We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Hidden Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hope
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

A superb hotel hidden within the peaks of Derbyshire, this hotel had very good amenties with spa, including sauna, superb food and was very comfortable. The staff are extremely helpful and pleasant and do all they can to ensure that you have a very enjoyable say with them. All of the food that we sampled was excellent; this included the very tasty "Derbyshire" breakfast, delicious lunchtime sandwiches and superb evening meal, which was beautifully presented in not over-powering portions. As an added bonus, the view from the bedroom windows was gorgeous, especially as we were favoured with beautiful late autumn sun.

Room Tip: Our corner room had lovely views to the east and south
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fudgecat0250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    600
    278
    75
    39
    17
See reviews for
159
657
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
261 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for a single night in an 'upgraded' room.

Rooms were beautiful. Clean and tidy, well decorated. Bed was HUGE!

Swimming pool and sauna were clean and lovely to use.

Evening dinner was simply incredible. The chorizo-stuffed dates were a highlight. 3 courses of exquisite food that was a bargain. The standard was of the highest level.

Full English breakfast was a delight with beautifully fresh, local produce.

Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattsand0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulRodenLosehill, Owner at Losehill House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Losehill House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

In brief: A very modern clean and well maintained hotel. The room was fairly basic and rather small, but comfortable none the less. Great views from the window. On arrival our (dusty) TV wasn't working, but a replacement was brought in fairly quickly. Breakfast was excellent.
Our main complaint would be that at £160 for one night we were expecting a bit more than 'the box room'.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulRodenLosehill, Owner at Losehill House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 30, 2011
I am glad that you liked the hotel and that the breafast was excellent. The standard double room that you stayed in is our smallest and we encourage an upgrade to Kings Rooms when available - with regards value most of our guests book dinner inclusive rates which is our speciality when combined with complimentary use of the pool, sauna and hot tub use - they usually feel it is very good value.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matlock
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

A lovely place to escape too in a beautiful setting where all you hear are the sheep! Our 4th visit which we enjoyed very much. Dinner was very well presented and tasty although I would add that my partner (a vegetarian) didn't feel very catered for. Only 1 vegetarian starter and 1 main available on the dinner menu meant he didn't have any choices and £35.00 felt expensive for what is effectivelymostly vegetables! Also no vegetarian breakfast on offer to rival the full English option. We shall return again because this didn't spoil an otherwise lovely stay. I hope they may consider increasing the range of vegetarian provision.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FMJ63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulRodenLosehill, Owner at Losehill House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 30, 2011
I am really pleased that you have enjoyed the stay - with regards Vegetarian options we have a daily changing menu which is why the option are relatively limited - however, we always offer an alternative to guests with dietary requirements when requested.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2011

We were impressed by the peace and quiet of the hotel, after we had finally found it ! The confirmation email had no contact details on it (no phone number or postcode).
Our family suite (2A) was warm and welcoming, the bed was exceptionally comfortable. Food in the restaurant was extremely well presented and appetising, using local ingredients where possible. The staff are friendly and are prepared to go the extra mile to ensure the guests are comfortable.
On the down side - the carpet in the double bedroom was very dusty as were the wall lights. The bath was chipped in a couple of places and black mould was appearing under the seal round the bath. In the bedroom, a picture was missing as was the television - removal of the hook and apparatus for the TV would look a lot better. The TV reception was bad (pixellating) despite retuning the set.
All in all, a very enjoyable experience. 4 out of 5 stars.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fussy086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulRodenLosehill, Owner at Losehill House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 22, 2011
I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay - we have already reacted to your comment card left in the room- attending to the bathroom and bedroom issues; we have had to buy a number of new TV's this week after the Freeview boxes failed on digital switchover.
The email confirmation is a good point and we will ensure that directions and contact details are added. Signage in the Peak District National Park will always be a challenge but the re-naming of our road to Lose Hill Lane is certainly helping.
Kind regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

What a lovely place to stay!
We stayed in June whilst on a walking and sightseeing holiday in Derbyshire.
The owners and staff were friendly and helpful, and their attitude added to the feeling of pleasure and contentment at staying.
The romm was everything we could have hoped for, and the meals delicious and beautifully presented.
I'd certainly recommend Losehill House Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GulliverWasHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire England
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

Peace perfect peace views to die for with food and service to match everything is here in this little Oasis of Derbyshire for a quiet or romantic break. If I had to say something negative it would be that the jets in hot tub in the garden were not working but the water was still hot, we sat in it for an hour just watching the sheep and cows high up on the hill just in front of us. Not Cheap £225 per night for DBB per room -bottle of wine from £17. Can't wait to return in the Spring.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mariucia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulRodenLosehill, Owner at Losehill House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 29, 2011
I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay; I agree that the views at the moment with the Autumn colours are fantastic.
I can only apologise about the hot-tub - I forgot to turn the 'blowers' on in the morning!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hope
21.3 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
4.6 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
10.7 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
The Maynard
The Maynard
#1 of 1 in Grindleford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
9.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
9.9 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Losehill House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Losehill House Hotel & Spa

Property: Losehill House Hotel & Spa
Address: Lose Hill Lane | Edale Road, Hope Valley, Derbyshire, Hope, Peak District National Park S33 6AF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Hope
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hope
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Losehill House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The finest Hotel & Spa in the Peak District National Park ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Losehill House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Losehill House Hotel And Spa
Losehill House Hotel Hope
Losehill Hotel Hope
Losehill House Hotel & Spa Hope, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing