We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fabulous Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hope
Certificate of Excellence
Knebworth Herts
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A Fabulous Stay”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

My husband booked a 2 night stay at this hotel for our 51st Wedding Anniversary. It is a lovely Hotel in a beautiful setting, a few minutes from the centre of Hope but extremely peaceful. Our room was gorgeous, very large, with a king size bed, plenty of room to move around and with an adjoining, huge, bathroom with a bath and a walk-in shower. We also had a separate sitting room which was very comfortable, with another TV and a couch and coffee table and, of course, the usual high quality tea and coffee equipment. Unusually for most hotels these days, there was an ample number of clothing hangers! We didn't use the Spa, the Pool or the Hot Tub as our main objective was to see as much of the Peak District as we could in the short time we had there, but they all looked very inviting. The grounds were very attractive and well-kept. The Staff were extremely helpful, very friendly without being intrusive, and very efficient. The Restaurant, which is in a Conservatory area, is beautifully designed and very comfortable, with lovely views of the grounds and the nearby Peaks. The food, both for breakfast and dinners, was excellent. A varied menu (with a 7 course tasting menu on one of our nights) was beautifully cooked and presented. It is hard to find any fault at all with this Hotel. If one wanted to be a bit picky I would say that the armchairs in the lounge have fairly low seats and at our advanced years it was a bit of struggle to get out of them once we were settled into them! A few armchairs with slightly higher seats would be nice. But I am reluctant to fault the entire experience, which was delightful. We will certainly return at some point....we still have much of Derbyshire to see and this is a great central point from which to do so.

Room Tip: We had room 25 which, we were told as we left, is the Bridal Suite. It is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Conquerors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulRodenLosehill, Owner at Losehill House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay the Peak District is a great area with so much to see and do. The chairs in the lounge are hand made by a local Derbyshire artisan manufacturer - many of them are great to relax in - but we do have a few higher positioned ones that are made for easier access!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    627
    285
    81
    40
    17
See reviews for
166
682
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

I visited the hotel with my boyfriend for my birthday using the Secret Escape deal of £249 for 2 people including breakfast, lunch, spa treatments each and a 7 course taster menu and it was incredible!
Our room was huge and the bed was really comfy, the bathroom is also really impressive with a huge shower and free standing bath. The staff were all really helpful ( especially at dinner) and the highlight of the stay really had to be the incredible food! The 7 course tasting menu was fantastic and each dish was truly delicious.
I would absolutely recommend staying here and would definitely love to return again soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sylvie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulRodenLosehill, Owner at Losehill House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Many thanks for the review it is so important to the team for our guests to enjoy their stay - we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

I don't really have any criticisms.

Stayed one night in deluxe kings room. Furniture was tasteful and bed extremely comfy. Shower, in fabulously large bathroom, was amazing.

Possibly the changing area for the spa is a little tired, but certainly didn't detract from the great pool and fab jacuzzi.

Staff were professional but friendly, quite a rare combination. My partner had a plaster on and crutches and all staff were attentive and prepared (footstools at the ready wherever we went!)

Evening meal was great in lovely surroundings.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Becky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulRodenLosehill, Owner at Losehill House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay - we are continually looking to improve the guest experience at Losehill and we will be looking at the spa area very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Spend a long weekend at the Losehill and was thoroughly impressed with the hotel, its' facilities and its' staff.
The location is terrific, with great views from every side.
I thought the room (standard double) although on the small size was fine. Adequately furnished and well stocked with sundries etc. Really good shower (!).
The pool, sauna and steam room were great to unwind for an hour or two. I don't do hot tubs, but it looked busy.
The restaurant was unsurpassed. Food amazing; Evening meal could not be faulted with a really good selection of wines to choose from. Breakfast too was faultless. Nice relaxed bar area prior to dining.
I think over the three day stay I came across about six to eight of the staff and in every instant they were an absolute credit to the venue. Attentive, couldn't be more helpful, nothing was too much trouble and all carried out with a positive cheery outlook.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whukap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulRodenLosehill, Owner at Losehill House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank-you for the review - the team really appreciate the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Booked a special rate through secret escapes - good value for money. Deluxe room pleasant and comfortable.
Had been worried after reading done reviews but found service to be pleasant and unobtrusive - and the taster menu was very enjoyable and more than enough to fill us. Quality taste and presentation all there.
Spa treatments very pleasant and relaxing.
Only gripes - long wait for dinner - had booked for 730 but 1st course not served until 845 and our bread was clearly forgotten - served after our starter - and overheated to the point that I couldn't cut with my knife as so hard.
Overall an enjoyable stay which could have been made excellent given a little more attention to detail.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma4652014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulRodenLosehill, Owner at Losehill House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. The breads are all home made and served after the first course of the taster menu - we will certainly make sure that they are not overcooked in future. The 7 course menu does take a considerable period of time with each course being individually prepared but we will take note of your comments on speed.
Thank-you for the feedback it is important for us to continually seek excellence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We have just come back from a lovely 3 day break staying at Losehill House Hotel and Spa. Some friends recommended it and it did not disappoint. We stayed in a dog friendly room with our much loved pouch which was clean and adequate for our needs. Lovely comfy bed, lovely hot water at all times, gorgeous white large fluffy towels, bathrobes, mules etc. The wooden floor is understandable given that it is a dog friendly room but the furniture was a bit tired and very basic for a 4 star hotel. These are just little gripes and did not detract from our enjoyment. The staff were so helpful, both at reception and in the restaurant and the standard of food surpassed anything we have had in the many 5 star hotels we have stayed in. The pool and spa facilities were excellent and the ambience of the hotel oozed charm and relaxation. We will definitely return and would recommend the hotel to anyone seeking relaxation and high standards. Thanks to all the staff for their wonderful hospitality

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gunnsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulRodenLosehill, Owner at Losehill House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank-you for the review - I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We will certainly be upgrading the furniture in that particular room - the order is being placed this week with the local furniture maker in the village!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

I stayed here with my girlfriend on the day of our engagement. The location is the real star of this hotel but it is backed up with friendly staff, good service, good facilities and lovely rooms.

We had a lovely afternoon in the spa, relaxing and talking of the exciting times to come. The food in the evening lived up to expectations and really made it a special visit for us. The waiting staff were very helpful and friendly.

The only downside of our visit was the noise of other guests in the room above and across the hall. I don't think they were being intentionally noisy so we didn't complain, the walls just seem very thin so it can be noisy.

Overall it was a fantastic memorable stay and I would like to thank you for making our engagement special.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulRodenLosehill, Owner at Losehill House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
I am really pleased that you chose to stay with us at Losehill for your engagement and that you enjoyed your stay. We will certainly investigate your comments and take whatever action we can to ensure the enjoyment of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hope
21.3 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
13.3 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
10.7 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
9.8 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
9.9 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Losehill House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Losehill House Hotel & Spa

Property: Losehill House Hotel & Spa
Address: Lose Hill Lane | Edale Road, Hope Valley, Derbyshire, Hope, Peak District National Park S33 6AF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Hope
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hope
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Losehill House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The finest Hotel & Spa in the Peak District National Park ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your Losehill House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Losehill House Hotel And Spa
Losehill House Hotel Hope
Losehill Hotel Hope
Losehill House Hotel & Spa Hope, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing