We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect for a family Christmas get together!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Dale Cottage

Dale Cottage part of a Grade 2 listed Derbyshire Longhouse, original farmhouse for the Eyre Estate
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dale Cottage part of a Grade 2 listed Derbyshire Longhouse, original farmhouse for the Eyre Estate
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
21 reviews
Dale Cottage part of a Grade 2 listed Derbyshire Longhouse, original farmhouse for the Eyre Estate
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Ashford-in-the-Water, Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Happiness...
1 review
“Did the job....”
Reviewed February 5, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

I booked this cottage as a belated birthday weekend away with 9 friends.

Firstly, although the pre arrival details say that the post code given does not take you directly to the cottage, more effort could be made to ensure that the cottage is noticeable from the road. There is a TINY slate that can only just be seen in the daylight and as it is February, by 4pm it was quite difficult for us to find where we were going.

The key was supposed to be left for us on the kitchen table when we arrived but it was no where to be seen. I rang the number on the arrival information and didn't speak to the owner, Mrs Kay, but spoke to a lady 'who could help'. Apparently, the locks had been changed recently and she would ask a 'chap' to come round with a key for us. When the key arrived it was the wrong key (presumably from before the locks were changed). I was asked to leave the wrong key on the doormat and that the same 'chap' would drop off the correct key... along with a bin bag (that also hadn't been left) and that only one bin bag would be required. This seemed ludicrous given that the cottage is self catering, the size of the group staying and that we were staying for 3 nights.

The cottages' heating is controlled elsewhere so we couldn't turn on/off the radiators in the cottage which meant some rooms were quite warm and others completely freezing.

On the whole, the cottage was clean but there was only a tiny bit of washing up liquid left, two dishwasher tablets and one tea towel.

The DVD player that the cottage advertised it had was no where to be seen and had apparently been moved to another property but the website hadn't been updated.

This cottage has great potential and I think guests would feel much more welcome and satisfied with a small 'welcome pack' provided with more than one bin bag, adequate washing up/cleaning products for the kitchen and perhaps a better/ up to date information pack.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julie6664...
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for a family Christmas get together!”
Reviewed January 2, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

The cottage was in a perfect location for our family Christmas get together. We walked every day frequenting various pubs conveniently placed for lunch and a few beers! On a couple of occasions we started our walk from the cottage. The cottage itself is lovely. We ordered 10 extra bags of logs and so every evening we used the log burner which kept us cosy and warm throughout the week. We pre ordered towels.
Cooking the Christmas dinner wasn't a problem, I had brought a few extra cooking trays and sharp knives, I could probably have managed without the extra trays but not the extra sharp knives. All 8 of us were very comfortable and really enjoyed our stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellaBroo...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“New Years Eve Stay”
Reviewed January 2, 2018 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Nice size for the number of us in party we had 6 adults and 2 children. Tired in places paint peeling and carpets need deep clean or replacing as they were disgusting throughout. Good location we went tomChatswirth house and Bakewell. Nice cottage feel. No towels provided person who booked didn’t check small print so we had mad dash to Argos to buy some much better price than cost of hiring them. Worst thing was mattress in fourth bedroom is vile, needs binning as can feel every spring and gave back ache. Left a day early to get to comfy bed. Also not enough parking for properties on grounds we had cars parking in our allocated spaces. Wouldn’t go back sadly

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davezmith
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed November 1, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We selected Dale Cottage because of its position near Bakewell and the Monsal trail.
We notified the owner by text that we would not arrive until pm on Sunday.
Unfortunately being a large house at the time of year and open plan downstairs it was cold and in places the damp was evident with pealing paintwork on some walls.

There was no boiler in the property and no thermostat to adjust the heating.(much later we realised controlled from next door as the house is in fact one large property divided by private doors with one heating system)

The property had a booklet welcome "information booklet" of just 4 pages informing guests about the rules of parking,restaurants etc etc but no information on heating.The only source of heat was the range in the kitchen which given the lack of communication from the owners we took to be both for cooking and heating(we were later informed we should not be using the range for heating and took this to mean that the owners wished to keep costs down and had not set the range up to heat the property )
There was no wood for the log burner and the visit from the owners representative was cursory and brief.

The communication and lack of interest in our comfort and wellbeing let the property down.
Our experience reflects many of the previous comments on the Web page.

Also a cheap 2 slice toaster for 10 guests and a cheap plastic kettle are hardly appropriate for such a property.
There is an obvious focus on cost at the expense of customer service.

The only plus to the holiday was the character and location of the property.

Would only feel comfortable in recommending the property if communication and service improves dramatically.

From previous replies to criticism by the owners I fully expect these comments not to be accepted but.......

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve W
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely place, but ....”
Reviewed August 10, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Dale Cottage is a beautiful and spacious place, in a lovely part of Derbyshire. It's a very old building, full of character, and the building adaptions and decor are tasteful and to a high standard. Also the property is well looked after and everything was immaculately clean.

But ... they don't exactly make you feel welcome. We were a party of eight for four nights, but when we arrived we found there were just four tea bags, no milk, three toilet rolls, one toilet brush for three loos, less than an inch of washing up liquid and one J-cloth... There was a piano in the living room but no key - so what was the point of having it there? There's also a little garden with swings and a slide next to the house - but access to this is denied, with no explanation why - disappointing for the children we had with us. These are just small things, but given the quality of the place, and the rental cost, it just felt a little bit mean-spirited.

Hope this feedback will encourage a few positive changes.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shmuelur
Ambleside, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very nice house, slow connectivity”
Reviewed August 9, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

The house is very nice, all four bed rooms are big and nice, large kitchen, dining room, living room. Great location for hiking.

The connectivity, wifi and cellular is very spotty. The house is also not easy to find the first time. This is likely a plus for many. For us, as one of our members is internet addict, and his suitcase got lost, and could not contact the delivery company reliably, he got very upset. The owners may only be reached by email, to which they reply.

The second issue is that in such a nice house, at that price, one does expect towels and other things to come with the house. They do say upfront they don't, but it is uncommon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Reviewed June 12, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing