We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idyllic!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Old Bakery Cottage

Old Bakery Cottage, Ashford-in-the-Water
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Old Bakery Cottage, Ashford-in-the-Water
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
92 reviews
Old Bakery Cottage, Ashford-in-the-Water
6 Seater Dinning - Adjacent to the main lounge
6 Seater Dinning - Adjacent to the main lounge
Fully Equipped Country Kitchen
Utility Room, with Washer and Dryer and Fridge Freezer
Luxury Bathroom, with large bath and rain shower
Luxury Bathroom, with large bath and rain shower
Luxury Bathroom, with large bath and rain shower
Master Double Bedroom
Second Double Bedroom
Second Double Bedroom
Light and bright upper landing
Sitting out area and summer room
Bifold doors out to the private courtyard garden
Ashford in the Water Bridge
Ashford in the Water Church
Ashford in the Water Bridge
Near by Bakewell
Near by Chatsworth House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Ashford-in-the-Water, Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 92 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Gemma W
Henley on Thames, null, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Idyllic!”
Reviewed October 20, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

we had a fantastic break in such a beautiful village, and could not have fallen more in love with such a gorgeous, comfy cottage. So homely, beautifully decorated and very pristine. We will be back I am certain!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the little garden
Liked least: nothing not to like!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 29, 2013
Thank you for the kind review. We are so glad you enjoyed you're holiday and our cottage. We look forward to welcoming you again soon! Regards, LF
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amy a
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed September 28, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed with a friend for a weekend. We were looking for a relaxing place to stay which was cost and if I am honest ... a bit of treat. Well, The Old Bakery ticked all the boxes. Refurbished to a very high standard, spotlessly clean and with lots of lovely extra finishing touches. The house layout works really well with enormous bathroom upstairs and plenty of space downstairs. Parking outside was easy, and with beautiful walks right from our door and tea rooms, pubs and restaurants all within strolling distance, it made for the perfect lazy weekend break we were looking for. Thoroughly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: property Style and location
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 1, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your holiday and our cottage. Hope to welcome you again soon. Regards, LF
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 22, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 23, 2013
Thank you for the kind review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at our cottage and Ashford village. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Regards LF
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 10, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 16, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review. We are so glad you enjoyed the cottage and the surrounding areas. We look forward to you returning again soon. Regards, LF
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 30, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Enjoyed all the cottage had to offer
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 16, 2013
Thank you for the kind words and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Old Bakery Cottage. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Regards, LF
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HM2007
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely cottage, great location, perfect base for exploring the peak district”
Reviewed June 25, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Beautifully renovated and well equipped cottage in the picturesque village of Ashford-in-the-Water. Chatsworth House is just a short drive/cycle away and is well worth a visit. It is also within walking distance of two bike hire shops - one in Hassop station situated right on the monsal trail and a sister shop in Bakewell... although learn from our mistake if you plan to hire from the Bakwell shop and ring first to check they are open to save an extra walk! We spent an enjoyable day cycling the monsal trail and surrounding area, before dropping the bikes off and taking advantage of the amazing cafe also at Hassop station (they have the best icecream!).

We had a peaceful and comfortable 3 days at The Old Bakery Cottage and are looking forward to visiting again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 16, 2013
I am glad you enjoyed the cottage and the surrounding area and thank you for the great review. we look forward to you returning again in the future. Regards, LF
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dronfield
Derbyshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT OLD BAKERY!”
Reviewed June 22, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We have just returned from a most enjoyable 3 night stay at The Old Bakery Cottage in Ashford in the Water - and what an absolute pleasure it was!

Due to a mistake on my behalf when booking (I booked the wrong dates), I had to contact the owner to try a re-book the correct dates and he could not have been more helpful - what a great guy - nothing was too much trouble, contact was easy; I didn't have to wait hours before I received a reply - it was almost instantaneous - based on the customer service we received, we just knew the holiday was going to be a success - and we were not disappointed. Many thanks to the owners +AAA

The Cottage is beautiful, comfortable, clean and cosy. The owners have done such a wonderful job of making this cottage one of the best we have ever stayed in.

The village of Ashford in the Water is beautiful, peaceful and friendly.

There are 2 good pubs - The Bulls Head and The Ashford Arms. We mostly went in The Bulls Head, where the food is very, very good and you get a warm welcome too! The Aisseford Tea Rooms are great - we had a cooked breakfast and the teapots are the biggest we have seen - which is good!!!!

All in all our stay was a great success and it was mostly down to the cottage itself - we were sorry when we had to leave!!

Well done to the owners of The Old Bakery - a truly wonderful short break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Top class quality property and village location.
Liked least: Going home!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 16, 2013
Thank you for the great review, a few teething problems with the HL automated booking system, however we sorted it. I’m so glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Regards, LF
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing