We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attention to detail falls down”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hope
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Attention to detail falls down”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Hotel is in a stunning location. Reception were helpful and friendly. Rooms were beautiful and the conservatory restaurant is stunning. However things that let the hotel down. The battery's in the remote didn't work and none were available. Tiles were missing in the spar area. The pool was cold and the steam room was broken. Nothing that really hampered our stay but just disappointed us slightly. The food is good. Somewhat small for a 3 rossette but the flavours work, be g a chef I was a little disappointed with the service as their shortage of knowledge about dishes lowered the quality of the food. Small gripes on an otherwise delightful stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wisewel05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulRodenLosehill, Owner at Losehill House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you for the review - we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay so much. You can rest assured that we have attended to the steam room and sauna already and the loose tile.

With regards to the food we have a pretty unique offer in the fine dining world of a menu that changes every day - which limits the ability of the staff to be as knowledgable about the dishes as normal - but we will take the point onboard and redouble our efforts to keep the team up to speed - even me when I am helping out!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,042 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    621
    285
    80
    39
    17
See reviews for
164
677
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Save your money and book the 5 star cottages next door.
The hot tub was not in use which was one of the reasons we chose this hotel.
The reception staff were incredibly rude and didn't smile once during our stay
The food although 'fine dining' when the menu states it's a 'rack of lamb' you don't expect one cutlet with a broccoli purée accomplishment. Think they must have ran out so we shared a meal between us.

The room was poor, shabby wooden floor and to lock the door you have to pull and bang it. So had poor sleep due to people in and out. Lacked the basics such as glasses in the room, a bed side lamp, and tooth paste. Water at reception is £5 per bottle...requires no further comments.

The only good thing about this hotel is the location and the views. This however can be offered by hotels next door for half the price. Will not be returning.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lisaddd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulRodenLosehill, Owner at Losehill House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us and that the hot tub was not working. The bottled water is free in the rooms which is purified and bottled on the premises using designer bottles - so if you would like to purchase the bottles they are available at reception - but I can assure you that the contents are free in the rooms.
Thankfully the hot tub is now working, the staff are smiling again, the food is hot and delighting guests - we will certainly do our best to keep things that way - thanks for keeping us on our toes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We stayed at this hotel to celebrate my husbands birthday and our anniversary , the setting is superb, and the staff very friendly and welcoming. The room was very comfortable and furnished with individual style obviously with the personal touch. The food was good and pleased to see it was locally sourced, we had the tasting menu but slightly over priced, but the wine was very expensive as were the drinks from the bar.
The car park is also very tight.
On their web site they said they would match any online quote, so we phoned to book direct with the hotel only to be told quite catagorically to go back and book online!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulRodenLosehill, Owner at Losehill House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank-you for the review - I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay - I have already spoken to the reception team and apologise for the initial response you were given to your enquiry - hopefully a mis-understanding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We booked our two night stay through Secret Escapes and were not disappointed. The hotel is in the most beautiful position with stunning views. The welcome at the hotel was very friendly. Our room was large, light and bright with plenty of mirrors and sufficient hanging space. Dinner was superb - we had three courses on both nights but could have chosen the taster menu. We really enjoyed the breakfast - plenty of choice. The staff on reception couldn't have been more helpful and service in the dining room was excellent.
We didn't use the spa facilities so have not scored this section of the review.
Our only criticism would be that service at breakfast on the second morning was a little slow but this wouldn't prevent us from staying here in the future.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 19 on the second floor. The room was quiet and very bright with an extremely comfo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulRodenLosehill, Owner at Losehill House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank-you for the review - the team really appreciate the kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

I stayed at Lose hill last year and enjoyed it but this time the experience was a little tired.
We stayed for 3 nights and the service was excellent however when you are served nearly the same menu everynight it becomes a little mundane. The breakfast was lovely and the toast is prepared and brought to the table.
The room though of a standard expected of this class of hotel was next to the cleaners cupboard and the lift so was noisy. We were also above the kitchen and could smell the food cooking.
We had some treatments, which varied in experience depending on the choice (the massage could have been a lot better) and cost about £60 for the 'hour' treatments.
There is a pool but 5-7 strokes and you are across it and the hot tub is outside which is a great feature but is often full of people ( as that too is small) and so use is limited. There are tables and seats outside but be careful which you choose as one is near the cesspit and the smell is awful.
On paying the bill we were informed that if we wanted to pay by credit card there would be a 2% charge which I found when spending this amount of money (over £900) detrimental to the experience.
I think with the choices of Hotels and superb B&B with magnificent views in the area I will give Losehill a rest and try somewhere new.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from lift and cleaners cupboard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank valerieM904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulRodenLosehill, Owner at Losehill House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank-you for the review - I can assure you that we will continue to strive to maximise the enjoyment of our guests and improve on any areas of weakness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

My husband and I have just returned from this amazing establishment were we stayed for one night on Easter Sunday. The hotel is set in an amazing setting among a back drop of beautful countryside. The food was exquisite and the staff could not do enough for you. We swam in the lovely pool and used the sauna and steam room these facilities were excellent as was the service from all the staff who were extremely pleasent. The bed was so comfy that I did not want to get out.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2 excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 756JoanneE756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulRodenLosehill, Owner at Losehill House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us - thankyou for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhodes
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Having read such fantastic reviews about this place I can only assume our experience was a one off. There are many other hotels in the same area but we chose this particular hotel based on the unique feature of the hot tub, which unfortunately upon arrival we were told this was out of use. We expressed our disappointment to several members of the reception staff who appeared disinterested, eventually all that was offered was a complimentary drink with our evening meal, not quite the level of service we expected when paying the luxuary 4 star prices.

We stayed in a family suit, which had one double bed in a luxuary bedroom and two single beds in a very basic room. The rooms were very clean but the room with the two single beds was lacking in decor. It was like staying in a completely different standard of hotel, there was not even the basics such as a bedside lamp.

The breakfast was fantastic and could not fault, however the dinner was poor. It was one of the worst fine dining dinner experiences we have ever had. The food was luke warm and the portions were tiny. Before ordering it was suggested by a member of staff we order an extra side of vegetables to accompany our meal, this should not be nessaccery when paying £40 per head to begin with. The restaurant area itself was fantastic, the views are stunning.

Overall we still managed to have an excellent stay in the Peak District, but the hotel could have made the experience far more enjoyable. The reason for the booking was mainly for the hotub, because this was out of use we feel we could have booked the hotel next door which cost not even half the price we paid here. We felt the staff could have done more to rectify the problem but just weren't bothered.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WSophfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulRodenLosehill, Owner at Losehill House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
I am pleased that you enjoyed your visit to the Peak District. Sadly last week - Easter week after working perfectly for months we had 3 boiler failures resulting in a temperature problem with the hot tub - unfortunately the team were helpless to rectify the problem over the long Bank Holiday weekend - no matter how many times they apologised it couldn't be fixed. I assure you that our team do care.
This week thankfully the hot-tub is fully operational I checked it today at 40' but this week isn't Easter..........I can only apologise for the guests whos holidays were spoiled by not being able to use the hot-tub last week.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hope
21.3 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
10.7 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
383 reviews
10.8 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
13.3 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
4.6 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Losehill House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Losehill House Hotel & Spa

Property: Losehill House Hotel & Spa
Address: Lose Hill Lane | Edale Road, Hope Valley, Derbyshire, Hope, Peak District National Park S33 6AF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Hope
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hope
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Losehill House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The finest Hotel & Spa in the Peak District National Park ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Losehill House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Losehill House Hotel Hope
Losehill House Hotel And Spa
Losehill Hotel Hope
Losehill House Hotel & Spa Hope, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing