We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and plenty of it.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riverside House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I agree with most of what has previously been said about this hotel. Our stay was very pleasant overall but there were some minor factors that prevented me rating this hotel as excellent. THe hotel itself is a wonderful old building in a little village which provides a quaint setting. When we arrived, the hotel was warm and cosy with open fires and friendly staff.

Our room was very small and the bed equally so; the room was very hot even though we turned off the radiator as soon as we entered the room. We found it difficult to sleep as the room was so warm. The shower was not very powerful and the bathroom lacked shelves for toiletries etc. This was not a huge problem as we were only staying one night but had I been staying longer it would have been more of a problem.

There was sherry, fruit, biscuits and chocolates in the room which I thought was a nice touch but,like a previous reviewer has stated, I feel that the nuts should have been covered and they did look to have been there a long time. We found the room on the whole to be clean but there was some cobwebs around the ceiling lights.

Having said all this, we found the food to be delicious and plentiful and the staff were happy to cater for any preferences or varied diets. There were regular guests staying at the hotel who were happy to give rave reviews so we assumed that maybe we had just got a bad room. All in all we enjoyed our one night stay here and would be happy to stay again in a different room. I think the name of the room was 'Greenfinch'.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a decent sized bed in it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lynda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (235)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 235 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2013

Riverside House Hotel is set in a delightful location right on the river, Ashford in the Water is a quaint little village in the Peak District National Park on the A6.
Rooms were clean, breakfast was nice, staff and service friendly.
The hotel makes an ideal base from which to visit Bakewell, Buxton, Monsal Head, Chatsworth House, and Blue John Caven which are are all close by.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank sknafk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Had a fantastic afternoon tea at the riverside. Great service and value , wide and varied choice of sandwiches, followed by scones, tea cakes and cream cakes. Portions are generous so much we had to have some of the cakes boxed up. I don't think you will get better than this. Served in lovely surroundings. Highly recommend !

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed here for one night and our first impressions on arrival were good. It is a beautiful old building, supposedly an old hunting lodge and part of the Chatsworth estate. The downstairs areas were charming with antique furniture. Unfortunately, that's where it ends.
Alarm bells began to ring when we were asked at check in if we would like to stay another night which we found a little odd as we hadn't even been shown our room. We said we would think about the offer.
Our room was tiny and crammed with reproduction furniture and had the smallest 'double' bed we have ever seen. We were shown the extras ( biscuits, sherry, chocolates , some sort of Bombay mix and fruit) the best of these being the chocolates as they were wrapped. There were fruit flies on the 'fresh' fruit, the sherry was suspiciously weak, the Bombay mix had clearly been there for some time and tasted off, whilst the substantial amount of crumbs at the bottom of the biscuit tin suggested it had not been emptied from the last guests, or even the ones before those.
We agree with other guests who mentioned the cleanliness of the rooms. The carpets were dirty and stained and we too had plenty of cobwebs to see as we attempted to sleep under the canopy over the bed. When we turned the bedspread down, there was what looked like red wine stains on the underside with the addition of a few blood stains to boot. Even with the window open all night, the room was so hot that we simply could not sleep. Our room looked out over a passageway between two houses and here we found a huge extraction duct which was connected to the ovens in the kitchen below our room. This fired up at around six thirty in the morning and didn't stop until after eleven at night.
So, breakfast.....
How odd that there was no buffet table where we could make our own selection.Instead, a surly waitress asked us to choose each item from a menu to be brought in turn. If you are expecting a full English breakfast as part of your stay, which we were, then expect to pay another seven pounds each for this. On the menu was a cheese board and when we asked what was on it we were told 'cheese' which put us in no better mood after very little sleep. The surly waitress had to then go along and check with the chef as ' they just put out what they want to'.
We were given one croissant and one slice of toast each and we were never offered either more tea or coffee.
What is clearly obvious here is that this place is riding on its history and location whilst basic cleanliness and lack of attention to details are ignored. It's a shame. We won't be returning.
On a better note, the Bulls Head pub in the village is a great place to eat and we spent a lovely evening there chatting with the locals and sampling some fine ales. The food is delicious and very reasonably priced, unlike the Riverside. It's a shame that they don't have accommodation.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank RGW1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

My other half and I spent a Saturday night here with friends on a dinner,bed and breakfast deal.we had the Mulberry Room which was gorgeous. Exposed beams and rafters, fabulously comfortable bed, double ended pedestal bath and lots of lovely touches..biscuit tin, chocolates, fresh milk for the tea tray. After a leisurely drink in the lounge (wish it had been cold enough for the fire to be lit) we had a delicious dinner. Great service. Relaxed atmosphere. Breakfast was yummy. Didn't want to check out. Two nights next time!

Room Tip: Various sizes and prices..Mulberry room gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michaela4242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We recently enjoyed an excellent 'set' lunch at the Riverside - in elegant surroundings and served with style. A beautiful place to relax and unwind, combining old-fashioned service with modern efficiency. Views from the bridge over the river are delightfu, as is the whole village of Ashford. lWhat a find and what a bargain!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AGD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Thank you to all the staff for making our 6th visit to the Riverside as special as the first. Room was spotless (as always) meals were well prepared and presented well with good choice (our thanks to the chef who even adapted a meal for Steve as he wanted fish but dislikes cheese) Thank you for the warm welcome from all of the staff who are a wonderful team from morning to late evening with nothing being of trouble to them. Looking forward to our next visit in December. If you like fine dining it is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maureen342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashford-in-the-Water
1.5 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
413 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
4.8 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Monsal Head Hotel
Monsal Head Hotel
#5 of 6 in Bakewell
433 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Peacock at Rowsley
The Peacock at Rowsley
#1 of 2 in Rowsley
501 reviews
4.2 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside House Hotel

Address: Fennel Street, Ashford-in-the-Water, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1QF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell > Ashford-in-the-Water
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ashford-in-the-Water
Price Range: $158 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverside House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Riverside House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Bakewell
Riverside House Hotel Peak District National Park/Ashford-In-The-Water, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing