We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smart hotel and excellent restaurant in the Peak District”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Samuel Fox Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Bradwell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Smart hotel and excellent restaurant in the Peak District”
Reviewed September 5, 2009

My wife and I had a great stay at this very smart, modern hotel. We were there for two nights with our baby.

The hotel has four rooms and a pub restaurant below.

The welcome and service was very good throughout the stay. Rooms were a comfortable size, very clean and luxurious.

The highlight was the restaurant. It served an excellent menu of modern British cuisine.

It probably isn't ideal with small children, but then tries to appeal to couples rather than families. We were lucky we were the only guests as they would have been kept awake by the baby.

The reason I didn't give it an excellent rating is due to the location. Whilst near to Castleton, Edale and the excellent countryside, the hotel is next to a main road which mars the tranquillity of the place. When you book ask for a room at the back, away from the road, if you think it would disturb you.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garenceLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    30
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
29
192
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Amersham Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2009

My wife & I booked 3 nights accomodation for bed & breakfast with Late Rooms at a cost of £115 per day. The inn only has 4 rooms, we were shown room no1 which was clean & tidy. It was a small room with the smallest double bed I have ever seen, it was more like a large single.The bathroom was also clean but again small. The inn is situated immediately on a very busy road, it is opposite the entrance to the local sports club & also adjacent to a camping & caravan site. The traffic starts at around 4.30am and finishes about midnight. The television is only able to recieve 4 channels, BBC 1 & 2, ITV1 & channel 4. There are no satellite channels.
We went to bed to be awakened at 4,30am by the first of many cars & vans passing the window taking local people to work. After that the traffic noise was non-stop.
We went to breakfast that morning to be told that they had run out of orange juice, which seems odd as there were only 6 guests, however the food was well cooked & tasty.
We spent the day in the local area & later had an evening meal in the restaurant which was delicious but was expensive considering the small size of the portions.
We were awakened at 4.15am by the start of the days traffic outside.
At breakfast there was plenty of orange juice, but the black pudding had run out and we were limited to 1 sausage as they too were in short supply. I asked the waitress how on earth they could run out with only 6 over-night guests, but she apparently didn't know.
Again we went out, intending to tour the local area, but after a few hours as the weather was so bad we returned to the inn at 2.15pm and were surprised to find that our room had not been made up. On telephoning Kelly, the manager we were told that she had been busy with lunches & she didn't have the time. Her attitude was very much 'take it or leave it'. I decided that for £115 a day we were entitled to a far better service & attitude from the manager. Ten minutes later we booked out.
My wife & I have stayed in many guest houses & hotels throughout the world, but find it is only in the UK that this silly 'take it or leave it attitude' persists.
I'm sure there must be plenty of excellent hotels/guest houses in the Peak District, sadly the Samuel Fox Inn is not one of them!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RretiredOnHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2009

We had a lovely stay at this Inn. The inn itself has recently been refurbished and is very tastefully done. The room was very comfortable with lovely views.The bar and restaurant has a relaxing atmosphere, the food was excellent and an effort has been made in the choice of wines and beers. The breakfast was one of the best we have ever had and certainly set us up for the day. The location is perfect for exploring the Peak District and there are fantastic local walks. We have already recommended to friends and would be delighted to repeat our visit.

Kelly and Charlie are fantastic hosts, they will exhaust themselves looking after you and yet are always cheery and pleasant and make you feel like nothing it too much trouble.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaDave35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2009

We booked this B&B very last minute on laterooms.com and got a fantastic deal. It was a shame to see that no other rooms where taken whilst we were there but it was to our advantage as we were given the best room.

The room was decorated lovely, with a very comfy bed looking out onto a fantastic view of the rolling hills (see photo). As other reviews have mentioned fresh ground coffee is supplied for your arrival along with fresh milk. In their brochure they do mention supplying home made cookies on arrival, but we didnt not receive these (im nitpicking!)

The room we had, had a bath which was very welcome. Free Wi-Fi also!

We dined in the restaurant in the evening. Food was delicious and very reasonable pricing. Again very quiet though as we were the only diners.

Breakfast in the morning was the highlight of the stay. Choice of cereal, yoghurts, pain au chocolats, toast and then a choice of freshly cooked hot breakfast, salmon and scrambled eggs, full english etc... Was great.

If you are staying in the Peak District I would recommend staying here. The next day we visited Chatsworth House and took us about 20 minutes to get there.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mooeyitfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2009

We stayed here for one night during June and found it a thoroughly enjoyable experience. The Inn is situated in on the main road through Bradwell although traffic noise is fairly minimal. The building has obviously been refurbished in the recent past and this has been done in a sympathetic way. The room we had was well appointed, modern yet comfortable, and most importantly it was spotlessly clean. Nice touches included fresh milk (rather than the awful UHT you normally get in hotels) in the room, high quality toiletries, good quality linen. We ate here at night and had the cooked breakfast. Both meals were of a high quality and cooked to order. The hosts are very pleasant, friendly and professional. I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a break in the countryside.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashover
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2009

What can I say. The rooms were beautiful, the bed very comfortable and the food second to none. The steak was so tender it was like cutting through butter and the trio of creme brulie was to die for. We wish Charles and Kelly all the luck in the world. The 5 AA stars are fully deserved.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaireH95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welland Valley
1 review
Reviewed May 6, 2009

My wife Debbie and I stayed for a short break in February and had a fabulous time at the Samuel Fox. The inn is luxuriously furnished without being ostentatious, with the bedroom particularly having the feel of "a special treat" about it. The food was absolutely superb from start to finish and the welcome and service were professional and personal at the same time. The location in Bradwell is ideal for exploring the many attractions nearby without being in the midst of the busiest spots. I would recommend the Samuel Fox without hesitation and hope Kelly and Charlie get the success they so clearly deserve for providing such an oasis of pleasure. Peter & Debbie Smith

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tallpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bradwell
3.4 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
388 reviews
2.1 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
1.7 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
7.9 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
678 reviews
8.4 mi away
Old Hall Inn
Old Hall Inn
#9 of 160 in Peak District National Park
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samuel Fox Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samuel Fox Country Inn

Property: Samuel Fox Country Inn
Address: Stretfield, Bradwell, Peak District National Park S33 9JT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Bradwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Bradwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Samuel Fox Country Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Samuel Fox Country Inn is situated in the pretty village of Bradwell in the heart of the Hope Valley in Derbyshire's peak District National park and offers breathtaking views from the bar and restaurant. The building underwent a full refurbishment in July 2008 and is modern and stylish while still managaing to retain its rustic charm. All of its rooms are delux double rooms with en-suite bathrooms; they have at least 26 inch flat screen televisions;internet access and coffee and tea facilities. In October 2012 the Inn was acquired by new manager and head chef, James Duckett in his first pub venture after an early career in the kitchens of fine dining restaurants in the UK, France, Netherlands and Australia and, more recently running his own restaurants in Devon and Andalucia. James is passionate about food and uses, wherever possible, good locally sourced, seasonal ingredients to create mouthwatering dishes, for his 'blackboard' bar snacks and a la carte lunch and dinner menus alike. With two AA rosettes, fine food is a special feature of the Samuel Fox. However, there's also a very warm welcome awaiting those wishing to just enjoy a drink in comfortable and convivial surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Samuel Fox Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Samuel Fox Country Hotel Bradwell
Samuel Fox Country Inn Bradwell, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing