We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, quiet, easy access to countryside..........perfect”
Review of Churchdale Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ashford-in-the-Water
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Churchdale Farm
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing, quiet, easy access to countryside..........perfect”
Reviewed September 19, 2011

This is the 3rd time we have stayed at Dove Cottage, the first in Nov 2008 when we were 2, again in April 2010 when we were 2 plus small baby and we have just had our 3rd stay now that our little girl is nearly 2 years old. The cottage is really lovely, being warm, cosy and very well presented. Everything that you could need is on hand and if you needed something I can't help but feel that Sarah (owner) would have it for you before you finished asking!
The location is excellent, you can walk or cycle straight onto the Monsal trail which takes you to Buxton or Bakwell. There is plenty of good walking off either side of the trail and there is a very pleasant walk down the village (pub, shop, cafe etc). A mere 10 minutes by car and you reach Parsly Hay with access to the High Peak and Tissington trail and bike hire on site.

All in all excellent accomodation, location and owner - you even get a free cake on your arrival which starts the inevitable Chatsworth theme to anyone's holiday in this area.

We will return!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manorfarmboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
33
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

My partner and I stayed in Derwent Cottage with our two daughters, and half way through the week I went on the Churchdale website to check for any cancellations in order to extend our stay - that's how nice this place is! The 3 cottages are in a wonderfully quiet location, and Derwent (the only cottage big enough for four) was better equipped than our own house. Ashford-in-the-water is a 2 minute drive away (you can walk there across fields in 15 minutes) and the river there is perfect for paddling - wide and shallow, with some fun over-the-knee dips. You can also walk to Bakewell in about 40 minutes via bridleway that takes you across hills and alongside dairy fields - it's beautiful, with views that belong on postcards. Chatsworth is a ten minute drive away and brilliant fun (the water cascade can be paddled in and the rock garden clambered around), and the pretty river at Dovedale is about a half hour drive away. You can walk to the Monsal Trail in ten minutes (a disused railway line, free from cars), and it's worth hiring cycles to bike out through the long dark tunnels and out to the viaduct. The location of the cottages is perfect for walking, paddling, cycling and driving - we felt very lucky to have "landed" there! My daughters (aged 6 and 3) enjoyed being terrorised by the local chickens who would hear us arrive and hurtle over to say hello, and it won't be long before we go back there. Judging from the visitors book in Derwent, the other guests all feel the same. It is absolutely lovely.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Knotofpeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We stayed for a week in Dove cottage (sleeps 3 people) and had a fabulous week. The cottage was spotlessly clean and very well equipped with the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in! (we are trying to source a similar mattress for our home as I write this!!). There were lots of birds in the garden (and some very friendly hens!) also lovely countryside all around us. The nearby village of Bakewell is beautiful and there is lots to do in the surrounding area which was important to us with an energetic 7 year old boy in tow! We would happily return in the future.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkshire_sweeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2011

Taken me a while to write this review, but it is worth commenting on our stay. We found the cottages easily and were delighted with the area when we arrived. The cottage we stayed in was Wye Cottage, a beautiful 2 person cottage with a lovely kitchen and bathroom that were obviously new. The environment is well cared for, the cottages are well appointed and the owners lovely. We had a lovely stay and we will be going back. It deserves to be highly rated as the owners have put so much though and attention into the place. We have stayed in many cottages and this was by far the best.

Thank you for lending us such a beautiful cottage for a truly memorable weekend.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeyneTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 20, 2011

We stayed in Wye Cottage at Churchadale...a converted barn building made with the beautiful local stone.

Inside the kitchen had all mod cons, an excellent oven and a dishwasher. We made a massive roast dinner the one night we did`nt go out to eat.

The living room again had all mod cons, Sky, CD player etc, not that we used any of these really. Most importantly, a wood burning stove which kept us warm during those crisp and frosty nights in March 2010.

As you walk upstairs to the bedroom you are taken aback by the size of the room, its huge, with impressive wooden beams and country style wardrobe and furniture, adding to the whole comfortable cottage theme.

The cottage is 2x minutes drive from the centre of Ashford, we had a fantastic meal in the Bull in the village centre, had a couple of good ales to sup on.

The cottage had everything we needed, highly recommended, we will definately come back here. In fact, we cant wait to get back..

Sarah, the owner was helpful and very friendly, on arrival she met us and gave us a good overview of the cottage and facilities etc.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Wozzzup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 7, 2011

We stayed in this beautifully appointed, two bedroom upside down cottage for a New Years break. Everything we could have wished for had been thoughtfully provided including logs for the fire. An exceptionally well equipped kitchen would have been easy to use had we chosen to eat in. Plenty of good easy walking nearby and we enjoyed a walk along the nearby disused railway to find a good venue for lunch in the old station at Hassop. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nealevictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hungerford
1 review
Reviewed May 9, 2010

What better way to spend a week away from the busy aspects of modern life - motorways, work pressures and housework - than away from it all in a beautiful part of the countryside. The Peak District offers all you could want - stunning scenery, rugged & barren landscapes, verdant valleys and plentiful walks together with ancient towns and villages, interesting ancient houses, shopping (for those with a penchant for this type of leisure) - the list goes on......

Churchdale Farm sits in the midst of this - not far from Bakewell but far enough away from everything that on sunny evenings the peace and quiet is "deafening". The cottages are well laid out and have every conveneience and comfort. In addition, the car, if one so desires, can be left untouched for the whole week with plentiful and varied walks from the doorstep and several excellent pubs in the immediate area.

All in all a wonderful cottage in a wonderful location.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimothyBHungerford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Churchdale Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Churchdale Farm

Property: Churchdale Farm
Address: Ashford-in-the-Water, Ashford-in-the-Water, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1NX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell > Ashford-in-the-Water
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Ashford-in-the-Water
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Churchdale Farm 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Churchdale Farm offers 3 spacious owner-managed 5 star holiday cottages. They are beautifully furnished, have a wealth of exposed beams, log burning stoves, free WiFi internet, freesat TV, DVD players etc. Formerly part of the Chatsworth Estate, Churchdale is a small working sheep farm and the cottages have been converted from old farm buildings ideal for couples and young families. Churchdale Farm, in the centre of the Peak District is within 5 miles of Chatsworth, Haddon Hall and Bakewell. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Churchdale Farm Peak District National Park/Ashford-In-The-Water, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing