We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Old Dairy

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
19 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Ashford-in-the-Water, Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
bradley72
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Pleasant stay”
Reviewed August 31, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Cottage comfortable - plenty of space and well equipped; grounds are also well kept with a picnic bench. Good location - 5-minute drive to Ashford - Chatsworth & Bakewell are within easy reach. Mobile signal in cottage non existent and Wifi very poor.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrs charl...
1 review
“Could be better”
Reviewed August 6, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Signage poor as previous review, accommodation on a busy road which can be heard inside the building. Good location.
Spacious accommodation, excellent layout for a family with a large living/dining/kitchen area and bedroom/bathroom either side. Well equipped. Disappointed in the cleanliness, requires a good spring clean, including behind furniture. Lots of dust and cobwebs present, stains on cushion covers in lounge and bathroom needs a tidy up. Mobile signal in cottage non existent probably due to geography. Wifi poor. We had an issue with wifi which went off, we left it for a couple of days before we rang the owner to report the problem. When we rang owner was initially unhelpful and basically said she had been over to the cottages the day before and wifi was working.Then started to say that a charge would be made to us if an engineer was called and there was no fault. I asked if she would care to come and check it herself, which she declined.Poor customer services ... To be fair the issue did get sorted the following morning by the maintenance person and am guessing it was a simple router reset that was needed (the router is not in the old dairy). I was disappointed that simply reporting the issue was met with disbelief but grateful when it was resolved.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quest6726...
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed July 26, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Excellent cottages with lots of space, perfect for family's and in a amazing location. would go back again

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guide7010...
1 review
“Pet friendly & Perfect location to Monsal Trail”
Reviewed March 28, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Lovely one floor Cottage. Has everything you would need. It is next to a main road but we didn't find it a problem at all. Just a walk across the fields to the Trail, there is a slight incline but if your active again it's not a problem. The cottage was cold in the evening as we did have a frost and the heating must be on a timer but if you buy wood and matches as we did the second night it was perfectly fine. Shop and pubs a few minutes drive away. Would stay again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Christine...
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A pleasant stay”
Reviewed September 7, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Unfortunately the directions to the old dairy were not good. We spent over an hour when we reached Ashford trying to find the cottages. Called the owner for directions but no reply so had to knock someone's door for directions.
The cottage itself was very spacious and the grounds well kept but it is situated on a rather busy road.
The cottage is about a 5 minute drive to Ashford which is a very pretty village with 2 good pubs and a well equipped shop.
Unfortunately it's not possible to walk to the pub in the evenings as you have to walk down the main road which is not lit and has no
pavement.
The location is good for Bakewell and Chats worth.
With the exception of the directions and the problem of having to drive to the pub each evening we had an enjoyable stay but please issue clearer directions.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John C
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic property in a great location”
Reviewed August 13, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

A family of five with mum dad, two teenagers and their grandma. The property was great and a very good size. Spotlessly clean. Good facilities and we cooked each night and had ample crockery and cooking utensils. The property was warm and inviting and we all had more than enough sae. Beds were comfortable and the WiFi and TV access was good: we enjoy date opening ceremony of the Olympics whilst there!

Great location very close to Bakewell and Chatsworth. Easy access to Chesterfield for a day shopping and close enough to supermarkets for provisions. We found a great bar with superb cocktails in Longstone just a short distance away (The White Hart).

Would strongly recommend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The flagstone floor and beamed ceilings
Liked least: The photos on the website do not do this property justice and should be updated!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing