We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Couldn't Recommend it More!”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
111 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ashford-in-the-Water, Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 111 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Norwegian first
Any
English first
cls1993
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Couldn't Recommend it More!”
Reviewed August 5, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

My boyfriend and I (both 20 years old) stayed in townend cottage from the 5th-12th july 2014. When we arrived we were greeted by a wonderful sight, the cottage was exactly how it looked in the picture! Sheldon itself is small but lovely, with a few short walks behind the cottages definitely worth doing in the evening as its very peaceful. There is no need to worry about sheldon being small if you have a car, because bakewell is only about a 5 minute drive and has all the essentials and more.

We did several walks all around the peak district, our favourite being a combination of routes 8, 4, 5 and 3 in the 'walks around edale' guide available from the tourist info centre in town. This gave you some amazing views from the top of kinder scout! We also went to alton towers for the day, and did a walk around chatsworth house.

The location of the cottage is fantastic- very close to lots of great attractions and there are plenty of places to eat in bakewell should you not want to use the kitchen in the cottage- which was also very nice and clean and had everything you needed (except a potato masher!) All of the rooms were lovely, including the bathroom, and there was a great stock of recent DVDs to keep us entertained in the evening.

I cannot fault our stay in this cottage, and with a yummy homemade cake on arrival, what more could you ask for?! Thank you so much Lindsey for a wonderful stay in the Peaks.

Date of stay: July 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevenlit...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“excellent and well equiped - faultless”
Reviewed June 30, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

arrived monday 23/6/14 to a lovely cottage in a sleepy peak district village called Sheldon . The cottage was spotlessly clean and equipped with everything you could need , and a weclome pack of fresh free range eggs , milk and a lovely cake which was much appreciated.The furniture and bed were comfortable and modern - not like the tired furniture in some other places .All in all a great place to stay , highly recommended and would have no hesitation in booking again. Thanks so much

Date of stay: June 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: clean and up to date furnishings also cake eggs and milk - great!!
Liked least: nothing to dislike
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPHampshi...
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed May 27, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage was absolutely perfect for the 2 of us and our dog to stay in for a few days. Great base for climbing, mountain biking and walking. The cottage is amazingly well equipped, the lovely owner has thought of absolutely everything and keeps the cottage immaculately clean. I'm trying to think of a criticism for a well rounded review...but I can't! We had a fantastic time and would highly recommend.

Date of stay: May 2014
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanBLevi
Atherstone, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A little gem”
Reviewed May 1, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We stayed over the Easter Weekend at Townend Cottage and we had a great time. We know the area pretty well but haven't actually stayed in Sheldon before. We arrived and walked in to find a delicious cake baked by Lindsey waiting on the table, 6 eggs from their hens and a pint of milk in the fridge. The cake was awesome!!! The cottage isn't big but has everything you need. Good kitchen area, dishwasher and even a washer dryer. The bathroom is lovely and the bed comfy.

Sheldon is a tranquil Peak District Village, that's still got a real village atmosphere to it. The local pub (Cock and Pullett!) is lovely. We've been there several times before but only ever for a drink as we visited during a walk. We ate there one night and had a great meal. The beers good too. Walks from the door are gorgeous. You can get down to Ashford, Bakewell, the Monsal Trail pretty easily on the huge network of Paths. The cottage provides loads of guide books and maps if you're new to the area.

All in all we had a great time and will definitely go again!

Date of stay: April 2014
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane T
Romford
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Cottage was cosy and well equipped - ideal for walks from the door!”
Reviewed January 6, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Cottage was warm and cosy. Lots of nice touches - home made cake, milk and eggs in the fridge, good range of toiletries. Very quiet so ideal for a restful break. Lots of excellent walks from the cottage itself or short drives away. Bakewell only 10 minutes away by car but you can also walk there.

Date of stay: January 2014
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
579Ann
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Weekend away”
Reviewed October 2, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Townend Cottage is a cosy little place to stay in Sheldon. Lindsey the owner greeted us with a warm welcome, she provided us with milk in the fridge and a gorgeous Victoria cake. The cottage as everything you need a lovely bedroom bathroom with shower over the bath. I would recommend Townend Cottage to anyone who wants a quiet retreat in the lovely little village of Sheldon.

Date of stay: September 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andovervi...
Andover, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful, cosy cottage in a lovely location”
Reviewed April 15, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at this ideal cosy cottage. It was extremely well equipped, and the owner provided some milk, eggs and a delicious cake!. It was in a quiet location, with a pub close by. There were walks from the door, and plenty of places to visit close by.

Date of stay: April 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: quiet location
Liked least: the weather
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing