We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return visit to lovely cottage”
Review of Churchdale Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ashford-in-the-Water
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Churchdale Farm
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This was our third stay in Dove Cottage at Churchdale Farm. The cottage is clean, comfortable and well equipped. Waiting for us on arrival was a much appreciated Bakewell Pudding. It's in a quiet location, and convenient for exploring this part of the Peak District. There is plentiful information on places to visit as well as pubs and restaurants. For walkers, the Monsal Trail is just a 5 minute stroll down the driveway.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NB_Kent42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 58 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2013

This has been our third stay - and Wye Cottage was as good and comfortable as ever. The cottage is well equipped and there is good information about places to visit, and sound information about restaurants/pubs. The cottages are very close to the Monsal Trail and so it is possible to walk to Bakewell, Tideswell, Cheedale and many other places, directly from Churchdale. We would happily recommend these cottages.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank MJandK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Lovely property to stay as a small family - very spacious and comfortable - we felt very much at home right from the start. The cottage was well equipt for all our needs - event a travel cot!
The owner was very hospitable but not overbearing at all.
I see someone else mentioned Henrietta the hen - very eager to get to you, that's all I say!
Would consider staying again a nd definitely recommend to others

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ldt2911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

The location of these cottages is sublime. It's a good distance from the main road so you don't really hear any traffic. It's amazing how loud the sound of chewing sheep can seem when you're somewhere so peaceful. There are animals all around - sheep, horses, chickens, cows, and if your want something more exotic, there are water buffalo the other side of Ashford!
It's close to Chatsworth House, the Monsal Trail and various idyllic villages. Perfect if you want to show an international visitor the better side of Britain.
The cottage was very comfortable and nicely decorated. There were books and games in the cupboard for cosy nights in. It would be ideal for a winter retreat.
At night it was completely dark and completely silent. We have a really comfortable bed at home so we're normally disappointed when we stay away, but the bed here was even more comfortable than ours. We slept brilliantly.
The cleanliness was OK but it did feel like it had been cleaned in a hurry. Tidy on the surface but not deep down clean. It would be nice if the cleaner could be given a bit more time to get it spotless.
All in all we enjoyed our stay and would definitely come again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed at Churchdale Farm for two weeks in July. It was our first visit to the Peak District. We had a lovely holiday! Our hosts were very welcoming. The cottage was well equiped with all mod cons and cosy for relaxing. We had neighbours in adjoining cottages but there was a lot of privacy. We used our picnic table for some meals as we were fortunate with lovely warm weather. One of the chickens kept visiting us!
There's lots to see and do near Churchdale Farm. We took strolls along the public footpath to Ashford-in-the-Water, did the Monsal Trail by bike (lovely views) and we made various trips to nearby Bakewell, for groceries and shopping. Lots of nice jewellery at Stone Art.
A little bit further away was Dovedale Valley, which was lovely for a more serious walk. We went early and it got much busier later in the day. Haddon Hall and Chatsworth were certainly worth the effort, for a taste of England's rich history. Very different, but both lovely and interesting. For eating out we would recommend the White Lion in Great Longstone or the Bull's Head in Ashford.
We know there's lots more that we haven't seen, so we would definitely consider booking Churchdale Farm again the future.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolien37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed in July and had a lovely time. Handy for the Monsal trail. Chatsworth house and Haddon hall worth a visit. Pubs nearby do good food. Bakewell near to hand. Enjoyed coming back to the cottage and chilling out at the picnic table. Henrietta the hen was always waiting to greet us.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronnie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed in Derwent with our 1 year old and found it extremely comfortable and a very well laid out house. It was really well equipped and location wise could not have been better for exploring the Monsal Trail and Chatsworth as well as nearby towns such as Bakewell. There is a wealth of child friendly activities on your doorstep so we didn't have to travel far. We would thoroughly recommend this cottage.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmilyJaneYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashford-in-the-Water
0.0 mi away
Dale End House
Dale End House
#12 of 21 in Bakewell
10 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riverside House Hotel
Riverside House Hotel
#2 of 4 in Ashford-in-the-Water
233 reviews
0.0 mi away
River Cottage
River Cottage
#1 of 4 in Ashford-in-the-Water
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Churchdale Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Churchdale Farm

Address: Ashford-in-the-Water, Ashford-in-the-Water, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1NX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell > Ashford-in-the-Water
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Ashford-in-the-Water
Price Range: $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Churchdale Farm 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Churchdale Farm offers 3 spacious owner-managed 5 star holiday cottages. They are beautifully furnished, have a wealth of exposed beams, log burning stoves, free WiFi internet, freesat TV, DVD players etc. Formerly part of the Chatsworth Estate, Churchdale is a small working sheep farm and the cottages have been converted from old farm buildings ideal for couples and young families. Churchdale Farm, in the centre of the Peak District is within 5 miles of Chatsworth, Haddon Hall and Bakewell. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Churchdale Farm Peak District National Park/Ashford-In-The-Water, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing