We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We loved staying here”
other travelers have booked this property
Townend Holiday Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Townend Holiday Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
108 reviews
Townend Holiday Cottage
The very popular homemade Victoria Sandwich Cakes awaits
Pretty practical crockery, which is very accessible.
Salt, Pepper, dried herbs, vinegar and oil are provided, one less thing to bring.
Hall Landing
Bathroom, full size bath, electric shower, water heating controls
Complimentary toiletries for use during your stay
Bakewell
Village view
Village view
Our Local Pub 'The Cock and Pullet'
Townend Cottage
We have wonderful walks on the doorstep
Our Village Church
Magpie Mines, just a short walk away
Monsal Dale
Monsal Dale in the winter
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ashford-in-the-Water, Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 108 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Norwegian first
Any
English first
Helen N
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We loved staying here”
Reviewed July 14, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

A beautiful little cottage invthe little village of Sheldon with a helpful host who lives next door. A great place to wind down after the hectic preparation for our holiday. Cute pub a few metres away. Good self catering facilities a fresh made cake and fresh eggs awaited us on arrival. Lots of pretty walks in the area. Great!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shakira78
England
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in a beautiful area”
Reviewed July 10, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed for 3 nights as we wanted a short break not too far from home but being city folk this was a different world for us and was exactly what we wanted - we loved it!

The cottage is small but is ample size to be comfortable for two people. It contains everything you need in terms of kitchen equipment, local info and entertainment including some personal touches such as home made cake and fresh eggs which were very much appreciated.

We used the local info provided and chose 2 walks, one starting at the top of Sheldon village and another one starting in Bakewell. Both were beautiful and although we were absolutely drenched at times we loved being out in the countryside and the peace and tranquillity of the surroundings.

The cottage is less than 10 minutes drive to Bakewell and also very handy for areas like Buxton and Matlock.

Local people are very friendly and everyone we met had a smile and a friendly word.

We would definitely recommend this cottage and the area to family and friends and would happily return one day.

Thank you to the owners for their hospitality.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick B
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Perfect Little Cottage”
Reviewed June 12, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

If you want a great location for visiting Bakewell, Chatsworth and the Peak National Park, then you can't do better than Sheldon. It's blissfully quiet, beautiful, full of character and typifies the nature of many small villages in the Derbyshire Dales. In addition, there is a local pub with good beer and a decent, simple menu.

Townend Cottage is small, but perfect for two, and is very comfortable and well equipped. Nothing seemed to be missing and everything you realistically need is available, including wi-fi and Freeview TV. Lindsey and her husband were very freindly and welcoming, and provide the most delicious lemon-drizzle cake and a half-dozen of the best eggs we've come across!

Excellent!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort and convenience
Liked least: Small bathroom
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mandy b
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just perfect in every way!”
Reviewed June 5, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Fabulous location in the most wonderful little village. The pup was just the job at the end of a long day walking with good beer and good honest food. The cottage was perfect for the two of us (plus dog), spotlessly clean and such a nice touch with the little extras. (yummy home-made cake, fresh eggs and milk).
Well done and will be back in the autumn.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Too many great things to mention just one!
Liked least: Having to leave!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crimewrit...
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
341 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Excellent location, cosy cottage”
Reviewed May 31, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We had a lovely week at Townend Cottage. The location was ideal - close to all of the things we wanted to see. Lindsey was a wonderful host who, in addition to providing a delicious cake to welcome us, quickly sorted out our problem with a beeping smoke alarm. The cottage is quite tiny, but adequate for two people (and a dog), and it's well equipped with most of the necessities. The bed was one of the most comfortable we've ever slept in.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the comfortable bed
Liked least: no enclosed garden for our dog
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ritameter...
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
“cosy & convenient to pub”
Reviewed May 13, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Townend Cottage was all one would want-it was so warm & cosy when chilly & snowy outside
Lindsey had made it so welcoming especially with the eggs, cake & milk-real home from home
Bed fantastically comfortable
Pub so handy & served really good food
Would definitely return

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfort of all
Liked least: the only window one could look out of was the door
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andry64
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage in unspoilt village”
Reviewed April 14, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

My husband and I were looking for somewhere to go for a few days to chill out and relax. I saw this property whilst searching the internet and thought it looked exactly what we were looking for, I was definitely right! The cottage is lovely and cosy and we arrived to eggs, milk, tea and coffee along with a home-made lemon drizzle cake, which was very welcome. The cottage had everything we needed, and more, ample toiletries in the bathroom, soft towels, loads of storage in the bedroom and the bed was very comfortable. It's obvious the cottage has been very well looked after. The village itself is very peaceful which is just what we wanted, we ate in the local pub a couple of times and the food was lovely. There are some good walks in the local area and plenty to discover by car, would definitely recommend and would love to stay here again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The attention to detail and all the extras included made us feel very welcome
Liked least: Can't really think about anything
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing