We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$246
$182
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $93/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

George Hotel(Hathersage)
$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Little John Hotel(Hathersage)
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$101
$98
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Maynard(Grindleford)
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$236
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveler rating
20
1
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
20
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswelcome packlovely accommodationsconescheshire cheese innacornchriswalks
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 21 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2016

wonderful accomodation. Chris was helpful in pointing out walks, and supplying hot scones just after we arrived...they were delightful. The barn is lovely inside and out, lovely out the back with the sun setting over the hill. We will be returning.
Daryl

Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Daryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2016 via mobile

Been to Derbyshire many times over the years but this is one of the best places to base ourselves. Walking from the door you will get you to Loose Hill and beyond. And a bluebell woodland along the river also not far .
The owners are fantastic for local information and a warm welcome.
The Acorn is home from home and the views are spectacular will definitely recommend and return .
Hot scones on arrival were gorgeous
You do hear a little noise from the cottage next door on the odd occasion but this didn't spoil our break .
Lovely comfortable bed and heaps of storage space.
Parking is safe and secure as is bike storage for those that bring them .
The local pubs are all great and the local butcher is walking distance away .....not open on Monday's

Stayed: April 2016, traveled with friends
Thank sylvia1967herdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2016 via mobile

Great cottage comes with everything that you need a home away from home. You need to buy your groceries but Chris the owner makes you really feel welcome. There is welcome pack which contains everything you need to get going.
There is a nice walking area near by and all things like a pub , spar, and lots of activities.

The cottage we stayed we stayed was a 3 bedroom cottage which were all ensuite. Living room and an open kitchen with fridge freezer dish washer
Overall our stay was great we will be doing it again

Stayed: January 2016, traveled with friends
1  Thank rajeshr18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2016 via mobile

We visited for a family get together and had a wonderful time. The barn is gorgeous, very well thought out and equipped. Chris was lovely and gave some super recommendations. Can not wait to visit again.

Stayed: January 2016, traveled with family
Thank felicityrountree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2015 via mobile

We enjoyed a very happy week at the larger of 2 cottages called The Oaks. It is spotless and very well appointed with 3 bedrooms en suite. Similar to high-end National Trust properties, but more welcoming and with greater attention to detail. Carefully considered recommendations for local walks, restaurants etc were spot on. The local area is truly spectacular. The Oaks proved an ideal place for a restful break and breathtaking walks. It was also good value.

Stayed: December 2015, traveled with family
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews