We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sanctuary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riverside House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Sanctuary”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

What a lovely retreat. Excellent service, food and accommodation.

The forecast of snow didn't put us off which ment is was just us and one other couple to share this wonderful location.

Thanks to Jo for her attentive and courteous care it made the weekend for us.

We will return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stuart R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    53
    28
    10
    9
See reviews for
20
144
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Par, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

having stayed a this hotel over 5 years now and stayed 1 night the food was excellent the room was very clean nice big bed sherry coffee fruit chocolates in the room jo welcomed us very good made welcome had friends over for dinner it was very good as normal the hotel is one of the best hotels in Derbyshire the setting is lovely for sjght seeing matlock ashbourne bakewell buxton hope to be back soon

Room Tip: the garden rooms?
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank daveanthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed here in between Christmas and New Year for one night. We were travelling as 4 adults and enjoyed our brief spell here. We ate down the the road at The Bull (Delicious) but came back for a night cap and had a very pleasant breakfast the next morning. The rooms are cosy with chairs outside for the summer months and the setting is beautiful. We would gladly return to this hotel, but perhaps not for a long period.

Room Tip: The water pipes in the 'new' extension are a little loud at night (Rose room)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bladerama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matlock
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Been a regular visitor at the Riverside for many years.....but no more......a rude Polish woman just about welcomed us.....such a shame that most of the original staff have left.
All the atmosphere has disappeared.
Food was mediocre.......and the house wine was poor,with lumps of sediment in the glass.
Our complaints fell on deaf ears,so will let our feet do the talking.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 646johns646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

A half-price B&B deal through laterooms so very good value; very cosy small country-house atmosphere although one of our two standard double rooms was much better than the other and appeared to have been fairly recently refurbished but neither was bad and both had nice touches like free sherry, fruit and nuts as well as good coffee and fresh milk. Dinner was expensive but excellent although the fairly small menu was the same both nights and we ate very well at the larger of the two village pubs (Ashford Arms?) on the second evening. Certainly worth considering if you are looking for a quiet and comfortable country break with lots of nice places within easy reach.

Room Tip: Not all standard en suite rooms have baths
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Andrew893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 26, 2012

This was our 2nd stay here, we were sorry to see that the previous Restaurant Manager had left, and has been replaced by the most awful "lady" imaginable. Kathyrn, I think her name was was very abrupt and quite rude upon our arrival. It seemed a little too much trouble for her to show us too our room, she "huffed and puffed" all the way there, we felt very put out but this.

The room, "mulberry" was as wonderful as we remembered it, full of the nice little surprised mentioned in previous reviews, fruit, nuts, tea's, FRESH COFFEE (not Nescafe!!) fresh milk and biscuits!.

Dinner, well what can I say, this would have been ruined by the aforementioned Kathryn, she had a limited knowledge of the actual menu and no knowledge about the wines we had chosen, very unprofessional! Luckily the night was saved from total disaster by Jo and the food, she was great, food was, as last time exceptional.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

What a lovely relaxing place this is. Made to feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble.
Our room was their most basic but it was still extremely good and the bathroom, with a huge claw foot bath was excellent. The view from our window was stunning, you could see the river and fields.
The room was warm and the facilities good.
The food was excellent
Well Done !!

Room Tip: we were in 'Fern' and although the view was supposed to be over the car park to the river/fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catcoachyorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashford-in-the-Water
1.5 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
384 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
4.8 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Lathkil Hotel
The Lathkil Hotel
#1 of 1 in Over Haddon
162 reviews
9.1 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
9.7 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside House Hotel

Property: Riverside House Hotel
Address: Fennel Street, Ashford-in-the-Water, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1QF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell > Ashford-in-the-Water
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ashford-in-the-Water
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverside House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Riverside House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Bakewell
Riverside House Hotel Peak District National Park/Ashford-In-The-Water, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing