We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Miss”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Old Bakery Cottage

Old Bakery Cottage, Ashford-in-the-Water
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Old Bakery Cottage, Ashford-in-the-Water
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
93 reviews
Old Bakery Cottage, Ashford-in-the-Water
6 Seater Dinning - Adjacent to the main lounge
6 Seater Dinning - Adjacent to the main lounge
Fully Equipped Country Kitchen
Utility Room, with Washer and Dryer and Fridge Freezer
Luxury Bathroom, with large bath and rain shower
Luxury Bathroom, with large bath and rain shower
Luxury Bathroom, with large bath and rain shower
Master Double Bedroom
Second Double Bedroom
Second Double Bedroom
Light and bright upper landing
Sitting out area and summer room
Bifold doors out to the private courtyard garden
Ashford in the Water Bridge
Ashford in the Water Church
Ashford in the Water Bridge
Near by Bakewell
Near by Chatsworth House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Ashford-in-the-Water, Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 93 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
KayB284
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Miss”
Reviewed October 24, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in old bakery cottage. It is located in the beautiful village of Ashford in the water, ideally situated for bakewell and the peak district. The cottage itself is very well equipped, with all mod cons, and a particularly lovely bathroom and shower. Ample street parking directly outside the cottage. We could not fault it and would definitely stay again if visiting the area again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 24, 2016
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are so pleased you enjoyed the cottage and the surrounding areas. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind Regards, LF
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
celestial...
Napton-on-the-Hill, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage in a fabulous location”
Reviewed October 10, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We had a lovely short break in the cottage. It's clean, warm, relaxing and in an excellent location - what more can you want! We enjoyed a fantastic day out at Haddon Hall on the Saturday and a lovely meal out in Bakewell (5 min drive) in the evening. Would definitely recommend the cottage and we're planning on coming back soon! Thank you. Kate & Geraint.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 15, 2016
Thank you for the kind review and we are really pleaseed you enjoyed your stay at the Old Bakery Cottage. Haddon Hall and Bakewell are great places to visit. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Regards, LF
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carly D
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Mrs”
Reviewed October 8, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We really enjoyed our stay at the old bakery. It's a great location and very cosy cottage. Handy having the travel cot and high chair for our little girl too!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 9, 2016
Thank you for the kind review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your time at the Old Bakery Cottage. We look forward to welcoming you again. Kind Regards, LF
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne T
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very nice but ...”
Reviewed September 4, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Bakery Cottage is a very pleasant holiday home in a lovely village. As other guests have said, even though the cottage faces the road, it is quiet and parking is available outside the door. The cottage was clean and comfortable. However, we felt that supplementary lighting was needed in the lounge; the up-lighters did not give sufficient light to enable us to read and we all felt the room was too dark. The stairs are very steep and narrow, and carrying a suitcase up them was not easy. This is not a criticism, as they are obviously a feature of the cottage, but just a note of caution that they may not be suitable for the elderly or children. However, we were very disappointed with the lack of any form of 'welcome pack'. We have been staying in cottages for in excess of 35 years now and I cannot remember ever arriving to find no provision. Having travelled almost 200 miles to find we were unable to make a cup of tea was not the best of starts to our visit and did not make us feel particularly welcome. We were extremely pleased to find that that the village shop was still open at 6 pm on a Bank Holiday Monday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Village location
Liked least: Lack of 'welcome pack'
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 4, 2016
Firstly thank you for taking the time to provide us a review.

It's great that you enjoyed the cottage, the stairs are an original feature of the 200+ year old cottage and they can't be changed.

The lights in the front room we will look into, however this has never been raised as an issue to us before over the past 3.5 years of letting the property.

With respect to welcome pack which we do not advertise and have never offered. I am sorry that you presumed this to have been something which would be provided. We ensure that tea, coffee, sugar and sweatners are available at the cottage as we'll as essentials such as toilet roll, hand wash and washing up liquid. Everything else is for the guests to bring or buy as this is a self catering cottage.

We feel a 3 out of 5 review is harsh and is completely out of touch from the rest of our many guest, but we respect your opinion nontheless. Regards, LF
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
collins_p...
Doha, Qatar
2 reviews
“Perfect family break in ideal settings”
Reviewed August 19, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

My wife & I brought our 8 week old baby here for a little family break. We where greeted with a perfectly presented cottage in a beautiful little village, the cottage had everything we needed and left us feeling very comfortable and content. We would recommend exploring the local walks and also take a picnic to chartsworth estate. The local boozer was friendly and the food enjoyable. Overall a perfect 4 day break and 100% recommend the old bakery cottage and area.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 19, 2016
Thank you for such a kind review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the old bakery. We look forward to welcoming you again. Regards, LF
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 7, 2016
Thank you for the kind review. It's great that you enjoyed your stay at the Old Bakery. We look forward to welcoming you again. Regards, LF
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
KMB2913
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A great place in the heart of Derbyshire”
Reviewed July 1, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

The whole cottage is finished to a high standard with everything you could need (no dishwasher but washing a few pots and pans is no hardship!). There is a comfortable lounge dining room, with the kitchen at the back of the house, which leads on to a small walled yard, with a table and chairs. It is very pleasant to sit out, we had most of our meals outside in the sunshine.
Upstairs there is a spacious bathroom and 2 bedrooms, We stayed as a couple although our daughter, son in law and grandchild stayed for one night and we felt there was plenty of room for 4 adults.
The location is excellent for walking and cycling (we did 150 miles over the week - its hilly!). Bakewell, Matlock and Buxton are all nearby and of course Chatsworth where the tea room at Edensor is worth a visit, as is the plant nursery and cafe at Thornbridge Hall which is a 30 minute walk (check opening days/times).
There are a couple of pubs in the village and a small shop.
We only live 25 miles away but enjoyed visiting a different part of "The Peak".

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 2, 2016
Thank you for such a great review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Old Bakery and it sounds like you got to visit many of the great places in and around the area. We hope to welcome you again soon. Kind Regards, LF
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing