichol...
1 review
“Mr”
Reviewed November 15, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

A perfect little cottage! Warm, cosy and quiet. Everything was thought off to make you feel at home. Decor was spot on, beds comfy and the bathroom was fantastic. We loved the local village, Bakewell and Chatsworth were amazing. Shall be back next year, thank you for making our stay perfect!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 17, 2016
Thank you so much for the kind review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your time at the Old Bakery Cottage. It’s great to get such nice feedback. Hopefully we can welcome you again soon. Regards, LF
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tash V
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“Idyllic, peaceful cottage in such a beautiful village”
Reviewed November 15, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Well, what can I say? This cottage was perfect in every way. I had such a peaceful break and the family loved it. So much to do all around too. We visited Haddon Hall, had a lovely walk from the village to Bakewell along the river, Matlock Bath and the Heights of Abraham, Chatsworth, Buxton, Tideswell, Castleton. There's no place like the Peak District. Thanks to the owners, who were top class. Really recommend if you want a holiday to remember!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 17, 2016
Wow, thank you for the great review. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed your time in the Peaks and the Old Bakery Cottage. Thanks again for choosing us for your stay and we really hope we can welcome you again. Regards, LF
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The relaxed atmosphere of the village
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 10, 2016
Thank you for such a kind review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at the cottage and that the weather stay good and allowed you to explore the wonderful peaks! We look forward to welcoming you again soon! Kind Regards, LF
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing