We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wow! What an amazing place!!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Dale Cottage

Dale Cottage part of a Grade 2 listed Derbyshire Longhouse, original farmhouse for the Eyre Estate
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dale Cottage part of a Grade 2 listed Derbyshire Longhouse, original farmhouse for the Eyre Estate
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
21 reviews
Dale Cottage part of a Grade 2 listed Derbyshire Longhouse, original farmhouse for the Eyre Estate
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Ashford-in-the-Water, Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Trisha S
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Wow! What an amazing place!! ”
Reviewed May 6, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Sometimes finding cottage accommodation is hard especially to tick all the boxes... Dale cottage will not disappoint... Tastefully decked out this cosy place made our visit to the Peak District most memorable!!
My friends totally were in awe that such lovely accommodation exists and the hosts were there for our every need , which, I will say, wasn't really necessary as everything we could possibly need was there for us... We opted to rent the towels etc and this was well worth it to save us bringing our own.
While we were there the owners also showed us their other cottages available for rent if there are a few less of you in your party... All were totally amazing...:) and can be found on the Rowdale , Ashford in the Water website.
Couldn't have asked for more...
Will definitely return. Thank you all so much.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 30, 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Dale Cottage and provide generous feedback; we are pleased that it ticked all the boxes for your group. We are delighted that you found the cottage lovely, comfortable and cosy and that the towel rental worked for your group. It is great that you felt everything you needed was available and very encouraging for us that we are getting it right a lot of the time.

Whilst we really appreciate all the reviews we get, it is particularly nice to hear when a cottage has met guests expectations as guests appear to be more inclined to respond when they have experienced a difficulty rather than when it has been great. So a big thank you for taking the time, we are pleased that you have found our cottages and we look forward to welcoming you to Rowdale Farm Holiday Cottages again in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alex m
Page, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Superb cottage- very high quality and full of character”
Reviewed April 27, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Inglenook fire place- beams/ stone flagged floor and plenty of room for large groups with a very large but cosy lounge. Located near Bakewell/ chatsworth and monsal trail at the top of the garden. Decor and facilities in keeping bewitch the character- helpful owner on arrival

Great cottage- suitable for all types of groups- would book again without hesitation for my family and friends group. Looking at returning gain later in the year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Character and location
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 30, 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Dale Cottage we are delighted that you appreciated the character of the cottage, were happy with the facilitates and found it large yet cosy. It is great that you felt everything was to you liking and that it would suit many large groups and also very encouraging for us that we are getting it right for a lot of our guests

Whilst we really appreciate all the reviews we get, it is great to get to hear when a cottage and our services have met guests expectations as well as when guests feel it has fallen short. So a big thank you for taking the time and we look forward to welcoming you to Rowdale Farm Holiday Cottages again in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pomodon
1 review
“Consistently good every time we visit!”
Reviewed April 25, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We stayed at the cottages a few times with family and friends and are always delighted at the picturesque location and this is a beautiful cottage which is very spacious and lots of character.

The amenities are great, the cottage is very clean and well equipped. The log burner is huge and makes the large lounge diner area very cosy. Although the area is busy the cottage is tucked away and feels quite private and away from the hubbub!

Nothing to fault, we will be back again as it is always a delight and good value for a large group.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 31, 2015
As one of our regular visitors, we are pleased that you have posted a review as it is easy to forget when a place is familiar and you visit regularly We know by the fact that you have revisited a few times that you are happy and we are delighted that you have taken the time to share this with others. Your review speaks volumes for the wonderful location and beautiful cottage tucked away from the hubbub.

The huge log burner that make the large lounge diner very cosy and the character of the cottage are to your liking and we hope others also find the amenities great. It is nice that you comment the cottage is well equipped and very clean and that there is nothing to fault and that you feel the cottage is good value for a large group get together. We look forward to welcoming your family and friends to Rowdale Farm Holiday Cottages again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
awr99
london
2 reviews
“Disappointing”
Reviewed April 19, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

My family and I (a party of 9) stayed for a weekend at Dale Cottage. While the cottage itself is generally well presented, we just felt that there was a real lack of effort put in by the owners. We were told that someone would arrive at 4pm on the Friday when we arrived to show us around, however no one appeared at all; there was one door key left inside for the 9 of us to share. We could not get the TV to work with anything approaching a watchable picture, which was a big deal for my parents (who are in their 80s) who wanted to watch the US Masters and the Grand National that weekend but were not able to do so. The neighbour was very helpful and tried to help us sort it out but ultimately, it was not her problem. We also felt that the house was cold and again it was not obvious how we could turn on the heat. The little things that have been mentioned in other reviews also rankled - no towels, tea towels, dishwasher tablets, tea bags.... with a little bit of effort this could be a very nice place to stay but my impression was that the owners wanted to charge a lot of money to rent the place out but put in as little effort as possible in return.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 21, 2015
Firstly, thank you for being so kind to take the time to review Dale Cottage where you stayed recently; we are pleased that you found the cottage well presented and are grateful for your comments; we do appreciate our guests taking time to comment on their cottages as this ensure we are providing appropriate services and facilities for all our guests. We have always supplied one key as most of our cottages are smaller; we have not been asked for additional keys, however, we will note for this cottage additional keys may be appropriate and thank you for this useful feedback.

We are very sorry that you missed us on your arrival day, in our correspondence we do inform guests that you can call us anytime and we will be pleased to provide any information you require or attend if you need any assistance. We are mindful that some guest prefer not to have the owners in attendance but we are surprised that you did not contact us personally if there were matters of concern that affected your enjoyment of the cottage.

We are also disappointed that your review does not mention that the matters raised during your stay related to the television and heating and these were resolved by our technician, at our earliest opportunity and to your satisfaction.

As you requested, the neighbour kindly telephoned us on your behalf. It is always more helpful if guests contact us themselves, this enables us to take a personal approach and fully understand any queries, and allow us the opportunity to make your stay as pleasant as possible. It also enables us to take your contact details so we can resolve any matters promptly by passing to our representatives. We would like all our guest to be delighted with their stay and would have liked the opportunity to do this for you.

Our technician did attend as an urgent call the next morning, unfortunately, he was unable to gain access to the cottage; we are aware that he supplied a cable that corrected the problem for you on your return later in the day and you confirmed that the television was working after this. The heating was checked; we can only apologise that the timer was incorrect (possible due to power cuts or clocks being altered), this was attended to by the technician and you confirmed that it was then fine and warm for you, there was a basked of logs available that could have made the cottage very cosy too. We attended to both matters that were raised at the time, ensuring that you were able to enjoy the facilities for the remainder of your stay. We do not know what further we could have done for you on this occasion?

The details for the cottage do state that tea towels/personal towels are not provided, so we are not sure why this is mentioned in your review, however, we do offer a rental service for these from our laundry if they are required for guests convenience, there are starter supplies of dishwasher tablets/washing liquid/J cloth in the cottages. The cottage sleeps 12 people for £30 pppn and as you were a group of 9 we agreed a discounted rate of £33 pppn which was acceptable to you, this is comparable to other cottages in the area, the cottage is busy throughout the year and we believe our guests that return season after season feel it represents good value for money. The cottage is very central in the peak district national park and offers a great deal of convenience to holiday makers, enabling them enjoy the beautiful countryside straight from the door on foot, whilst leaving cars in the parking bay. We appreciate that your family may have has in mind a less active holiday but we trust that the cottage offers sufficient choice of activities indoor and out for the many different groups we have the pleasure of hosting at Rowdale Holiday Cottages and are pleased that the cottage met your requirements for your family weekend.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C R
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spacious and well-situated, baby equipment provided as requested.”
Reviewed August 17, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Dale Cottage is in a lovely setting and the nearby trail was great. There was plenty of space , crockery etc for our large group. It seemed rather mean that there was no welcome pack and it was a nuisance to have to bring our own towels. As stated, dishwasher tablets are provided, but not sufficient for the stay. The light switches were really challenging and the lights in the lounge kept flickering on and off.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: There was plenty of crockery etc for a large group.
Liked least: That there was no 'welcome pack ' on arrival and that 4 dishwasher tablets and no towels.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill D
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Loved it - but it could just do with a few welcoming touches”
Reviewed April 5, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is a lovely cottage just off the Monsal Trail and a couple of miles outside Bakewell. It's a great area for walking and eating and drinking. The cottage itself is beautifully appointed and, although just off the road, you're never aware of any traffic. Sleeps 6 to 8 comfortably. We loved it and would certainly visit again.
It did just lack some welcoming touches though - there were only a handful of dishwasher tablets, only just enough toilet rolls, you had to provide your own towels, there was no soap in the toilets, a little coffee, tea and milk would have been good on arrival. These things cost an owner virtually nothing from the rent paid but they really make a difference to the quality of your stay. (And there was no way of controlling the heating.)

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The stylish conversion of an old stone cottage
Liked least: Lack of welcoming touches
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandra000...
York, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great place to stay”
Reviewed August 24, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

2 families met up in Derbyshire for a short break, and stayed here. What a brilliant find. There were 9 of us in total and there was more than enough space. It is an excellent property with a fantastic lay out, ideal for large families. The kitchen is very spacious and well equipped, as was the dining room with a large table, and lots of comfy sofas in the lounge.
It was an ideal location to explore the Derbyshire Dales, and is on the doorstep to the Monsal trail, literally a walk across a field.
Lovely walk to picturesque local villages, which had pubs serving high quality food and ales. The owner rang me soon after receipt of my enquiry and was extremely helpful and friendly.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would not hesitate in recommending this house for long or short stays. Fantastic!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The large rooms and the character of the house
Liked least: limited garden area
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing