We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hungry???”
Review of The Old Hall Hotel

The Old Hall Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Restaurants in Hope
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We have transformed the Old Hall and the service you will receive. My aim is to provide a relaxed atmosphere for family and friends to eat and drink with comfortable accommodation. We offer all your favourite classic pub meals from our experienced chefs using fresh ingredients and also have a variety of specials with a twist. We also have a tea room where you can enjoy breakfasts, a quick bite for lunch or afternoon tea and coffee. You must try our famous Old Hall Hotel Derbyshire Breakfast! The tea room can be hired for a special occasion with a variety of options catering for your needs. Please do come and visit us for a meal, drink or stay in one of comfortable bed and breakfast rooms. You can always be sure of a warm welcome at the Old Hall Hotel in Hope, Peak District.
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We were taken to this charming place by local Taxi firm 2Nice. And all I can say is: The most cheerful and friendly welcome and.....steak pie...... You need to experience it. Melt in the mouth pastry... Tender steak with an amazing flavour... Perfectly cooked chips. And portions that did justice to the peak walking we'd done ! Enjoy...guiltlessly.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DizzyandTrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (249)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

184 - 188 of 249 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2013

We have been here several times, the real attraction being the good home made food. This was one of very few places in the area giving REAL chips. So imagine our disappointment to find that the owner is no longer doing real chips. He told us the supplier of the cut potatoes had increased the price too much. Personally I would rather pay a little more for the real and wholesome product. Too many pubs offer oven chips on a par with what you can buy cheap in the likes of Tesco, and food usually prepared by an 18 year old with food out of a micro wave. To be fair, the meal was above this, but they need to go back to real chips to stand out !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick E, Owner at The Old Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2017

Hello.
I'm so sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your visit to The Old Hall Hotel.
At the time of your visit you will recall that we had a summer of terrible weather the previous year. This simply pushed the price of potatoes out of reach, and those that we did get were unacceptable to use for chips. I recall prices going up from £4.95 to £16 per bag.
I can also assure you that the chips that we chose at this time were very high quality and were certainly not "oven chips". Using an oven to cook chips would not only take a ridiculously long time, but they would be completely tasteless. I also find it important to point out that pre-packaged oven chips would also be extremely expensive, more so that continuing to do our own.

For a some years now, we have once again been doing our traditional 'beef dripping chips'. They are as popular as ever.

Thank you for your feedback. I hope to see you again soon.
Rick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed in the local campsite about 3/4 mile away so this pub was easy walking distance away. All the staff we really friendly both at the time of booking a table and during our evening meal. The pub was buzzing with atmosphere from a local folk band and even the staff, although really busy were clearly enjoying the entertainment. The Old Hall had been recommended to us by the man who makes fudge in his own shop in Castleton and said it was a little gem... I always trust a local opinion.
On arrival, we were given a spacious clean table which had been reserved for our 8pm booking and a drink order taken, my husband had a Bulmers and I a large glass of Merlot, the kids had soft drinks, all arrived swiftly with clean glasses and plenty of ice. I ordered a rare rib eye steak which arrived with home made chips, grilled tomatoes, mushrooms, peas and onion rings and a stilton sauce in a lovely little jug. My husband had the lambs liver, my daughter roast ham, egg and chips and our 8 year old a pizza with all the trimmings. We were asked regularly if everything was ok and also additional drink orders taken and served swiftly. Pudding was Choc fudge cake for both kids who polished it off with custard and icecream.
Our entire meal was superb, service friendly and attentive and the whole evening was a total triumph. the bill for all 4 inc wine, soft drinks and cider was £60 and worth every penny.
We cant wait to return and enjoy some more hospitality and maybe a B&B stay during the winter.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This was the third visit with a group of elderlyand not very mobile members of a Day Centre.

Anne and Cheryl, who manage the Old Hall Tearooms, went out of their way again to offer every possible assistance and flexibility with a range of dietary needs.

The food was great, fresh, homecooked, presented nicely and reasonably priced. Would highly recommend this venue for tourists, walkers, families and anyone passsing through Hope.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Am pleasant stay, nice room, friendly staff. The oak barrelled Theakstons Beers went down a treat especially the Old Peculier. The food was excellent and our first night the chef still took our order even though we were late ordering. The landlord was a nice person and made us feel welcome. Breakfasts were good. All in all a great two night stay

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MarkW504202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Hall Hotel also viewed

 
Hope, Hope Valley
Castleton, Hope Valley
 

Been to The Old Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing