We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, customer service not so great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hope
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We booked this hotel for a birthday treat and loved the location plus the fact that there was an annex that permitted dogs. Despite paying top dollar we were intrigued that apart from the freshly-cooked breakfasts the dinners were delivered (the dog-friendly annex was next to the delivery entrance) by a catering company. Coming from London we are used to over-blown menus so were somewhat surprised in a country hotel to be served drizzles and jus and foams and gels on every dish. By day 3 we were desperate for a decent steak and broke out in search of less pretentious food.

Our bedroom was fine though the bathroom had seen better days. The silicon round the basin and bath was very well overdue for replacement, and surely housekeeping could have noticed that one of the two low wattage ceiling bulbs had blown? Perhaps it was too dark to see...

We booked the hotel because it advertised wifi. Being self-employed we had to access the internet while we were away, so we were miffed that in fact this was not available in the dog-friendly annex adjacent to the main house. Paying for a booster wouldn't have cost the owners much and would have made the world of difference to us. Having to lug our laptops in relay while to the main building while one of us dog-sat was a nuisance.

Finally we felt a distinct sense of ennui when one day a crudely blue-tacked notice appeared stuck to our sitting room wall stating that dogs should be kept out of the bedrooms. Rather unsubtle and not really dog-friendly, particularly in a dog-friendly hotel.

In short - great location, rather pretentious food, slightly snippy managerial attitude, tired bathroom and no internet connection. Shortly after our visit we emailed constructive feedback and received no reply. Which says it all, really.

Room Tip: No internet is available in the dog-friendly annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosiedLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulRodenLosehill, Owner at Losehill House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

We were a bit confused and concerned by the comment that we employ a catering company to produce our meals and don't respond to emails. The suggeston of a catering company is totally untrue all of our food is prepared, cooked and presented by our team of chefs in the kitchens at Losehill abeit using local ingredients and suppliers to the full.

With regards the email, we email all of our guests asking for feedback and I try to answer every response- although I may miss the odd one. We have found the email which was from a stay in June (5 months ago) there was good mention of the possible improvements to the room which we noted and passed to the maintenance team. There was no mention of wi-fi which is a challenge in the Peak District with our super slow very narrow band - although we are working with boosters to maximise the coverage. The comment on the f0od at the time was ' the staff were superb as was the food' - its a shame that the passage of time has faded the impression.

However, we constantly review our Restaurant menus and with the Winter upon us will be introducing more hearty dishes....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,089)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

790 - 796 of 1,089 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2012

This was our fourth visit. The hotel gets better each visit. The hotel has only been open a few years and the recently refurbished rooms are even more carefully prepared. The chef ( in situ for 4 years ) has moved up a rank to very good ( and innovative. )

The prices are still very competitive. The hotel is very quiet. The small pool is fine as is the outside jacuzzi ( in a hail storm ). The staff, nearly all local, are now well trained, very helpful and professional.

If you need a brilliantly sited hotel in the National Park which is up to international standards then this fits the bill.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms get better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kewfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulRodenLosehill, General Manager at Losehill House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

I am really pleased that you enjoyed your fourth stay and recognise our efforts of continual improvement...we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed for half term in a fabulous split level suite with two separate bedrooms. The staff were fabulous, the food tremendous. We will definitely return. My wife enjoyed her treatments at the spa. All very very enjoyable.

Room Tip: Ask for the windhill suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NeilSuzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulRodenLosehill, Owner at Losehill House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Great that you enjoyed your stay - especially the Spa Treatments our local team are really dedicated and add to the atmosphere of the Hotel. Some people complain that we are not a dedicated Spa Hotel but we believe that our offer of the pool, sauna, hot tub and dedicated treatment rooms in the beautiful setting of a Peak District Country House Hotel is a bit special and justifies the Hotel & Spa description!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Overall the ambience of the hotel, the beautiful setting and the food were very good. The highlight of our stay was the food which was imaginative but not too fussy and made good use of local ingredients without being too rich. I would rate the food and the service we received from the restaurant and bar staff as excellent. Overall I can only give an average rating. One small point was that we found our room which was a Kings Deluxe too small for the price and the mattress old and uncomfortable. Our main concern was how unwelcome we were made to feel on Sunday. The hotel had a wedding which had taken exclusive use of the hotel. This meant that weekend guests had to leave after the 11am checkout. The day was grey, cold and miserable and the joy of a weekend in a country house hotel is relaxing with the papers and a coffee, maybe making use of the spa before the long drive home. However, we were told by the sullen lady at reception that our 'contract' said we had to check out by 11am so could we please leave. To add insult to injury we were then blocked in the car park by one of the wedding guests. We couldn't leave and had to stand around in reception. It was only when we took matters into our own hands and went into the wedding to ask if someone could move the car that we were finally able to leave. The member of staff was so rude to us it spoilt what had until then been a nice weekend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank advice55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulRodenLosehill, General Manager at Losehill House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Losehill. I am sorry that your expectations of staying in the hotel all day on Sunday could not be met as we had a wedding party who had booked the hotel for exclusive use. We tried to be helpful and you did stay well beyond the 11.00am check-out time having enjoyed a walk in the counryside - unfortunately as we had predicted when you returned you were blocked in the car park - and he wedding ceremony had already started hence the problem and the need to wait. With regards the beds they are certainly not old all being new in the last couple of years - most people love them - the double pillow style was obviously not to your liking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Beautiful settings. Rooms are to very high standard. Food was excellent, we were on the taster menu - highly recommended. Waiting staff were friendly and dealt with the occasional hiccup well. Sitting are is very cosy. Spa area with outdoor jacuzzi was a real highlight, if only they served champagne out there!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greensim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulRodenLosehill, Owner at Losehill House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay - we do have 'non glass champagne flutes' for the hot-tub!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I was the 50 year old of the previous comment!!! What a super weekend - the private dining and taster menu were lovely - our rooms beautiful - what views across the hills - even the weather behaved with clear blue skies and glorious autumnal colours. We loved the outdoor jacuzzi and pool area. On dressing for dinner it transpired that I had packed my son's old dinner suit trousers (too small - 2inches too short) - a call to reception asking if they happened to have an emergency pair and 5 minutes later 3 pairs of 32 waist / 31 legs were up to his room - that's what I call service!! If you are looking for a great venue, lovely ambiance and wonderful food - this is the place!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 50SassyCat50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulRodenLosehill, Owner at Losehill House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

We are delighted that you enjoyed your 'special' birthday with us - the weather was fabulous and the views amazing with the bracken and trees in full Autumn glow. Unfortunately if we had a repeat of the 'wrong trousers' episode I cannot guarantee such good service unless you happen to require the same size!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We were there as part of a reunion group of 20. The bedroom was extremely comfortable. The bathroom facilities were excellent.On arrival I treated myself to a hour's full body massage, which was very powerful. The masseuse told me afterwards I shouldn't drink alcohol for 24 hours - a bit of a shock as we were looking forward to an excellent dinner. I did manage a small glass of wine. We were able to bring our own wine for a payment of £5 corkage – a very convenient facility. I am coeliac, so I need a gluten-free diet, which was not a problem. I was taken through the menu and told which items I could eat – most, in fact, as the the chef doesn't stuff his food full of pastry and flour. Not a piece of pasta in sight! The menu is small – no more than 6 choices per course. This to me is a sign of quality. The bed was very comfortable. I kept waking up (my habit, not the hotel's fault!) and it was easy to get back to sleep. Marvellous breakfast, wide choice, waiter-served. Freshly squeezed orange juice, berries and yogurt, scrambled egg with so much smoked salmon I was unable to finish it, gluten-free toast. Someone had ordered perfect late-October weather: sunshine, trees just turning gold, clear views. All in all a lovely stay. Expensive, but their standards are high.

Room Tip: If you are disabled check beforehand there are no extra stairs (I was lucky).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanetDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulRodenLosehill, Owner at Losehill House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

I am delighted that your re-union was a success - the Moorgate suite is a great size for a group of 20 - you certainly appeared to enjoy yourselves. I'm not quite sure how you managed the £5 corkage - its not really allowed and if it was at a much higher price - perhaps it was a 40 year old bottle to match the celebration that persuaded the reception team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hope
21.3 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
13.3 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
10.7 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
401 reviews
9.9 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
716 reviews
13.2 mi away
The Peacock at Rowsley
The Peacock at Rowsley
#1 of 2 in Rowsley
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Losehill House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Losehill House Hotel & Spa

Address: Lose Hill Lane | Edale Road, Hope Valley, Derbyshire, Hope, Peak District National Park S33 6AF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Hope
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hope
Price Range: $174 - $382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Losehill House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The finest Hotel & Spa in the Peak District National Park ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Losehill House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Losehill House Hotel And Spa
Losehill House Hotel Hope
Losehill Hotel Hope
Losehill House Hotel & Spa Hope, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing