We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Found a Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hope
Certificate of Excellence
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Found a Gem”
Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

I took a group of 14 walkers for four days, three nights in the Derbyshire Dales. We had some teething
problems on the first night with drinks, canapés and the food order but after that everything went very
well indeed. The staff were unfailingly kind and considerate, the food was excellent - both breakfasts and
dinners- and the rooms were well appointed, spacious and very comfortable. Paul, who owns the hotel
is charming and involved and Amanda on reception made sure that everything ran smoothly for us.The hotel
is well situated in the Dales close to Hathersage,Eyam, Castelton, Monsal Head and Bakewell. We
shall be coming back!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    599
    278
    75
    39
    17
See reviews for
159
656
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Me and my ex came to this hotel in February. I love the location of this hotel. It is very nice and clean. I had a facial which i really enjoyed.

We had our dinner in the restaurant and the belly pork was really really delicious. The ambience was really good. I love the fact that they play piano at the background and the pianist play a lot of my favourite songs- ie Adele.

It is a very nice hotel serve superb breakfast .

I would highly recommend this hotel for a romantic gateaway.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Screenname1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol,UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stayed 2 separate nights and both stays were excellent. The hotel is deep in amazing country, currently with lambs all over it. Both times the rooms were very well appointed, had really comfortable beds and beautiful views. The staff were wonderful, very professional but very friendly. The food was absolutely top notch at every point and the wine list extensive. I would recommend this hotel very highly and we are already planning our return.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKJmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We were here for one night after attending a wedding, the setting is perfect, we has a great room with a very scenic view at the rear of the hotel it was large and well appointed , the bed was very comfortable.The wedding was well organised and the turn around from service to meal to evening party was good. The food was good at the wedding, breakfast was great as it was all table service with no buffet. Drinks were very expensive but I suppose that is usual for a four star hotel. Would like to go back again and also to take advantage of the spa.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back overlooking the hill
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel-en-le-Frith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We are getting married at Losehill Hotel in January 2014. My mother in law to be bought us a gift voucher to go for lunch so we took advantage of this during the recent sunny bank holiday.

We received a very warm welcome and were quickly shown to the lounge area to browse the menu and order drinks. Once our appetisers were ready we were shown to our table. We firstly had a few different types of home made bread, my favourite was the shallot bread.

Our starters were lovely and probably just about the right size. I had duck and goats cheese roulade and my fiance had a salmon starter, both were lovely!

For our main meal I had pork chop with a lovely potato croquette style bubble and squeek. My fiance had the vegitarian sausages which were devine, served with parsley mash. I felt the veggie sausage meal was a small portion but my meal filled me up.

We had puddings, I had a lovely white chocolate moose with a cherry jelly on top with a lively chocolate suprise in the middle. My fiance had a trifle with loads of fruit in the jelly, topped with a cool custard. Both were lovely, but I wish I'd gone for the trifle!

The service was brilliant. We were only in the hotel for a couple of hours but the staff made us feel very welcome. I'm certainly very excited for holding our wedding there and I'm confident my guests will love it just as much as I do.

See you in January, if not before :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, england
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Booked Losehill House for an overnight stay to celebrate our second wedding anniversary, after a number of recommendations. I must stay that the staff here are extremely helpful and the food is top notch. We had the spa to ourselves on our first day, I enjoyed a leisurely swim while my husband sat and read the complementary magazines found in the public areas if the hotel. We then enjoyed a dip in the outdoor jacuzzi, my husband went to fetch us a beverage from the bar but came back empty handed as he felt uncomfortable entering the bar in his complimentary bathrobe while other visitors were there in their suits.

After an excellent evening meal (turbut and oxtail starter for me, lamb rump for main and a very light but sublime honey desert) we retired to our extremely comfortable king size bed. The next morning we really didn't want to get up for breakfast as we laid in bed looking out at the wonderful views of a mountain. At breakfast in a quandary between a full cooked breakfast (I wanted to try a local sausage (!) ) or smoked salmon and scrambled eggs the waitress suggested I added a sausage to the scrambled egg dish. Thoughts of a mountain bike ride went out of the window as we returned to our room for another lay down!

Check out is 11am, and we went into the lounge for a coffee and to await our respective treatments at 12pm, which were part of the package deal we had booked.

After the treatments, which we agreed were lovely, we still couldn't bring ourselves to leave and enjoyed a sandwich and soup for lunch.

The relaxing music played in public areas of the hotel, played a part in creating the ambience of the hotel. Guests dress casually during the day (or in bathrobes) as they return from exploring the local area. At night the dress is anything from casual through to formal.

Would we return? Definitely. The decor in our bedroom was not exact (there were several roller marks on the ceiling, the plug sockets and notices were a bit squ-wif) but it didn't affect our stay!! We enjoyed a completely relaxing stay, though there are lots of things to do and see if you so wish.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlemisskeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Thanks for a great couple of nights.

The best things about Losehill are the location and the food both of which were spectacular. The rooms were adequate and the thin walls meant we could hear our neighbours but a minor gripe compared with the view from the window. We were fortunate to be allocated a room overlooking Winhill on an upper floor which meant that we weren't overlooked and were able to sleep with the curtains open and awaken to the first decent day of Spring outside.

Spa and pool good - especially the hot tub location which was lovely to use whilst looking out onto snow covered hills (if a little cold getting out!).

Food excellent with great wine list and dining room location with quick, friendly service.

Would recommend to anyone - but do try and get a room with a view.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcwf54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hope
21.3 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
4.6 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
378 reviews
10.7 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
The Maynard
The Maynard
#1 of 1 in Grindleford
366 reviews
9.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
9.9 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Losehill House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Losehill House Hotel & Spa

Property: Losehill House Hotel & Spa
Address: Lose Hill Lane | Edale Road, Hope Valley, Derbyshire, Hope, Peak District National Park S33 6AF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Hope
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hope
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Losehill House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The finest Hotel & Spa in the Peak District National Park ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Losehill House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Losehill House Hotel And Spa
Losehill House Hotel Hope
Losehill Hotel Hope
Losehill House Hotel & Spa Hope, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing