We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Dinner”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Samuel Fox Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Bradwell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Whaley Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First Class Dinner”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We had lunch at the Samuel Fox a few weeks ago after receiving an email about the change of ownership, and the food was excellent, so we decided to return for dinner yesterday evening. We were made very welcome, and recognised on our return, which was nice, and the front of house team of Gareth and Sabrina could not have been more helpful. The food was simply superb, and is perhaps some of the best we have had for a long time, I would certainly recommend The Samuel Fox to anyone and we will be returning with our friends in the New Year.It is owners like James who want all the support they can, as in the current climate running a pub/restaurant cannot be easy, but the whole team are to be congratulated. Thanks for an enjoyable meal and evening. Roger and Joan Wood

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roger w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    30
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
29
192
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bradwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

This was a meal out for the Father-in-laws birthday so it needed to be something a little bit special and we were not disappointed.

As residents of Bradwell, my wife & I were aware that it had changed hands with a new chef-owner keen to make his mark in the area, previous dining experiences there had been positive but this was going to be James' debut for us.

A warm welcome upon arrival with a good choice of gin's for me and the Mother-in-law and apple juice on offer for the drivers as well as the usual orange and soft drinks.

The ladies had the Jerusalem artichoke soup which, given by the appreciative noises, they'd have had a couple more bowls of and been happy with that as the whole meal! We also had Game terrine and Potted Trout which was well received.

Mains were a hanger steak, expertly described by the front of house staff but I'm now too full to remember what was actually said, two Roast pheasant on braised sprouts, bacon and parsnips and a traditional Sunday roast beef dinner. A good choice of wines by the glass for those that wanted it that didn't penalise us for not buying an bottle, along with a good off-list recommendation. Clean plates all round - enough said.

The birthday boy got his heart felts desire with an off menu sticky toffee pudding, two lemon cream deserts for the ladies and I had Marshmallow meringue with roasted pear, nice & chewy on the inside, flavoursome mini cubes of pear dotted around the outside.

Coffees and chocolate rounded off the meal. The service attentive and friendly but unobtrusive. Everything spotless, tidy, well stoked log burning stove in the lounge area, toilets immaculate, all good.

This family foursome regularly eat out at the upper end of the dining spectrum so we'd like to think we know what we are about with grading a meal. All of us were totally happy with everything. Come and see the amazing scenery and try some excellent food in the Hope Valley.

Room Tip: I haven't slept here but I live in the village which is on a side route, a B road, so I'm no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I stayed here with four friends on the weekend of 8/9th December 2012. We all agreed it was a first class hotel. James, the owner and chef, could not do enough to help make our stay enjoyable. The meals were amazing, the bedrooms cozy, clean and spacious, the bar area welcoming and warm, and the service by Gareth and Sabrina was second to none.
We thoroughly enjoyed our time at The Samuel Fox, and would definitely recommend it.

Janice B Leicestershire

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaybee779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

I lived in Bradwell a million years ago and remember the Sam Fox (it had another name then) as a bit of a blowsy old boozer. It's had a proper scrub-up and looks very inviting from the outside. Inside there's too much conservatory-like furniture (I trust the new chef/owner will be replacing it when he finds the budget?) but the thankfully short blackboard lunch menu was really interesting and I wanted to try most things on it. The rabbit terrine with homemade pickle and slice of warm brioche was faultless and a snip at 6.50. Likewise goats cheese, pear and Cumbrian ham salad - full of flavour and very nicely put together. Despite the cluttered appearance of the bar and dining room I'll call in again; James Duckett is one talented chef.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsfifties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Four of us stayed in this Hotel for two nights the 23rd and 24th Nov 2012. We are real foodies I can only say this is some of the best food we have ever had. Our companion staying with us is a very fussy vegetarian, James the Hotel chef and Owner could not have done enough to help her with her menu choices and made her what she wanted, have never seen her clear her plate of all three courses in our entire 25 yrs friendship!!, she was very impressed as were the rest of us. The staff are very friendly and nothing is to much trouble. It is an immmaculate Hotel very clean and fresh looking. The rooms are very spacious and decorated to a very good standard the bed was very comfortable. We will definately be returning here next year when the weather is a bit nicer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I dined here Saturday 24/11/2012 all i can say is, The best meal i have ever had, (and i have eaten in all the best places) a truly exquisite meal and can not wait to return.
We had, Wood Pigeon, Wild Rabbit, Pheasant, Duck & a Fish course, all excellent.
I will recomend this to everyone i know and more.
Gill Sheffield

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Called in at this country pub recently, only for a meal not to stay.
They did'nt have what we wanted on the lunchtime menu but they were most helpful and rustled us up sandwiches with very good chips,(soft in the middle, crisp on the outside) perfect.
Dessert was a delicious Lemon posset with blueberries and mini doughnuts .The portion sizes were well judged.
Service was very friendly and relaxed, would go again if in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank italytraveller099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bradwell
3.4 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
388 reviews
2.1 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
19.4 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District
7.9 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
675 reviews
8.4 mi away
Old Hall Inn
Old Hall Inn
#9 of 160 in Peak District National Park
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samuel Fox Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samuel Fox Country Inn

Property: Samuel Fox Country Inn
Address: Stretfield, Bradwell, Peak District National Park S33 9JT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Bradwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Bradwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Samuel Fox Country Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Samuel Fox Country Inn is situated in the pretty village of Bradwell in the heart of the Hope Valley in Derbyshire's peak District National park and offers breathtaking views from the bar and restaurant. The building underwent a full refurbishment in July 2008 and is modern and stylish while still managaing to retain its rustic charm. All of its rooms are delux double rooms with en-suite bathrooms; they have at least 26 inch flat screen televisions;internet access and coffee and tea facilities. In October 2012 the Inn was acquired by new manager and head chef, James Duckett in his first pub venture after an early career in the kitchens of fine dining restaurants in the UK, France, Netherlands and Australia and, more recently running his own restaurants in Devon and Andalucia. James is passionate about food and uses, wherever possible, good locally sourced, seasonal ingredients to create mouthwatering dishes, for his 'blackboard' bar snacks and a la carte lunch and dinner menus alike. With two AA rosettes, fine food is a special feature of the Samuel Fox. However, there's also a very warm welcome awaiting those wishing to just enjoy a drink in comfortable and convivial surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Samuel Fox Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Samuel Fox Country Hotel Bradwell
Samuel Fox Country Inn Bradwell, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing